We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bus ride hints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Sandro Pertini 29, 50127 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €66
Ranked #87 of 461 hotels in Florence
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“bus ride hints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The front desk was very helpful. Be sure to buy your bus tickets from them and ask where to board and the name that will be announced on board as to when to get off upon your return. It is not the same place you first got on the bus to leave the hotel.

There is a market and large grocery store not very far from the hotel. I bought snacks and wine there. Not much else to see just walking around the area.

The breakfast was included in my rate and I was happy to find it very nice.

The window may be opened a little. The bed and bath area were very comfortable. There were sufficient hangers for me, but room for more hangers if you need to bring more things. Don't forget your adapters and converter as needed.

Every one of the staff were friendly and kind to a lady traveling alone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONFLRNV, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

your review made us really happy and satisfied! Thank you for taking the time to share all this important information with the Tripadvisor users!
We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards
Alessandro Carletti
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    242
    75
    8
    8
See reviews for
111
244
19
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great room, comfortable beds, nice bath. Very modern and clean. Friendly staff, especially reception. Breakfast buffet sufficient, just a bit untidy in presentation. Thermos bottle w smeary labels.One good point: food is kept warm in ceramic dishes, not the usual metal. Restaurant a bit cantine-like. Dinner expensive and not great, had a fish for € 30 that was definitely below quality.
Bathroom had a great tub, though I would recommend a handle on the wall for getting up. There was an uncomfortable edge on the tub surround, that made it painful to rest my head against it. The very modern bed had a strange feature which caused one to bump shins into the corner of it. The window shades could only be let down fully, no half or partial position. Very appreciated: the refrigerator was just for our own use, not filled w unwanted snacks and drinks. Not so good: the radio/alarm clock which we disconnected because of strong radiation. Getting into Florence:
just a short walk to the Bus stop, tickets can be obtained at front desk which is a very good service. Hotel bus only at weekends. Bus 22 has very few seats, so rush in as quickly as you can to grab a seat. Hard uncushioned plastic seats, no seat belts. If you can take a bit of shaking, fine, but if you have backproblems, avoid the bus. Very bumpy on cobblestoned roads. Also tends to be full on the way back, wait for following buses. I would choose the hotel again if there was a decent shuttle bus provided by the hotel, if only 3-4x daily.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONFLRNV, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
Any constructive criticism is always appreciated in order to improve our performances.
We always provide a functional service, with a professional and friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms as per guest’s expectations.
Hoping to welcome you again in Florence, we send our

Best Regards
Alessandro Carletti
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel and its rooms look new and modern. The hotel's front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant. The hotel has a shuttle that runs to the main train station only on the weekends with one - maybe two - pick up times. My only criticism about the hotel was that I could not set my room temperature. It was much too warm so I had to open the window to let in cool air, but that led to lots of mosquitoes coming in and biting me and buzzing around my head at night. I was still swatting mosquitoes a few days after opening the window.

Here's additional information related to transportation and the nearby area.

Bus: You can take bus 22 all the way to the end of the line, which will bring you closer to the Duomo than if you get off near the main train station. On the way home, consider getting on the first stop in order to get a seat. If you get on near the main train station, expect to stand. You can buy bus tickets at the front desk.

Taxi to/from the airport (Peretola): The cost each way was about 12 euros before tips.

Dining: I didn't see a whole of lot of restaurants nearby, so eat while you're in the city or pick up some food at the Co-op nearby.

Shopping: There's a small shopping center nearby where there's a H&M and a large Co-op supermarket. Look around for a building with a lot of greenish glass along Via di Novoli near the roundabout. The Co-op was larger than other supermarkets found in the city center. There's not many hot food options, but you could pick up food and drinks to make a picnic-style meal in your room - if you choose. The hotel does have a microwave oven in their food pantry, in case you pick up something that needs to be heated. There's also a fairly large sporting goods store nearby, along Viale Allesandro Guidoni.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONFLRNV, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
Your detailed suggestions could be very helpful toTripadvisor's users.
We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Hoping to welcome you again in Florence, we send our

Best Regards
Alessandro Carletti
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very modern hotel with free parking. We stayed there for one night in King room. The room was very confortable and spacious with large bathroom, easily controlled a/c and free wifi. The staff was friendly and helpful. They made a good restaurant recommendation for us at a local place about a 10 m. and next day they kept our luggage to go for a walk. The breakfast has standart.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONFLRNV, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment concerning your stay at our Hilton Florence Metropole.
We always try to improve our service and performances in order to guarantee a comfortable stay for our guests.
Hoping to welcome you again in Florence, we send our

Best Regards
Alessandro Carletti
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We used Hilton points to stay at the HGI-Florence for the week of Thanksgiving. The hotel staff was first rate. Everything from our room to breakfast to calling a taxi at 4a met or exceeded our expectations. And all for free. The only drawback is the distance to the city but we knew that going in. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONFLRNV, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind comment on the Tripadvisor website.
I am pleased to read that you had a good stay. I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Florence Metropole very soon.

Best Regards
Alessandro Carletti
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Not close to the heart of Florence. If you don't mind a bus ride or the expense of a taxi you might find it to be fine. Fairly new hotel well maintained. I would suggest avoiding the breakfast as we found it was very slow being set up. Personnel seemed overwhelmed while we were there due to many guests having breakfast. Their are nearby grocery stores to buy many delicious items. If you are around this hotel on Sunday don't count on nearby restaurants or stores to be open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONFLRNV, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your time spent for your comment. We are extremely sorry about your disappointment and I am sure you will understand that the satisfaction of our customers is very important to us.
We thank you for your suggestions; we will take the opportune action to avoid any future lack of this kind of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Best Regards
Alessandro Carletti
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful PA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed for leisure and feel this hotel deserves about 3.5 star.

It locates outside most destinations but if catch Bus #22 in time, the journey is about 20 minutes to main train station. From there, another 10 -15 walk to Duomo area.

Hotel is modern. Room feels furnished by Ikea. Window curtain is half transparent (only 1 layer). By 7 am, room is as bright as outside. No way to sleep after that.

The biggest complaint is bathroom. Shower door only covers 1/3 of the tub and not sealed properly. Floor is flooded every time, creating a mess for next person. Door frame bottom is actually already rotten for such a new room.

Breakfast buffet is ok. But they have tour groups as customers. Each group has at least 20 people. They overwhelmed the single waitress and food. Many buffet dishes are empty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHILTONFLRNV, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay, and we really thank you for you review because your comment is helpful to understand what customers want and what is important to improve.

Hoping to welcome you again in Florence,

Alessandro Carletti
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli

Address: Via Sandro Pertini 29, 50127 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Florence
#40 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#43 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#87 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#87 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli Hotel Florence
Florence Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Florence Novoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.