We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riva Lofts Florence

Save Saved
You added Riva Lofts Florence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riva Lofts Florence
Via Baccio Bandinelli 98, 50142 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 508 Florence B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Recently spent 3 nights at Riva Lofts and was absolutely blown away by the hotel and the staff. It is absolutely amazing and I can't recommended it enough. The staff were incredible: welcoming, full of great recommendations and happy to help book tables and generally organise our fun! Nothing was too much trouble and within hours of arriving I felt at home. The hotel itself is beautiful. Our room was huge and had a seperate lounge and dining area. The decoration was classy and everything looked brand new. The soft drinks in the mini bar were included in the room price as was a jar of fresh biscotti (both refilled daily). The communal area was also very large and had a well stocked honesty bar. There is also a log fire which you can get going whenever you like. Breakfast of fresh pastries, cereal and coffee was also included. We were there in winter so didn't make use of the garden or the pool but looking forward to going back when its warmer.

The location isn't perfect, walking from the centre of town takes about 30 minutes and we did end up taking quite a few taxis when heading out for dinner. But its only a 3 minute walk from the hotel to Paulo Uccello tram stop, and then a 8 minute tram ride to the city centre. So this should definitely not put you off. The location also means you get luxury at a much better price than in the centre of town.

I was there as part of group of four friends and it worked brilliantly. Its also the perfect location for a couple on a romantic break (think candle lit drinks and wine in front of the fire...). I'll definitely be going back to Riva Lofts and encourage anyone going to Florence to seriously consider this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room opposite the reception. Huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    27
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
75
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in September 2012 and didn't really want to leave. What a great place! Great staff! Great room! Perfect location!! If you want to go into the city to see the sights, you can walk to the train which takes you into the ancient city of Florence. Or you could just hang out at Riva, by the pool or walking along the river, you feel miles away from the hustle and bustle of Florence. Had a awesome time here! Would stayed here again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at the beautiful Riva Lofts. You've never seen anything like this restored farm modern property. Friendly staff, especially Juliette, and large comfortable rooms.

We road their bikes into Florence our first day and would advise against it due to the congestion in town. Take the nearby tram.

While the property is in a residential area and is encircled by fences and shrubbery, there are no staff members on the premises after 8pm. We had 2 very inconsiderate families traveling together with a total of 4 kids who constantly jumped on the floors and beds and continually ran on the floors above us. They ran around without supervision from their parents. They knocked on everyones door and ran. We finally asked one of the staff members to address this. She acknowledged that this was the loudest group she encountered but felt they would calm down. They didn't and I don't think anyone from the hotel addressed this. I nearly walked to their room but didn't need a confrontation with these parents. It was the duty of this establishment to do this and they failed miserably.

This matter could have ruined our stay there. However, we otherwise loved this totally unique property. The living room/breakfast room was outstanding and a nice place to chill in the evenings with a bottle of wine while listening to their nice CD selection.

4.5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Beautifully situated on the river, close walk to metro, and not far from airport or train station. We got a taxi from the Peretola/Vespucci airport, approximately 20 euro. Was warmly greeted by Juliet and shown around the resort. The layout of the grounds are amazing, the design of our room #7 was quiet, cozy and romantic. Nice touch to have complimentary water, soft drinks and biscotti, if ever the need for drink or a midnight snack attack. Breakfast served every morning in the living room was adequate and convenient. Nice selection of teas, and an espresso maker available for the cappuccino/espresso lovers. We happened to be there when there was a festival going on within walking distance right over the river to a spacious open green space. Lots of ethnic foods and great live music, that we could here from Riva. We did the hop on and off bus touring around Florence, which you can pick up at the train station, after a short metro ride. The girls Carlotta & Juliet provided us with lots of recommendations for dinners (Altrani was a favorite) and offered many helpful tips on getting around. They even have metro passes available for purchase ffom their front desk. We found the "complimentary" bikes a great way to ride along the river and go to a grocery store close by for provisions. We toured by motorcycle the Tuscany countryside to Greve where the Chianti/Classico wine festival was taking place. An amazing way to explore this beautiful area. Coming back to our room at Riva Lofts after a long day of touring was like finding "heaven on earth". Grazie mille!! Alice, Juliet, & Carlotta for you kind and gracious "Florentine hospitality" We would definitely return to Riva Lofts when visiting Florence again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

16 of us stayed at Riva Lofts in Florence and it was the best. We had the entire place to ourselves for 7 wonderful days. It was everything I imagined it to be and more. It was one of the best trips we've ever taken and it had a lot to do with the great staff, wonderful service, chic rooms, great location. It was about as perfect as it can get. Of all the trips we've taken, we missed being there the most weeks after we've come home. We highly recommend it to any group thinking about going to Italy and making Florence the home base which we did.

