We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT LOCATION, CLEAN AND FRIENDLY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cosimo de' Medici to your Saves list
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Melbourne
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION, CLEAN AND FRIENDLY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is spitting distance from the Florence train station, which is handy....we were on the 2nd floor and unfortunately the lift only takes you to the 1st then it's more stairs to climb! The rooms are very clean, a lovely comfy king bed, air con, spacious bathroom and free wifi...the included breakfast was adequate for our needs, if anything the tables were A little crowded.....free tea and coffee is available for guests during the day but admit the times we used it the coffee had 'stewed' and/or the water for tea was only just warm so we didn't bother after 2 attempts......the staff on reception were exceptional....special mention to Samantha and Fabbiana (sorry spelling is probably incorrect) were always very helpful for directions and any assistance needed....Fabiana - what a lovely smile and bubbly personality to welcome guests....greatly appreciated after some of welcomes we have received at other hotels......wouldnt hesitate in staying at this hotel again if we were to return to Florence...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
we really appreciate your review and we are very happy to read that you want to stay with us again!!! thanks and we hope to see you soon! regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    210
    49
    13
    5
See reviews for
92
247
44
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Figeac, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A nice hotel, well situated to most of the attractions in Florence. We stayed here 3 nights; the staff members were all cheerful, helpful and friendly, ready to point us to a non-touristy restaurant, give directions to a specific place or reserve tickets to the museums. Our room, for 3 people, was just large enough, but didn't have a place for all 3 suitcases. The bathroom size was generous. We were on the 2nd floor, which required taking a lift to the first floor, then walking up stairs to the 2nd floor. My husband ended up using the service elevator the entire time because of knee pain, once we explained why we were using that lift, the staff was perfectly ok with it. The only problem when we were visiting was that the building was being renovated, and was covered with scaffolding and a safety tarp - we had no idea where the hotel was, even given the address! Going back to Florence, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 1st floor, especially if you have difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thanks for the review! The staff will be happy to read your good words about them. We hope to see you next time!! regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Va
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Just got home from a perfect week in Florence....found this hotel on Trip Advisor and it was wonderful! The location was great...We stayed in the contempory room on the first floor...#32. It was large (especially for Europe) with a double sink in the bathroom, nice shower and tub....room can sleep up to four. It was not on the street side so it was so peaceful and quiet. The bed and the mattress made for wonderful nights of sleep after long days of touring, shopping and dining! The location was great... across the street from the train and bus station, close to museums and galleries, Piazza della Signoria and the Piazza del Duomo were only a five minute walk.
Breakfast on the first floor was a nice way to start the day!
One of the most outstanding features of the hotel was the staff...Ilaria, went above and beyond for us, making us comfortable and helped us with our tours and mapping our way on our walking adventures. Alessandra, also very helpful with all of our needs!! The staff was so friendly and always helpful....Thank you, Iltaria and Alessandra!!!
This was a sisters trip ...but will definitely be going back with my husband ...would not think of staying any place but Hotel Cosimo de Medici*****

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
We thank you for the rewiew! Ilaria and Alessandra will be very happy when they'll read it. We are waiting for your next trip to Florence!! regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is in a great position. The staff, especially Alessandra, were extremely helpful. Our room was perfect for 3 people (Room 132) with plenty of space in the bedroom and a huge bathroom. The breakfast was satisfying and the ladies serving it were very pleasant. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you to find time to write on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate it. We hope to see you again! regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very good hotel, very close to the piazza del duomo and the train station. As this hotel only serves breakfast it needed to have a location with heaps of restaurants around it, which it certainly did!! Also for those who need fast food constantly Burger King and maccas are around the corner!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for the review! We hope to see you again here with us! regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Hotel is in a great location. Only 2 min walk from the central train station. My husband and I got a room that wasn't directly connected to the hotel. The room turned out to be a small apartment, which was very spacious. The room was a bit old, but the bathrooms appeared renovated. Breakfast was great. Price was a bit high for the quality of the room we received. But we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
we are very sorry that the room haven't fully satisfied your expectations, we'll do our best next time!! Thanks to have left a review on Tripadvisor! regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located. Only a short walk from the train station (very handy when you are training it around) and the Duomo. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, our room was a quad share and we had plenty of room and the bathroom was huge! (even had the luxury of a bath). Breakfast was excellent, nice range of cereals, pastries etc . Wifi worked well. Overall great little hotel, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefanorosselli, Owner at Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
so what can we say after this beautiful review?.....you leave us without words!! thank you so much!!!!
We are waiting for you with the next occasion! regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cosimo de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cosimo de' Medici

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Business Hotel in Florence
#105 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#114 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cosimo de' Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cosimo de' Medici is ideally located in the heart of Florence’s historic center, round the corner from the Santa Maria Novella train station, two steps from from the Duomo of Florence.Situated inside the ancient palace of the Fratelli Alinari art printing house and recently restored, Cosimo de' Medici Hotel in Florence, Italy offers 27 rooms 15 Classic rooms decorated with antique hand painted Florentine furniture and 12 Modern rooms providing the warm sensations of interior design and contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cosimo de' Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cosimo De Medici
Cosimo De Medici Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cosimo de' Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.