We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Haven in the Heart of a Great City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tre Stanze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Tre Stanze to your Saves list
Le Tre Stanze
Via dell'Oriuolo, 43, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
san francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Haven in the Heart of a Great City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

When we saw the photos on this site, we knew Le Tre Stanza would be right up our street. The reality, however, exceeded our expectations.
The location, so close to the Duomo, was cause enough for jubilation, but passing through the grand entrance into this locus of serenity and outstanding design transported us to another time, namely, the 1920s. Its Art Deco design, eclectic art pieces and antiques fit seamlessly into this Renaissance building with its grand proportions, walls showing the patina of age, and windows opening onto Florentine tiled roofing and courtyards. In addition to the wonderful individual rooms, you have access to the kitchen and dining areas that give one opportunities to meet other guests.
All this with modern clean bathrooms, and the staff, the ever-obliging Patrick and the owner, James, full of anecdotes, make for a congenial, nay collegial, environment. A must see in Florence: the San Marco Monastery and Museum, just a short walk away, with its masterpiece, Fra Angelico's The Annuciation.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

We (two couples) stayed at Le Tre Stanze for five nights in October, 2007, in two rooms on the first floor. The location and rooms are completely amazing, as is the garden adjoining the first floor rooms.
This is truly an oasis of calm and beauty. We had a wonderful stay, and Patrick was a terrific host. The rooms were very spacious, beautifully furnished in a relaxed and upbeat style, with large bathrooms and kitchenettes. Ours even had a small dining room! The garden was lovely, a perfect place to read, or have a glass of wine after a day of seeing Florence's many beauties.

Le Tre Stanze is more like staying in the lovely guest quarters of a friend's home; our privacy was complete, but Patrick was available to
assist us when we needed something, and we had access to the living quarters upstairs for laundry, computer, etc. There is a small cafe on the quarter, right across from the Duomo, where we had breakfast.
I'm grateful to have seen a little mention of this wonderful accommodation in the NY Times travel section, and that they had availability for our travel dates....I look forward to staying here again. Thank you Patrick!

  • Liked — Beautiful, private, spacious....and GREAT LOCATION!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

This is not the place to stay if you must be pampered. This is the place to stay if you want an affordable, unbelievably roomy getaway in the shadow of the duomo that oozes chic.

The lavish breakfasts are no more (they were driving the hotel to bankruptcy), but think about it this way: you could pay an extra 50-150 Euros per night for a much smaller, impersonal room in a touristy hotel, or you could make your coffee yourself at Le Tre Stanze, where you have the opportunity to get to know Patrick or avoid him completely if you so choose.

The rooms (and I've seen them all) are the roomiest I have ever encountered in Europe and are all tastefully decorated. Several have views of the Duomo, but the entire hotel is a short walk to it, and the panoply of other Florentine attractions. Patrick is completely accommodating (he made us several reservations and was always helpful with any request, no matter how unusual) but allows you enough space to believe that you are all alone in this most romantic of cities.

Would I have preferred a place with valets and service available at the drop of a hat? Maybe. Would I trade the experience of staying in a place where I was made to feel like a family friend? Never.

Le Tre Stanze is not for everyone, but if you are interested in finding a unique, laid-back place to call your own smack dab in the middle of Florence, it can't be beat.

  • Liked — Easygoing atmosphere, location
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Iowa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2007

My husband, one-year-old daughter, and I spent four wonderful nights at Le Tre Stanze in the Daylight Suite. It was what I might call "shabby-chic." It absolutely filled our needs for the stay. Our daughter had a wonderful time exploring all that space, plus the pretty little courtyard. We had a nice place to have our evening meals (with a baby we couldn't partake of those late Italian dinners) & she even had a favorite chair. And the location could not have been better. We could see the Duomo from the front door when we stepped out in the morning, it was maybe a block away. Everything in the historic center was within walking distance. We had a lot of fabulous food to choose from in the immediate area too. Our hostess, Benny, was very accomodating and she has a lot of good inside tips on where to eat, etc. Her nephew was our cleaning person each day, and he did a fantastic job. We found everyone in the neighborhood to be quite friendly, although having a baby with us probably helped as the Italians love babies! The only people who might not like this place are staunch anti-smokers b/c there was a lingering cigarette smell.


  • Liked — Location & relaxed atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Tre Stanze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tre Stanze

Address: Via dell'Oriuolo, 43, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Tre Stanze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tre Stanze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.