We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Firenze da Paolo

A Firenze da Paolo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added A Firenze da Paolo to your Saves list
A Firenze da Paolo
Via Maria Malibran 63, 50127 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #342 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
31
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I traveled to Firenze because I found this B/B quite cheap. If it wasn't for that, I wouldn't have gone.
This unique place is what it is because Paolo. If a fantastic guy, that help us in everything and make us feel like at home.
It's not very close to the city center and a bus needs to be taken, but is not difficult to move arround and reach the place. Once you know where is it, is easy. Many buses passes by and there are also some restaurants arround very cheap.
The rooms where really nice, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was nice also.
Paolo also helps in anithing you need.
Highly recomended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights & it was one of the most comfortable stays we have had in Italy to date, at comparable prices. We Googled bus information and were able to find the apartment without too much trouble (although we did have to ask directions from people on the street). Note that this is a big residential apartment complex, and might not look like a typical "hotel" accommodation (because it is not). Try to arrive in the daytime.

When we arrived, we had to SMS Paolo so he could come & let us in. He doesn't speak much English (but more than we could of Italian!), however Paolo was very welcoming & helpful, & language was not a barrier.

As we arrived & to our delight, a brand-new mattress was also delivered to our room. The room was spacious & immaculate (Paolo did some last-minute tidying on our arrival), as were the kitchen, foyer & bathroom. The bathroom was shared between 3 rooms, but there was always hot water, it was always clean & we never had to wait. The apartment was quite nicely soundproofed, with roller shutters to enable a nice sleep-in for those who want it. The photos I've seen are perfectly representative.

Ample amounts of self-serve continental breakfast was provided, with separate, labelled areas for each room's allotment. Guests are allowed to use the decently-equipped kitchen at other times. The nearby Co-op supermarket has everything you need: prepared meals, small cafe areas, extensive groceries & liquor, and there is also a cinema & electronics store in the complex. The area itself is nothing special for visitors - just a normal residential neighbourhood, but within easy transit access to all of Florence's sightseeing.

All in all, a very comfortable stay, & we would happily return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Proprietaire helpful and sympatique price(prize) tres correct appropriate(clean) apartment and regles are indeed etablieProprietaire helpful and sympatique price(prize) tres correct appropriate(clean) apartment and regles are indeed etablie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in June this year. We booked through venereal.com, who did not give us any details about check in time. We called Paolo who sent Lorenzo up the apartment ASAP. Lorenzo kept our bags in the cleaning cupboard and gave us a map of Florence to go and explore. It was a great start. On our return, the room was clean and ready for us to move in. The stay was OK. Breakfast was not particularly interesting and we questioned the freshness of the pastries.

Unfortunately, in our panic to leave the room and make it to our train, we left a parcel in the room. We completely understand that this was our fault, but we were more than happy to pay Paolo for the hassle of posting the parcel to us in Australia. Paolo and Lorenzo refused to send us their email address (which I did eventually track down myself) and also did not return text messages or phone calls from us. In the end, we recieved a message from Paolo saying that he had sent the parcel, but that he was not happy having to do something that he was not going to get 'anything out of it', so charged us. €10 euro 'service fee'. We were more than happy to pay the asked amount, but we're disappointed to see the price of postage to Australia was only €45 and Paolo had asked for €79 Euro - if my maths is correct, that is more that €10 for a service fee.

So, would I recommend you stay here... Well, it was very reasonably priced for Florence and it was clean, but MAKE SURE YOU TAKE EVERYTHING WITH YOU as it will be a lot of stress trying to get it returned.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed with my friend at this Bed and Breakfast for 3 nights. We booked it because I read the reviews and thought it was ok. In fact it is OK. But nothing more. Our room was big and bathroom was clean. No air conditioner (40 degrees temperature). Kitchen appeared to be clean but breakfast was terrible. We had two little nutella packages with a croissant and toast. Some jelly and butter. THAT'S IT. Milk and coffee and a orange juice pack. Frankly that was the worst breakfast I had during my whole trip. I don't eat jelly or nutella so I was left with toast and butter. The B&B is very far from the tourists attractions. It's a 30 minutes walk at least and I did not feel safe at night. You can go to Florence's main station with the bus but it only drives until 24:00. Then you have to pay for a taxi (~12-15 euros). We met Paolo for 5 mins and he seemed to be very friendly but he did not speak english very well. To be honest no one in the city spoke english very well. I would not come back. There are certainly thousands of B&B's within the city for the same price. Driving with the bus every day was really exhaustive and two girls alone walking through Florence's suburbs is not a good idea... It has the potential but it still needs a lot of improvements.

Room Tip: Get the room with private bathroom or you'll have to share it with 2 other people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My partner and I, have stayed here a few times. It is by far The most wonderful b&b to stay in. Paolo is a true italian. Friendly, welcomes us back, brilliant personality, hospitable, kind and loves to clean! Which is brilliant! It's spotless! Everyone would love a Paolo in their lives. The bed is lovely. This is perfect for relaxed and easygoing people. It's not a hotel. You treat it like your home. We had the nord room, which has a cute balcony. Only 10 mins on a bus to santa maria. You won't find a better place for the money, its outstanding. We look forward to seeing Paolo every time we book to go to Florence. He even made us coffee when we arrived. Italian style. Don't miss it. Bargain value. And we had a sneak peak of him singing opera whilst cleaning! Brilliant! He will make your stay. Xxxxx

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Firenze da Paolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Firenze da Paolo

Address: Via Maria Malibran 63, 50127 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your A Firenze da Paolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Firenze da Paolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.