We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away from Quadra Key Residence” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quadra Key Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quadra Key Residence to your Saves list
Quadra Key Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bardazzi, 49, 50127 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay Away from Quadra Key Residence”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Traveling through Italy, this is the lowest point of our journey. This is not anywhere towards the center of the city. The only decent thing about this hotel is that its close to the airport. But if you are coming into town to see places, its a hassle to go to the city center by bus of by cab which tends to get expensive.
We traveled with a family of 5 with one kid at 10 months. I specifically requested that we needed to check in by noon but when we get to the hotel, we were very rudely told to wait till 0300 PM since thats the check in time and the room is not ready either. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, I requested that they try and make the room ready as soon as they can since I am traveling with 3 kids and after a long journey they need to get some rest. At 0100 PM, I was told that the room is still not ready. It doesn't take 1 hr to get the room ready but I patiently waited but by 0200 PM my patience ran out since the kids were all tired and hungry and couldn't wait to get to the room and relax. At 0215 PM, I asked the lady at the counter that if the room is not ready in the next 15 mins, I will cancel my reservation and move elsewhere. I had the keys available in the next 5 mins.
Why go through all of this nonsense? I am all about following the policies but you are in a hospitality business and this just didn't make sense. At the end, only if they would have been nicer about the whole check in, I wouldn't have any problem waiting till 0300 PM. It was purely the rude and complete disregard that completely threw us off.
Still, you can't dismiss the entire hotel and give it 1 star based on your interaction at the reception and I hope that was the case but sadly it isn't. The decor of the room was from the 80's. The mattresses were hard and uncomfortable. TV's were 19" or even smaller. You can't see anything on it. I am all about saving electricity but extremely low Watts for the energy savers were used which are good if you want to have a romantic evening but you can read anything with those lights and I had all of them on.
Its a policy of this establishment that they will provide you with a number of soaps, bath rolls and other amenities. Once you run out of them, you can go down to the reception and buy the new ones. Refills will not be provided. Seriously???
The towels provided are simply horrible and have a very bad odor on them. Some very heavy industrial chemical detergent is used to wash the towels and you simply can't use them. No complimentary breakfast is provided. If you have a car, parking is not free and they will charge 10 Euro per night. Neighborhood is very bad and I recommend not to walk late at night.
This hotel is good only if you want to be near the airport. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone and will never come back to stay at it again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    140
    21
    16
    11
See reviews for
90
113
8
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I booked this apartment based on reviews from trip adviser users, I was not disappointed. We stayed 2 nights at a 2 bedroom apartment. Very spacious and clean. A couple of things to note though, we had to ask for a water kettle and an iron, we didn't have to pay extra, however please enquire as it was suggested that this will cost extra. Some reviews suggested a washing machine was available, which what you'd expect booking an apartment, however hotel reception advised on arrival that no rooms included a washing machine. They provide a washing rank on the balcony. A public laundry is available very close to the residence at very reasonable prices "£3.5 for a washing cycle". A mini market is also a 2 mins walk from the residence and had all the essentials. Would not recommend any eateries aroubd though as none looked "good enough" as the residence is located in a residential area. felt safe. The bus stop that takes you to the main city is only 5 mins walk and the distance to central city about 10mins via bus. Easy to use the bus and reception provide you with bus tickets which are about £1.20 for an adult and can also get a family pass. Train station is about 15mins drive, we took a taxi which costs around £11-£20 depending on the day as on Sundays the surcharge is higher. A bus is also accessible straight to the residence area from the train station. I think bus "22" it was, the area is called "Quadra residence". Reception staff very friendly and spoke flaunt English. I would diffenetely recommend. I would come back.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QKRStaff, Public Relations Manager at Quadra Key Residence, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
thanks to share your experience at Quadra key Residence, we are always looking at ways to improve our services and we sincerely appreciate your opinion.
Thanks to share a detailed descriptions about our services, this will be helpful for any future customers and for those interested.
We thank you very much for your valuable feedback, we hope to see you next time you are visiting Florence.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

This is a new, clean, good building to stay in Florence. A bit out of downtown, but not a problem if you have a car and plan to drive and park close to downtown (street parking works, but you have to pay for it till 8pm). The building is new and smells fresh, compared to many old buildings in Florence. Have tile floors, so no dusty rugs o carpets. Full kitchens, fridge and daily housekeeping. Parking is extra 5-10 euros in the parking lot next to the building (street parking is not free weekdays). Easy ride to the airport from here, about 10-15 minutes. Safe area, walking distance to supermarket and other stores.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QKRStaff, Public Relations Manager at Quadra Key Residence, responded to this review, November 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your holidays at our Residence, we are happy too to receive detailed descriptions of our services, this will be helpful for any future customers and for those interested.
Reviews like yours are making our work much easier and are keeping us motivated.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards from Florence.
Giulia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

