We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuscany Bike Tours

Tuscany Bike Tours
Via Ghibellina 34 red, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39.3204108314
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 275 activities in Florence
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Tuscany bike tours is a service provided by Active tours Italy S.n.c which offers day long bike tours in the Chianti wine region of Tuscany. 10am-5pm. We visit a 12th century castle, taste their wine and oil and cycle through some of the most beautiful countryside imaginable. A great way to orientate yourself, mix and socialize with like minded people while you travel. Come join us, you'll have a blast!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Prior Lake, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A memorable day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A winding drive south out of Florence to the country...a beautiful castle with a winery tour, including bread and wine...a little biking...a tasty lunch with more wine...a little more biking...great banter with tour guide Keith...a really steep hill climb at the end, attempted and completed by four of us, my wife included...and a nice drive back to Florence with a scenic view of the city...all combined with a sunny 70+ degree day...does it get any better? The tour staff is incredible, the bikes are fun to ride, and the itinerary was perfect.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    31
    5
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great break from the crowds of Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

What a wonderful way to spend the day with our family. We spent a couple of days in Florence with our 4 children ages 8-15 and decided to get out for a bike ride. Allessio was our main guide for the day. He was so kind and fun. He drove us out to the castle where we started our day long adventure. The castle is a functioning winery and olive oil producer. We toured the facilities and had some great photo ops at the top of the castle before trying the tasty wine and olive oil. The bikes were in great condition and Allessio was very safety conscious, going over the rules of the road, how to use the bikes and provided us with helmets. The ride was a gradual ride through the countryside, very beautiful. Allessio was always watching out for us, especially making sure the boys were safe and willing to stop and take photos whenever we wanted.
For lunch we ate at a country restaurant, plenty of food for our 4 boys and us. Even more wine for the adults :) After lunch we headed up the road for a bit until we reached the hill. Allessio was there to help with the van if needed. We road for a bit more and ended up back at the castle. A nice ride, not too strenuous, but if you did the hill it would be a good workout.
Allessio was very knowledgable and was very nice to talk to. Keith was also great, he toured us through the castle before heading out on a Vespa tour.
This was a spur of the moment decision for us, and turned out to be a fantastic way to get a break from walking through all the museums, churches and many neighbourhoods of Florence.
So much fun! Thank you Tuscany Bike tours for a great day :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Best experience in all of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was one of the best day's I spent in my entire 2 months of touring Italy. The tour has something for everyone. A drive out to the Chianti region of Tuscany with a tour of the castle and then some wine tasting. The cycle ride is suitable for all skill levels. The beginning of the ride is comfortable and mostly on somewhat flat terrain. Then lunch at a family run restaurante with ample food and wine. After lunch there is another flat ride until you get to the 17% grade hill. Since there is van support, there is the option to forego the ride up. But for those looking to get their daily work-out this should satisfy. But of course the best part is clearly the guides. Alessio kind, cheerful and willing to accomodate any need or concern, Keith full of humor and spunk and had the group continuously laughing, and last but not least Jason, the quiet one of the 3 but listen carefully, because not only is he knowlegable he has a keen sense of humor. This touring complany has great integrity and should not be missed. Not only was the bike ride the highlight of my stay in Florence, but I also met some absolutely wonderful mates who I had the good fortune of spending some more time with in the city. Take a break from the crowds at the Duomo and join the 3 muskateers for a day full of fun and laughter. April 2013

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Though it's labelled as bike tour you will bike only for an hour or so amd that's not a bad thing. You get to see one of the estates that owns a lot of land, produce wine and olive oil. The smell of those small 100 year old oak barrels was really sweet. Lunch was good and Alessio as everyone else saod is great. I would do it again except it's already hot here in april.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“a very well organized tour with great route and some awesome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

this trip was awesome! i would highly recommend it to everyone interested in seeing the amazing sights in the chianti region of tuscany. the tour of the castle was a great surprise too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tuscany Bike Tours also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Tuscany Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuscany Bike Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tuscany Bike Tours to your Saves list