We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel & convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cosimo de' Medici to your Saves list
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #92 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colchester, Vermont
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel & convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Just spent some time in Florence admiring the art and historical locations and whilst there stayed at this wonderful hotel that we found via TripAdvisor. This cute place is steps away from the Santa Maria Novella train station which was a bonus. We arrived around 100pm and were able to check in and deposit our bags so we could push on to the real sites of the town. The front desk spoke flawless English (good for us since our Italian is very flawed) and offered to allow us to stay (at the same price) in an apartment that was on the 1st floor tucked in the back. The apartment had everything that we wanted and needed - all clean and top shape. There was also a refrigerator as well as stove and other cooking utensils for anyone interested in staying there a longer time and wanting to cook on their own. The apartment had a spare bed on the 1st floor and up on the loft level was a nice queen sized bed, plenty of space to spread belongings out and a TV (for those that really feel the need...).

A continental breakfast was included in our very affordable price and was put on back in the main section of the hotel (a few steps) and upstairs.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and one note - when leaving the station to walk to this place, scoot there via the underground passage in order to avoid the hustle and bustle (and cobblestones) of the streets. Though it is very close to the station, the narrowness, busy streets near the station and bumpy walkways make it a bit difficult for lugging suitcases around. The underground passage will allow you to cross beneath all that and pop up about 25m from the hotel. Look for the hotel sign on the building since it is easier to see than the actual address number.... and enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    228
    53
    13
    6
See reviews for
98
263
44
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mica6428
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

This is a good intention of the economy hotels, every employee is very enthusiastic and thoughtful service, and will take the initiative to say hello. Also very close from the station, walk 5 minutes. Hotel design a warm, but not the same chamber design style, bed large and comfortable, the bathroom is very novel. I will be looking forward to next time I will be living the kind of different styles of chamber. Breakfast great. Although it is normal to live in, but the occupancy rate is high, a lot of people together to enjoy delicious breakfast, the kind of atmosphere is really good. Is this a European tour, the most favorite hotels, the next will live in this house, very good hotel worth recommending.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We recently had an overnight stay at this hotel. On leaving the train station it is a 2 minute walk to the hotel . Once we found the hotel entrance (they need a more prominent sign out front) we were greeted by a very helpful receptionist who guided us with the hotel ffacilities also what to see whilst in Florence, including free internet in foyer. Found the room small but adequate, the bathroom was very small, but ok for just an overnight stay. We didn't have the breakfast as we had to checkout early. All in all a great hotel in an excellent location, close to transport and markets/shops etc. When next I get to Florence we will definately stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Minutes from the Santa Maria Novella station with friendly, very helpful staff. Free internet connection in the lobby for all guests, and a great location for visiting the sights of Florence. All areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean and our room was amazing with a high ceiling and huge French windows which opened out onto the central courtyard of the hotel. Breakfast was a good choice of fresh pastries, fruits, yoghurts, cereals, ham, cheeses and lovely coffee. High recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were travelling with another couple so we rented the two back apartments on the property. We had our own private access and were seperate from the hotel. The apartments were two stories and had one bedroom and one bathroom, very cute. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and safe and had a private parking area in the back for our car (there was a small fee to park there, but very worth it). The location was also great, were were in walking distance to everything! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. The breakfast was also good here and included in the room rate :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is a great location within walking distance to the main sights. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic. We had a balcony right over the street which was so much fun to enjoy the flavor of the city, yet it was completely soundproof when the doors were closed. The hotel staff are very friendly and gave us excellent tips on things to do and where to eat. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

My wife and I stayed here earlier this month for a few days. It is hard to find but worth looking for. 3 minutes from train station and 5 minutes from bus terminal it is an easy walk from incoming/outgoing transport. Our room was spacious, well appointed, had a large balcony window and a reaonable sized bathroom (shower). The hotel is surrounded by many restaurants/cafes of varying size and quality and is close to most of Florence's beautiful major attractions. The staff were easy to talk to and the free internet for guests was a bonus after paying a lot in previous hotels in Italy. As a base for sightseeing Florence it was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Florence
#103 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#125 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of Florence’s historic center, round the corner from the Santa Maria Novella train station, two steps from from the Duomo of Florence.Situated inside the ancient palace of the Fratelli Alinari art printing house and recently restored, Cosimo de' Medici Hotel in Florence, Italy offers 27 rooms 15 Classic rooms decorated with antique hand painted Florentine furniture and 12 Modern rooms providing the warm sensations of interior design and contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.