We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this a European tour, the most favorite hotels.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cosimo de' Medici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #106 of 461 hotels in Florence
mica6428
1 review
“Is this a European tour, the most favorite hotels.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

This is a good intention of the economy hotels, every employee is very enthusiastic and thoughtful service, and will take the initiative to say hello. Also very close from the station, walk 5 minutes. Hotel design a warm, but not the same chamber design style, bed large and comfortable, the bathroom is very novel. I will be looking forward to next time I will be living the kind of different styles of chamber. Breakfast great. Although it is normal to live in, but the occupancy rate is high, a lot of people together to enjoy delicious breakfast, the kind of atmosphere is really good. Is this a European tour, the most favorite hotels, the next will live in this house, very good hotel worth recommending.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    205
    45
    12
    5
See reviews for
86
230
44
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We recently had an overnight stay at this hotel. On leaving the train station it is a 2 minute walk to the hotel . Once we found the hotel entrance (they need a more prominent sign out front) we were greeted by a very helpful receptionist who guided us with the hotel ffacilities also what to see whilst in Florence, including free internet in foyer. Found the room small but adequate, the bathroom was very small, but ok for just an overnight stay. We didn't have the breakfast as we had to checkout early. All in all a great hotel in an excellent location, close to transport and markets/shops etc. When next I get to Florence we will definately stay here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Minutes from the Santa Maria Novella station with friendly, very helpful staff. Free internet connection in the lobby for all guests, and a great location for visiting the sights of Florence. All areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean and our room was amazing with a high ceiling and huge French windows which opened out onto the central courtyard of the hotel. Breakfast was a good choice of fresh pastries, fruits, yoghurts, cereals, ham, cheeses and lovely coffee. High recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We were travelling with another couple so we rented the two back apartments on the property. We had our own private access and were seperate from the hotel. The apartments were two stories and had one bedroom and one bathroom, very cute. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean and safe and had a private parking area in the back for our car (there was a small fee to park there, but very worth it). The location was also great, were were in walking distance to everything! Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. The breakfast was also good here and included in the room rate :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

This is a great location within walking distance to the main sights. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic. We had a balcony right over the street which was so much fun to enjoy the flavor of the city, yet it was completely soundproof when the doors were closed. The hotel staff are very friendly and gave us excellent tips on things to do and where to eat. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

My wife and I stayed here earlier this month for a few days. It is hard to find but worth looking for. 3 minutes from train station and 5 minutes from bus terminal it is an easy walk from incoming/outgoing transport. Our room was spacious, well appointed, had a large balcony window and a reaonable sized bathroom (shower). The hotel is surrounded by many restaurants/cafes of varying size and quality and is close to most of Florence's beautiful major attractions. The staff were easy to talk to and the free internet for guests was a bonus after paying a lot in previous hotels in Italy. As a base for sightseeing Florence it was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

This hotel is only four minutes walk from the train station so is a great asset when travelling. The rooms are large and clean with good amenities including a balcony that overlooked the street (room 206). Double glazing ensured that no sound came in. The reception staff were extremely helpful and considerate and of great help in making short term bookings and giving tourist advice. Also, all major sites are within walking distance (including Uffizi, Accademia etc). Free internet access was also a bonus. The big downside however, is the breakfast. The only fresh food was the pastries with everything else coming from a packet (inlcuding the juice) and therefore totally lacking taste. We highly recommend this hotel but seek out your own breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Florence
#100 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#123 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of Florence’s historic center, round the corner from the Santa Maria Novella train station, two steps from from the Duomo of Florence.Situated inside the ancient palace of the Fratelli Alinari art printing house and recently restored, Cosimo de' Medici Hotel in Florence, Italy offers 27 rooms 15 Classic rooms decorated with antique hand painted Florentine furniture and 12 Modern rooms providing the warm sensations of interior design and contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.