Room Tip: Email Riva Lofts for advice on the best room that fits your needs. Every room is different. We used...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My daughter and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Riva Lofts in Florence and can honestly say it was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome and the architecture and design of the hotel was gorgeous in a beautiful garden setting by the river. Alice and her staff were so helpful and engaging answering every question with their warmth and honesty. Eventhough it is a short walk to the centre we appreciated it after all the pasta and gelato!! We will be back for sure!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
499 helpful votes 499 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Riva Lofts has bucket-loads of designer chic and it's a real oasis away from the frantic tourism of Florence. Rooms ('studios') are relatively expensive and there's sometimes a feeling of design over function. We stayed in #9, which looked like an attractive proposition as it's split-level and has an entrance from the garden. Although the upstairs sleeping area was excellent and the bed itself very comfortable, the small sitting area on the same level was barely adequate, and to get to the bathroom one had to go down rather slippery half-open stairs, which were hazardous at any time of the day but particularly in the middle of the night. The kitchenette sounded good on paper, but it was really a waste of space in practice. The bathroom had a shower but no bath and suffered from poor lighting and a toilet with an over-enthusiastic flush.

The best part of the hotel in terms of design is the sitting/breakfast room, which was seriously impressive with its vaulted ceiling, decor and sumptuous furnishings. In fact, just the sort of space that we hanker after for our 'home in the country'. An honesty bar is provided although there was quite a mark-up on wines, with the cheapest bottle at 19 euro. Each room also has a minbar but with the usual hotel mark-up. Soft drinks and water are free, though. A jar of biscotti was also provided and this was topped up daily. WiFi is free and worked well in our room.

Breakfasts are of the Italian type, so there's an emphasis on pastries and cake. But there were also cereals, freshly-squeezed orange juice, breads, yoghurt, jams and boiled eggs, so most tastes are covered. It was certainly adequate for us and we didn't find a lack of variety.

The outside space is also excellent, with a long but narrow pool, a decked area and plenty of space for sunbathing. Just beyond the Riva Lofts grounds, there's a park and the river running alongside. If you're into running, you'll find this ideal. Across the bridge, there's another extensive stretch of greenery, so the overall impression is quite unlike being in a city.

Riva Lofts has three parking spaces out front and there's an apparently un-policed car park just up the road. If you're not travelling on from Florence then there's probably little to be gained from hiring a car. Driving in and around Florence is also pretty tricky on account of the quality of driving in general and very confusing signposting. Bikes are provided for guests but we didn't fancy our chances on them!

Of all the excellent staff at Riva Lofts, Carlotta was particularly helpful and took great pains to reserve us tables in restaurants. Walking into the centre takes about 20 minutes and there's also the tram which takes you to the central station for just one euro and is both efficient and quick.

It's worth getting a Firenze Card (50 euro) which provides 72 hours of access to all the museums and galleries plus free transport on the tram. Although this worked to some extent to bypass queues at the Uffizi Gallery, it carried no weight at the Galleria Accademia where Michelangelo's 'David' is to be found, and we were advised to return in the evening - we didn't.

Of the restaurants we tried, we thought Brac and Vivanda were the best, but being mainly vegetarian, we're obviously biased. We also had really excellent pizzas at the pub-like Punch & Judy Taverna, which is right near the Paulo Uccello (you'll find his work in the Uffizi) tram station, but you won't find Punch & Judy on TripAdvisor!

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our week in Firenze and Riva Lofts was an excellent base.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riva Lofts Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Lofts Florence

Address: Via Baccio Bandinelli 98, 50142 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 508 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully renovated 19th-century factory on the southern bank of the Arno River, the Riva Lofts provides a modern oasis in easy reach of the rich historical attractions of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL and Jetsetter so you can book your Riva Lofts Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Lofts Florence Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riva Lofts Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.