We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cosimo de' Medici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #97 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for exploring Florence. A short walk from the train station and a few minutes walk to Florence's main tourist site, the Duomo! The room was spacious and clean with air con. The breakfast was continental with a lot of choices, cereals, croissants, eggs etc. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Angela,
we all thank you so much for the wonderful description of our hotel that you left here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that your stay was really good and that you appreciated the hotel location and its services. The opinion of all our customers is very important to us and your judgment makes us extremely proud of our work.
Hoping to see you again here soon.
Arrivederci!!!
Stefano Rosselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    204
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
91
238
45
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel is very simple but it is well located in Florença , near the train station and the main streets of the city center. Ask for a room far from the restaurant . They begin to work very early and if you have a light sleep it will be a problem. A honest breakfast and very nice treatment from hotel staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the restaurant . They begin to work very early and if you have a light sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for the time you spent in writing this good review about your stay in our Hotel. You opinion is very important for us, and it helps us to improve every day our standard.
We are happy to know that in general your stay here has been positive and pleasant.
Hoping to see you again here as our kind guest. Arrivederci...!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was my first time in Florence and I was hoping for a central location so that I could easily get around the city and see and do as much as possible. Overall, I would say the location was perfect, a short walk to the Duomo, near the train station and plenty of choices around the hotel for eating, shopping etc. The rooms themselves were updated and modern, but did not lose the old world charm that I was hoping for. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast pastries were great! I hope to be back in Florence before too long, and if so, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Tony,
we all thank you so much for such a beautiful review, for spending your time in writing it and for using such a wonderful description to show our hotel to other people.
We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here and all the services we offered you.
We really hope to see you again here for your next trip to Italy.
Staying at your disposal.
Best regards,
Stefano Rosselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It in good location for transport and fair breakfast. Staff is helpful. The only problem was insect bite on bed for my daughter and my wife. We noticed this only when they spread out a bit. Pest control certainly needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Dan Tak K,
we made a staff verification and we did not notice any guest complain here to us. We kindly ask you to be sure that your travel experience refers to our hotel as in Florence and in many other places in Italy there are hotels with similar name.
We emphasize that our hotel applies regular hygiene & cleanliness monitoring with an out-house specialized company and we never had problems like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights here and wished we had booked longer. The place has been recently renovated and they have done an excellent job. Our room was tastefully decorated and a good size. The proximity to the rail station was perfect as we arrived from Venice. Being near to the centre and all the attractions of Florence was another bonus. Breakfasts offered varied and tastful choices.The highlight we felt, was the incredibly informative girl on the front desk. She was, in short, fabulous. A hive of information, recommendations and directions, she added to what was a wonderful stay. We will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Chris,
there are no enough words to thank you for such a wonderful review. We are really pleased to have contributed to a great stay here in Florence, and we really hope to have you here again as our guests for a longer period.
See you for your next trip to Italy...
Arrivederci..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My wife and I went to Florence for our wedding anniversary last week and stayed at this hotel.

From the airport you can easily get a bus for around €15 for two people return to the main train station. This hotel is then literally only a three minute walk away from there so the location is superb. It's right in the heart of Florence, everything you would want to see is within walking distance from this hotel.

On arriving at the hotel the staff were absolutely lovely. English speaking, helpful and very accommodating. During our stay (4nights) all the staff from reception to the breakfast lady that took your coffee orders were friendly and welcoming.

The hotel itself had free wifi with a good consistent signal in all areas of the building. The tv has sky. The room itself was a decent size, two beds were put together to make a double which is always a shame as they're never quite as comfortable however it wasn't the worst bed I've slept in whilst away but not the best either. The room was clean and housekeeping would change towels and bedding daily if requested.

The bathroom was quite small but sufficient. Has everything you need and is also very clean. The shower cubicle is quite small so if you're of a particularly large build then this shower might be a bit small to get into and move around in but the shower itself was constantly hot and had a good forceful shower head.

The mini bar in the room is reasonable, only €2:50 for most of the things inside. The air conditioning/ hearing system was good. Overall I thought the room was of a pretty great standard.

Breakfast is a buffet style which caters for all. Ranging from cereal, croissants and toasts to boiled egg, scrambled egg and cold meats etc. Yoghurt and fruit. Coffee is fresh and overall the breakfast is worth having.

The only downside to this hotel and why I didn't give it full stars was from around 5am each morning the ladies that started work to get their chamber maid trolleys ready and set up for breakfast unfortunately do this in the corridor outside the bedrooms. The hotel is an old building that echoes quite a lot and they seemed to communicate quite loudly from one end of the corridor to the other, shouting instructions to one and other. Making lots of noise. The hotel is small and that seemed to be where they worked. Unfortunately for the guest it wakes you up at around 5am and continues until around 8am when people start getting up for breakfast.

So In the four mornings we were there we were woken and kept awake from a very early hour which isn't ideal when on holiday. We purchased some earplugs on day three but it still managed to wake us. We mentioned this to reception but the response we got was "I'm very sorry but unfortunately Italian people are very loud" not massively helpful.

All in all the hotel is great. Perfect location. If the staff could keep it down in the mornings it would be almost perfect but due to this unfortunately we wouldn't return. If you're an early riser this place is for you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the detailed review that you left on tripadvisor. We are very happy to know that in general your stay in our hotel and in Florence was nice and that you have appreciated the kindness and courtesy of our staff and the hotel's location close to the main attractions of the city.
We are also pleased to know that the room assigned to you, the breakfast and the various services of the Hotel were to your liking. We have taken note of your comment, that is very important to improve every day by our standards, and we thank you for that.
Hoping to have you again in our hotel for your next stay in Florence.
Arriverderci...!!!
Stefano Rosselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

In popular cities there are thousands hotel like this. And that's good, as they offer decent standard for reasonable price (well, question remains what a reasonable price in Italy is???). Perfect location, close to bus station with connections to the airport. And old town is just behind the corner. It is difficult to find though! Rooms are small but clean and reasonably comfortable with a bit of a need for refurbishment. The same applies to bathrooms. Although my room was facing really busy street, the noise didn't penetrate into the room. And the air-con wasn't too noisy. Bear in mind though that upper floor can't be reached by lift, so not suitable for people with walking difficulties. Breakfasts were good, typical continental ones with nice coffee (you can't get wrong with coffee in Italy). The real treasure of this hotel though is the reception staff, smiling, enthusiastic, always willing to help. Really they make a difference! Well done.

Room Tip: No lift to upper floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Direttore at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Zibby,
thank you for the good review that you left here on Tripadvisor.
We thank you so much for appreciating our reception staff and for speaking in so wonderful terms about them. We simply try to do the best for our guests. It is nice to see that you had a good time in Florence and we hope to see you again for your next trip to Italy.
Arrivederci...!!!
Stefano Rosselli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Florence
#106 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#116 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of Florence’s historic center, round the corner from the Santa Maria Novella train station, two steps from from the Duomo of Florence.Situated inside the ancient palace of the Fratelli Alinari art printing house and recently restored, Cosimo de' Medici Hotel in Florence, Italy offers 27 rooms 15 Classic rooms decorated with antique hand painted Florentine furniture and 12 Modern rooms providing the warm sensations of interior design and contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.