We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL IN FLORENCE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Axial

Save Saved
You added Hotel Axial to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Axial
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 461 hotels in Florence
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL IN FLORENCE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

First visit to Florence and what a pleasant surprise! The Hotel Axial is without a doubt a top level hotel with extremely friendly and courteous staff ready to bend over backwards to help. We stayed there 4 nights and had a fantastic time. Located right in the heart of the shopping area and close to all major attractions in Florence including the famous Duomo, this hotel is definitely "best value for money". Very clean and well furnished. Our room was spacious and quiet. Breakfast was super and the staff actually opened the cafeteria and set up breakfast for us 1/2 hour EARLY one morning as we had to leave quite early for a tour. Extraordinary service. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    239
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
69
312
72
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is nice and great located. I would highly recommend it based in other properties I have stayed across Europe. The personal is really kind and always eager to help. The room is very clean and big enough for a pleasant stay. I would only suggest a more comfortable bed and a bigger shower.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raynham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was my first stay in this hotel as this was my first time in Florence. We stayed at Hotel Axial for 3 nights and were a door away from the breakfast room. We did not take advantage of the relaxation room, however, it looked relaxing and delightful. It was a bit noisy in the morning as our room window was across from some busy businesses, but I found that in other hotels we stayed in while in Italy. The location of this hotel is extremely convenient. We walked everywhere we wanted to go. We were also lucky enough to be in Florence during the Fashion Night Out which was fantastic! We were greeted at the front desk with warmth and smiles. During our stay we encountered two different staff members working the front desk. Both of them were extremely helpful, friendly and made us feel extremely welcome. They answered any questions we had, they volunteered a map of where we were and surrounding things to do. They offered to help with whatever we needed. They were kind enough to hold onto our luggage before and after check-out while we walked around. I really liked the size of the room as well as the bathroom. Having encountered much smaller rooms in Paris and Venus, I was pleasantly surprised by the size of this room. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again, should I have the opportunity to travel back to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Axial 3 years ago and it was perfect for our few nights in Forence. When we decided to visit the city once again this year we thought it wise to stay at Hotel Axial once again. We were happy with our choice-we contacted the hotel directly and they we quick to respond and help with making our reservations online. The rates were very similar to those in 2009. The rooms were comfortable, there was air conditioning and an elevator. The staff was very friendly and helpful in providing tour arrangments anf restaurant suggestions. The great thing about this hotel is the location on a main pedestrian only street called the Via Calzaiuoli. It is steps from the Duomo and a short walk to the main Piazzas and Uffizzi Gallery and the Accedemia. The showers were very clean and had lots of hot water. Very comfortable place to stay in Florence. I would not want to stay out of the historic city center-it's nice being close to so many beautiful things to see. One more thing-there is late night security at the hotel-there is a code to use if you stay out past a certain time. You have to walk down a few steps inside the front entrance to the hotel elevator to the hotel desk on the 2nd floor-no problem though. They also have a nice european breakfast to start your day that is included in the rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great hotel! We were situated facing the back courtyard which was indeed quiet. however since we were right next to the breakfast room it does get noisy in the morning as they are putting things together in there. Other than that the front desk was very friendly and sweet and we enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was the typical italian breakfast with meat, bread and croissants. The location was also perfect for walking anywhere you wanted to go to.

Room Tip: choose the room facing the courtyard. it is pretty quiet since they have a rule that people cannot b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Hotel Axial exceeded all of our expectations!

Hotel amenities and services were fantastic, especially given the rates! Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, free continental breakfast (decent variety), free wifi throughout the hotel, large room and bathroom (both very clean), all in all everything one could hope for. Hotel location was also central, perfect for exploring Florence.

We would absolutely stay here again and recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is wonderfully located with a short cab ride from the train station and easy walking distance to all attractions. The concierge were helpful and wonderful.
However.....
The noise from the corridors, especially from loud American tourists accessing the honesty bar late at night, was highly irritating. Not to mention the constant slamming of doors. ( this of course can not be blamed on the hotel. Although moving the bar into a room instead of a corridor may be advisable).
The room was clean and the facilities adequate. Until bed time. Where bed bugs appeared making for an even more disturbed sleep. The bed was hard, but some how both mattresses, either side of one another had sunk in the middle, making sleep rather uncomfortable.
Breakfast was uneventful, with stale bread and undrinkable coffee. We opted for both elsewhere.
Not bad but definitely in need of improvement in some areas.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Axial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Axial

Address: Via dei Calzaiuoli 11, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Family Hotel in Florence
#85 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Axial 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few meters away from the Duomo, Hotel Axial is located in the very center of Florence, in Via dei Calzaiuoli, close to all the major museums and shops.Recently opened, Hotel Axial offers Newly restructured and wide, furnished in a warm and elegant way, in a classical style, fitted with modern services such as satellite TV and free wireless Internet connection, safe, hairdryer, refrigerator. Rooms with a view over via Calzaiuoli, garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Axial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axial Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Axial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.