We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , nice & cosy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Axial

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Axial to your Saves list
Hotel Axial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location , nice & cosy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here for 2 nights The room was nice & tidy. The reception are frendly.and assist you with all the tourist info & map for first time visitors like us.
Easy acces (walking distance) to tourist sites and shopping area.

Room Tip: Avoid room facing the street ,it may be noisy as hotel is located along the shopping area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    253
    34
    10
    2
See reviews for
77
329
74
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the first three nights of our honeymoon, and then lamented that none of the three other hotels where we stayed in Italy compared. It wasn't that the Hotel Axial was particularly luxurious, just that it fit our needs perfectly, seamlessly integrating with our lives and preferences.

Highlights for us:
1) Courtyard. We are smokers, so this probably mattered to us more than it might for a non-smoker, but we were able to get a cup of coffee from the breakfast room and take it out to the courtyard in the morning, or, later in the day, do the same with a bottle of wine. It felt so comfortable to us to have a semi-private place to relax before and after jam-packed days.

2) Honor bar. Like the courtyard, this helped make it feel like the hotel was really working with us. Need a bottle of water at midnight? It's right outside the door. A bottle of wine, or an espresso? Well, not at midnight, but as long as the staff is there, done.

3) Staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and their recommendations were fantastic. I wish we'd asked for advice about every meal.

The only thing I initially found off-putting was that the lobby is locked after about 11:30pm, and you have to give them your room key anytime you leave. This ended up not being any kind of hassle, though, as they will give you a code to get in after hours, and you can retrieve your own key if no one is present.

They excelled in the basics, too: comfortable beds, WiFi, and cleanliness. The location was perfect, and we walked all over the city with this as our base.

The Axial was a bit pricier than other places we stayed in different cities, but really an incredible value. We'll certainly stay here the next time we're in Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hotel Axial was the perfect place for my husband and me to stay while in Florence, enjoying the historical sites. We were only 5 minutes walking distance to the Uffizzi, Duomo and Ponte Vecchio, among others. In spite of being in the heart of activity, the hotel was very quiet and we had no trouble sleeping. The staff is very professional and helped us with reservations for taxis and museums, and tours. We split our stay in Florence between an apartment and the hotel and we much preferred the hotel. We will definitely stay at the hotel when we return to Florence. Axial made our visit so easy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Axial! The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station, and it is literally steps away from the Duomo. After reading all of the wonderful reviews of this hotel I was not disappointed! The hotel is on the second floor and you have to push a button to enter the outside door (kind of like an apartment building). As soon as we arrived we were greeted by the concierge who gave us a map and general information about the hotel. At Hotel Axial you have to leave your key behind each time you leave the hotel - but this was great for me! One less thing I have to worry about losing! After 1 am they close their reception, but they will give you the code to enter if you need it. The room was a good size and the bed was soft and there was free wi-fi and a mini fridge! The included hotel breakfast is continental but has everything you need to get your day started: cappucino and coffee machine, assorted breads and pastries, cold meats and cheese, yogurt, boiled eggs and fresh fruits. Very yummy! The hotel also has a small wi-fi hot spot room that has a computer that guests can use, a great selection of books about Italy and the surrounding areas, and even some games: chess and cards.

I had a morning flight out of Florence airport back to the US and their reception doesn't open until 6:30am at the hotel, so I had to check out the night before and leave the key at the desk. However, the hotel concierge went over everything with me that I would need to do (how to open the locked main door) and even ordered me a taxi. The taxi arrived right on time and I was even able to see it pull up from the window behind the reception desk. If I'm ever in Florence again I will definitely stay here. It is pricey, but you can't beat the location and excellent staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hotel location was perfect! Reception staff was excellent, and very helpful, spoke English very well and were happy to recommend dinning and tour info. The room we had was a bit small, but we were not in it very much. Otherwise, I highly recommend axial if you want to be right in the middle of all the fun!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rooms are updated and clean. There are nice fluffy towels and the bed was comfortable. The staff is super. This is right in the middle of all the action in Florence. The reception area is small, but there is a separate room with comfortable seating. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was on the street side but the windows are insulated and I was not disturbed by street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The people in the front desk, bar or in the rest of the hotel have been very friendly. Without matter our language (we don't talk Italian), always have communicated with us in Spanish or English.

The hotel is in the middle of Florence downtown, you can get any palace, castle or other touristic place walking. It's very safe to walk in the street in the night in fact you should do this because it's another city in the night and if you need some assistance, you can ask to the people in the hotel, I'm sure they help you.

Room Tip: You can ask for each room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Axial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axial

Address: Via dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Business Hotel in Florence
#102 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#103 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axial 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few meters away from the Duomo, Hotel Axial is located in the very center of Florence, in Via dei Calzaiuoli, close to all the major museums and shops.Recently opened, Hotel Axial offers Newly restructured and wide, furnished in a warm and elegant way, in a classical style, fitted with modern services such as satellite TV and free wireless Internet connection, safe, hairdryer, refrigerator. Rooms with a view over via Calzaiuoli, garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Axial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axial Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Axial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.