We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Axial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Axial to your Saves list
Hotel Axial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Waunakee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Axial for five nights. The location is excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped us arrange several side tours which allowed us to experience Florence and the surrounding area. It was within easy walking distance to most of the sights in Florence, and to the train and bus station. We also felt is was a a very good value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    255
    34
    10
    2
See reviews for
77
331
74
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. The Axial is a boutique hotel in an older style building and this is a large part of its appeal. Entry is by double wooden doors with a very discrete sign above and around some internal corridors.
It is fun as it is nothing like the generic hotels most of us stay in most of the time. The location is terrific, as others have noted. It was about a fifteen minute very easy walk to Florence Train Station, even dragging luggage.
The staff was terrific: all were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The room was very clean. Included continental breakfast was a bonus.
Issues: the internet was frustratingly slow and intermittently stopped working at all- I assume when too many guests logged on.
It can get very noisy outside because of its central location and sometimes even the double glazing and the internal shutters are not enough to shut out the noise. Also, noisy guests in the corridor are very clearly heard inside the rooms.
Note: Hotel reviewed as a three star hotel.
Despite the issues, we were very happy we stayed there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Axial for a week at Easter. What a lovely little establishment! The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was neatly appointed and clean, the breakfast was good and the location was excellent!! This hotel is a gem in the middle of a pedestrian area just steps from The Duomo, and a few minutes walk from the train station, museums and Ponte Vecchio. I recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I were to return to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I stayed eight days at the Axial so I really got to know it. The hotel is fine if you aren't going to be in the room much. Location is good -- near the Duomo -- but Florence is a compact city and many hotels offer fine locations. The staff varies from friendly to indifferent. Breakfasts are adequate with some choice of cereals, yogurt, cheese and pastries. Coffee from machine is terrible. Rooms are clean and functional. Mine opened onto a very small patio where twice someone smoked a cigar. There was kitchen noise in the early a.m. I booked the Axial partly because I needed high speed internet service to conduct an hour or two of work each day. This was a disaster. It was off some days, very slow others. Even worse, the management offered a slew of varying explanations, some of which blamed me and my devices. I've had the problem nowhere else. English language TV channels: CNN and BBC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is a very central hotel, right in the middle of everything. Hotel was very nice, staff were lovely. Rooms are nice and clean and there is a shower in the bathroom which for us was good as we were travelling with something who wouldn't have been able to use a bath/shower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Don't be put off by my rating - - I save 'five star' reviews s for the truly incredible rather than the merely excellent.

This was our fourth visit to Florence and our second to Hotel Axial. This time, we had the pleasure of two really nice traveling companions who had not been to Florence before. The major sights are in walking distance and the front door of this hotel is in a perfect location - - it faces a (primarily) pedestrian-only street very near the Duomo and Ufizzi.

The two rooms were large by 3-star hotel standards. Ours was an inside room with a window to an interior garden area (where one evening the four of us shared a bottle of wine before dinner - 8 Euros). Our friends had a room overlooking the street. Advantage: nice window view. Disadvantage: a bit of street noise during our spring break visit (maybe better to ask for an inside room?). Breakfast was typical. I liked the self-serve espresso/latte machine, although others prefer to be served.

The staff was very helpful and friendly. We've just recommended the hotel to some other friends and would certainly stay here a third time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hotel Axial was clean and comfortable in an awesome location just steps from the duomo and so many other sights. We had to stay in their sister hotel, Hotel Maxim, for one night and it was not as nice and I would not stay there again (even though the young woman at the front was lovely). Hotel Axial though was much more pleasing and the front staff is very nice and accommodating. Not that I travel to Florence often, but I will definitely be looking up this hotel to stay at again. This is not a 4-star hotel, but I think for the price it fits the bill exactly. I'm always looking for clean, comfortable, friendly, with a good location at a reasonable rate and this was it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back off the main street- the front door/rooms are right on a main, noisy stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Axial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axial

Address: Via dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Business Hotel in Florence
#101 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#105 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axial 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few meters away from the Duomo, Hotel Axial is located in the very center of Florence, in Via dei Calzaiuoli, close to all the major museums and shops.Recently opened, Hotel Axial offers Newly restructured and wide, furnished in a warm and elegant way, in a classical style, fitted with modern services such as satellite TV and free wireless Internet connection, safe, hairdryer, refrigerator. Rooms with a view over via Calzaiuoli, garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Axial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axial Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Axial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.