We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Alfani al David

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Alfani al David to your Saves list
Palazzo Alfani al David
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Ricasoli 49, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€125 (EUR)
Ranked #39 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in Palazzo Alfani al David. Our host, Francesca, was very kind and friendly. She made us feel like home here. Everything about our stay was perfect. The place is exactly opposite to the Accademia so we don't have to book; we just peeked through our window to see when there's no line. The apartment was very spacious, the biggest we had in our Italy trip. You can't pull off a better deal elsewhere in Florence.

We love Florence and Palazzo Alfani. Thank you so much Francesca!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, choose the room facing the courtyard. Ours faced the street and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franflo75, Proprietario at Palazzo Alfani al David, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
DEar Anuwat,

I would like to express my sincerest thanks for the review that you wrote about our apartments.
It has been a great pleasure for my family to welcome you during your holiday.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are very useful and welcome.

I wish you a wonderful life and look forward to welcoming you again in our "home " in Florence.

Warmest regards
Francesc aAlfani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    40
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
134
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Palazzo Alfani. The furnishings and decor were beautiful old-world Italian, and the beds were the most comfortable we found in Italy. Our livingroom and bedroom had wonderful views of the interior courtyard. The apartment is well-located, across the street from the Academia and around the corner from restaurants, public transportation (several bus stops), and a laundry-mat. A small grocery store is just a few doors away.

Francesca is delightful and offered great suggestions for dinner. We didn't cook in the apartment, although we easily could have; the kitchen had a stove, oven and microwave. We enjoyed going out in the morning to purchase inexpensive breakfast items, and brought them back to eat in the apartment. Francesca also equipped the kitchen with delicious coffee (we made a pot each morning), and stocked the fridge with some soda and water. We purchased a great bottle of wine which we enjoyed while relaxing in the apartment.

Our daughter loved petting Francesca's family cat (Ernesto), which we saw in the outside corridor a couple of times. Staying at the apartment made us feel like more authentic Fiorentini (Florentians), rather than tourists at a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franflo75, Owner at Palazzo Alfani al David, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Martha and Family,

Thank you so much for your visit and your beautiful review!
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are very useful and welcome.

It has been a great pleasure for me to welcome you and to be your "neighbor" for few days!

I wish you a wonderful life and look forward to welcoming you again in Florence!

Warmest regards

Francesca and Family

ps. Ernesto love to be cuddled by our little guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We arrived in Florence by train from Venice and found Palazzo Alfani without difficulty. The apartment we had booked looked great on the web but we were a little apprehensive as the pictures looked almost to good to be true. Well, they weren't. The apartment is delightful - a charming sitting room with flat screen TV, DVD player, a small fully equipped kitchenette tucked in a corner and a dining table and four chairs. Crockery and cutlery were all of good quality and the complimentary fresh coffee and cold drinks were greatly appreciated. Only quibble was a minor connection problem with wifi and cable tv butn this was soon fixed.

The huge bedroom had a painted ceiling, a comfortable double bed plus a day bed, antique wardrobe and chest of drawers. The narrow bathroom had wc, bidet, Jacuzzi shower, basin, hairdryer, gorgeous toiletries and loads of thick, white towels. The bed linen was of good quality.

All the places we wanted to visit are within walking distance, as was a well stocked supermarket and Pugi, which stocks delicious focacia and croisants. Mercate Centrale is also within walking distance and the array of cheeses is worth the visit.

Francesca was a delight, as was Ernesto the cat. In fact, we liked it so much that we will be staying at the Palazzo again this year.

Room Tip: The suite we had overlooked a street and we like our windows and shutters open so there was a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We have just returned from a short stay in Florence which coincided with a very cold spell but no snow! Our suite, facing the garden, was very nice, spotlessly clean and had a very comfortable bed with quality linen. Owing to the cold and large shuttered 16th century windows, we needed a good heating system and we had one, it was a wonderfully warm refuge that we could return to as and when needed during the day. It is in a great location and within easy walking distance of the sights. Although cold, it was a great time to visit the galleries with no queues or pre-booking required. Francesca Alfani was aware that we were due to drive around Tuscany following our stay in Florence and the night before our departure she came to see us as she was concerned by the amount of snow that had fallen around Sienna. She used her laptop to confirm how bad it was and was happy for us to use it to contact Easyjet etc. She even 'phoned the manager of our next stay and the car hire company on our behalf as we do not speak Italian. Francesca speaks very good English and could not have been a more helpful and friendly hostess. A real gem.