These apartments were okay, but too far away from Central Florence to be useful. This place was not on any of the maps at tourist information. That was an unexpected shock.
Firstly, don't use the postcode to find it!!! Google maps took us to the wrong side of the city. We mentioned this to the man in reception and he didn't care.
Also, when we arrived the shower door was hanging off. We did report this and it was fixed the following day. However, the service was extremely poor. The rooms are spacious and clean but noisy. They are next to a very busy road.
Finally, when we left we were charged a huge city tax despite having paid all taxes and fees as part of our booking. Overall, it was not a highlight of the trip. I would recommend accommodation that is closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QKRStaff, Public Relations Manager at Quadra Key Residence, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Claire,
thanks to share your experience on tripadvisor, we are very sorry to read that your stay at our Residence was not positive. The Quadra Key Residence is not located in the center of Florence, its distance is about 15 minutes but not much more. In order to facilitate the arrival of our guests at the residence we were checking on Google local, probably if you would looked for "Quadra Key Residence" on google maps you would have found no problems.

About your problem reported, relating to taxes, we want to explain to you that costs are not determined by us, are taxes imposed for anyone residing outside the town of Florence and are calculated according to the stars / keys Hotel/Residence. We are sorry that you have spent a stay so problematic but we thank you for all that comments & opinion which help us to improve day by day our services.
Best Regards
Giulia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neumarkt am Wallersee, Austria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

it was a nice apartment, near to the bus station, price is ok + clean, kitchen and balkon . also they think ever details shampoo, towels for apartment according to the price I can offer, parking is also no problem , 15 euro a day

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QKRStaff, Public Relations Manager at Quadra Key Residence, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your really nice words after your stay at our Residence; we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Apart Hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards from Florence.
Giulia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Hotel (at least the new part) is great! Quet, rooms are very nice, clean, beds are comfortable, bathroom is beautiful. You can find almost everything in the kitchen, however there is not any good knife - i suggest you bring your own one. You can park in locked parking space behind the hotel, but you have to pay extra and it is not very cheap. But overall - I really recomend this hotel. It is not expensive and it offers everything you need for great stay in Florence.
We were in the hotel for 5 days. It is 20 minutes far from city center by bus and 10 minutes by car. We parket on Piazzale de Michelangelo because it was for free and only 15 minutes to center. We also went to San Gimignano and Sienna - it was sooooo beautiful.

Room Tip: Rooms in new part of hotel are better, because they are behind the old part and away from main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QKRStaff, Public Relations Manager at Quadra Key Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Chiara,
thanks to share your experience on tripadvisor and for your kind review! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday at our Residence.
Your opinion is very useful to help us continually improve the quality of our service.
We hope to welcome you soon again.
Best regards from Florence.
Giulia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

This hotel was really a pleasant stay. All these reviews from Americans are a load of garbage. The service is not bad, it's just Italian. They don't wait on you hand and foot the way American hotels do. If you come here expecting that kind of service, you will be disappointed. The staff are friendly and helpful and most all of them speak a little English. The exception being the night shift guy. He is not so much a hotel employee as he is a warm body to sit in the chair and call for help of need be. They will all get you bus tickets, train tickets, and taxi cabs on request. They even have great advice know where to eat and shop.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QKRStaff, Public Relations Manager at Quadra Key Residence, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Ben,
thanks to share your experience at Quadra key Residence; we are pleased to read your positive fedback about our staff and their recommendations and we confirm you that from 11 pm until 7 am the Reception is closed, there is only a night porter.
The reports of our customers are our starting point to improve, thank you for your report.
Best Regards
Giulia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quadra Key Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quadra Key Residence

Address: Via Bardazzi, 49, 50127 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#67 Business Hotel in Florence
#70 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#127 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quadra Key Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quadra Key Residence in Florence represents the perfect union between apartment comfort and hotel service, perfect for anybody seeking the freedom of an independent solution whilst enjoying pleasurable moments of relaxation and comfort. Sophisticated decor, combined with resources such as multilingual staff to assist in organising visits to museums and private degustation tours, ensuring your holiday is truly unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quadra Key Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quadra Key Residence Florence
Quadra Key Residence Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quadra Key Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.