We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT SERVICE,GREAT LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Angelica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Angelica to your Saves list
Hotel Angelica
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Fiume 11, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 460 Hotels in Florence
lancing
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“GREAT SERVICE,GREAT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

My wife and I have just visited Florence and we have to say the hotel we stayed in although 2 star gave a 4 star service. The Angelica hotel is superbly placed to visit all the main tourist venues and is just a 3 minute walk from the railway station. The hotel is family run and they could not have been more helpful. The room we had was of an adequate size and very clean with a really nice en suite bathroom.

The breakfast was of the continental style with proper english tea available. The hotel occupies the third floor of the building and is quite small. There is the inevitable noise you expect in cities with traffic and revellers but this did not affect our stay too much.

A very good experience and we will definetly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    39
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
26
54
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sao paulo
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Great location, near the train station, restaurants and tourist attractions. Good Price for what it offers. Staff willing to provide information. Good breakfast. Comfortable and clean room. I recommend the stay.
The heater didn't work very well at night. They could provide the wi-fi signal inside the room. The curfew about midnight can be a problem for your plans.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

I know I typed a three on location and a four on rooms, but overall it is a five! Because the service was really a ten! They were so friendly and helpfull and you really get to know the hosts of the hotel. It's located just by the trainstation so you don't have to worry about carrying your suitecases for long, but it's quite a walk down to the city center.. The breakfast was really yummy! And the hosts spoke good English.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the major tourist sites. It is also very close to the train and bus stations for those wishing to take day trips to nearby cities. We stayed here on a trip to Florence in 2008 and were so charmed by the delightful owners and their pride in the hotel that we ensured a stay again this year. We appreciated the owners' interest in their guests and their suggestions for visiting Italy. The rooms are clean and the area is quiet in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

I stayed here with my parents and loved it! The family that runs this hotel is extremely nice and helpful. I would stay here again and again.

The hotel is located a stone throw away from S.M. Novella train station and can be easily reached by foot. It is on the third floor and the building does have an elevator - somewhat antiquated but it does the trick.

If you stay here you will be able to walk to the San Lorenzo market in 2 minutes.

We stayed in a triple room. The room had AC, TV with local stations, a small balcony and your standard European bathroom.

Breakfast is served from 7:30am to 9:30am so you will need to be an early riser to catch this one - fortunately we did. For breakfast there was coffee and tea, orange juice, milk, yogurt, typical Italian style pastries, nutella, jams, buns, meats and cheeses to make sandwiches. Wake up early to get the best of the pastries - everything is fresh daily. There are only 4 tables in the breakfast area which serves this hotel well.

The staff made excellent recommendations for places to eat and visit. The only change I would make is adding a mini-fridge to each room.

Thank you both for an excellent stay while in Florence.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Hotel Angelica is only two blocks from the train station and about three blocks from the historic city center. It is located on the 4th floor of late 19th century building in a very urban part of Florence. An old fashioned (and tiny) lift takes one to the hotel lobby where you are buzzed in (one is also buzzed in at the street door so it is very secure). The owners live in the building and are very protective - they take your key each time you leave- make sure you ask for a map of the city so you can find sites and your way back to the hotel.
The quad room was large and clean with a modern and good-sized bathroom. There was a lot of street noise even five stories up when the window was open, but the room was air-conditioned so we just closed it and were very comfortable. The breakfast was quite plain, but the breakfast room was nice.
It is a good, clean family run budget hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Everything was fine when we checked in, they were very nice. The rooms were very spacious and a great deal for the $$. We would basically sleep and shower in our rooms. We were up early every day and would come home shower and change for dinner. We are in our early thirties and like to stay out and enjoy the city nightlife. The problem..you are not allowed a key when you leave. So when you enter you have to be buzzed in and wake the older couple that lets you in in their pajamas. We felt guilty and they also seemed annoyed by us because well this happened every night we were there. But we were not going to let that get in the way of our trip of a lifetime! They EVEN asked us a few times as we were leaving if we were going to be out late! Sorry but that is rude! I am on vacation and am paying for a hotel room. I will come and go as I please! We were always back by Midnight! So if you are in early all the time this is a great place for you. Also when were leaving they pulled the "our credit card machine is not working" I argued that online it states that you accept credit cards and they would not get paid unless otherwise. Well wouldn't you know..all of a sudden it worked! Anyway it is a very nice hotel for your $$, just beware if you like to enjoy a little night life.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Angelica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angelica

Address: Via Fiume 11, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#90 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#125 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Angelica 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Angelica is a small hotel directed by Fernando Siringo in a small cosy e professional atmosphere. The hotel is situated in a magnificent old classic Florentine style building in the historical center, very close to the central train station of Firenze S. Maria Novella (100 mt, only 3 minutes walk) nearby the Exhibition Center of Fortezza da Basso, and in forn of the Congress Center. The Hotel is very near the wonderful Church of S. Maria Novella, the Medice Chapels, the traditional Market of San Lorenzo (which is next to the marvellous Church of San Lorenzo) and the most important museums and monuments (for example Uffizi Gallery, Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Vecchio, Accademia Gallery, Duomo and Cupola of Brunelleschi, Giotto's Tower, Baptistery, S. Croce Church, Bargello museum, Dante Alighieri's house). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Angelica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angelica Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Angelica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.