Room Tip: The superior suites face the garden and are quieter. Very important in the busy summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franflo75, Owner at Palazzo Alfani al David, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Friends,

Thank you so much for your kind comment!
I was very happy to help you because during your stay in Italy there is around 2 mt of snow....The situation was critical and move in cars would be dangerous for you .....Our weather is usually better and with much less snow ...:-)
I'm waiting for you in Florence to welcome you again in the summer...sunny and more pleasant!!

All my best!

Francesca Alfani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here last summer for a few nights. The room looks exactly as pictured. The ceiling in particular was really cool. The management was really nice and let us store our bags before check in and after check out while we were waiting for our train. It was very hot and muggy while we were there, but the AC kept us comfortable after our museum jaunts.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Us Aussies are pretty practical people who believe in value for money. this place was fantastic. After travelling through Paris, Nice, Rome and Venice having to deal with ridiculously small rooms with the bare minimum that werent cheap either, this place was a refreshing change! This was by far the best place we have stayed during our trip. It was great value for money and the owners are very kind and light hearted and can understand english quite well. The apartment was beautifully decorated but not too over the top, there was a great little kitchen setup in the open plan living area, which followed on to a beautiful bedroom and big en-suit bathroom (with giant towels!). We felt very comfortable in the spacious place and it made the trip so much more like a holiday, The kitchen makes it handy to cook your own food and save money on always eating out!! it was handy that there was a supermarket about 20m down the road. the internet was really fast as well :) If we return to Florence we will definately stay here.

Room Tip: we had the deluxe suit for two, had all the comforts of home with a real italian touch :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at Palazzo Alfani al David recently and were very happy there. We're a family of 5, my wife and I and three kids (18, 13, and 11). We were provided an apartment that consisted of 4 rooms in all, two bedrooms, a living room with a pull out couch, and a kitchen area. The two bathrooms were beautiful and immaculate - and all marble. The beds had mattresses and were really great. The kitchen had everything you could want, with appliances/sink and even a coffee pot. We used it for breakfasts mainly- a nice way to save some money. There's a grocery store just outside.

The proximity to everything was great- the Duomo a 5 min walk straight down the road. The Accademia Museum literally across the street. Uffizi and Santa Croce 10 min walks - really perfect. I'd recommend Ciro and Sons for dinner- right by an outdoor market with lots of good deals on leather goods.

Only negative for the 3 nights we stayed there- the 1st two nights a Friday and Saturday there was some noise coming from the street below- loud yelling several times through the night- not sure where this came from, must have been some late night walking traffic. Our last night there was a Sunday, and was completely quiet.

We read the reviews on TA carefully - that's how we found this place and always get suspicious when I see a review as positive as this, but take my word for it, this place is really outstanding for the money. Thanks to Francesca who was a great hostess.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Alfani al David? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Alfani al David

Address: Via Ricasoli 49, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palazzo Alfani al David 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic building in the centre of Florence, Palazzo Alfani al David offers elegant and refined accomodation directly in front of the Galleria dell'Accademia, the site of the famous David by Michelangelo. At Palazzo Alfani, you'll reside in an elegant vacation apartment in Florence, in an elegantly restored in the 17th century palace. The ideal choice for a couple or family stay. Stylish, well-lit and restored respecting historical tradition, the apartments of Palazzo Alfani al David are ideal for living and experiencing Florence in full freedom without giving up the comforts of a 4 star hotel. The Alfani family manages the residence directly like good neighbours and is at your disposal to provide suggestions for restaurants, food and wine tasting tours, and interesting places to see so you can discover the most authentic side of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Alfani al David reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Alfani Al David Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Alfani al David, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.