We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tornabuoni La Petite Suite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tornabuoni La Petite Suite to your Saves list
Tornabuoni La Petite Suite
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Via Rondinelli 1, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #295 of 520 Florence B&B and Inns
Venice, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent location, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The B&B, or more precisely, the bed alone, given there is no breakfast included, is located in the very centre of Florence, at the end of via Tornabuoni. Mind that locating the suite is not as easy, since it is just a name on the ring-bell at first entrance door at the beginning of via Rondinelli (on the left, if you come from via Tornabuoni). It is located on the fourth floor and it is not suited for elderly or people with disabilities or families with prams or similar devilish kids devices. The rooms are extra spacious and full of light, mine was the presidential suit which was about 80 m^2, and can easily fit 3 extra beds on top of the double bed.
The room interior is wonderful, with minor glitches in the bathroom, since I'd rather see a standard bathroom than a little bit rundown jacuzzi.
Mind that it might be the case that you don't meet the owner and do everyhting by phone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
4
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A few blocks from Duomo square, you can walk to pretty much all attractions in florence from this place. Everything you need is around this area - bakeries, restaurants, coin-op laundries, shops, buses, etc. The only minor issues was the 4 floor staircase we had to climb to get to the apartment, but if you have no issues with it than this is an excellent option. There were a total of 4 rooms for rent at this place, we stayed at one of the largest rooms, the one closest to the entrance. There was a bathtub and the room was oversized, in fact we probably only needed half of of its size to be comfortable. Air conditioning was good, tv was ok with a few english spoken channels, bed was good, shower good, no breakfast was included but the bakery next door was a good choice and inexpensive. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Florence and booked this room for 4 nights. We enjoyed the large room which was seperated with a half way to make a sitting area, so it was very spacious. It also has a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The location of this room was GREAT! It was about 2 blocks from the Duomo and 2 blocks from the train station allowing us to walk everywhere! You do have to climb a lot of stair to get to the room, but we expected this and packed accordingly. The major downside was check-in. I was emailed a couple of days prior to arrival asking for a check in time. But we were traveling at a leisure pace, so I really did not know the time we would arrive and gave them a few hours window. Upon arrival, we were unable to get into the building and of course, it started raining. I was able to use the payphone across the street to get in touch the the owner and was eventually able to get in. However, our phone didn't work, we didn't know the internet code, and the TV didn't work. We didn't care about the TV because we did not travel to Florence to watch TV. But we did want to get online and contact the owner again. So my husband had to go out in the rain and use the payphone again. I made some suggestions to the owner when I finally saw her on the day before we left, like leave contact information and the internet code in the room, etc. She took care of it by the day we left- apparently she had just bought the property so she was learning. With all that said, my husband and I agree that we would stay here again. It was clean and spacious and you can't beat the location. But now we know how to handle the arrival situation better. When they email you about check-in, just ask for the code to get in!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

My husband & I stayed at Tornabuoni La Petite Suite for 2 nights. The suite was located at the top of 100 stairs with no elevator, so it was difficult to carry luggage up & down. We were warned about the check-in, but didn't realize the lady was just there to check us in, leave worn out towels, and run our credit card. We never saw any staff member again.

On the positive side, it was nice to have our own suite located on one of the best shopping streets in the center of Florence.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

The woman emailed a few days in advance of our arrival asking what time we were going to check in, so we gave her a one hour window. When we left Rome for Florence there were 2 trains leaving at the exact same time, and we accidentally got on the one that took 4 hours rather than 1 1/2, so we obviously arrived late. When we got to the hotel there was no one there. I didn't want to use my cell phone because it's outrageously expensive, but I had no other choice because it was the only way to get someone there. They said they would be there in 15 minutes, but we had to wait for half an hour. When the woman showed up she chewed us not for not being there to check in when we said we would, and she was very upset that she had waited for 2 hours earlier in the day. I tried to explain that we caught the wrong train, but she was so rude she wouldn't even listen. This was extremely disappointing because who knows exactly what time they're going to arrive at a hotel, especially in a different country. Things happen!

We hauled our luggage up 100 steps (yes, we counted), and she showed us to our room. It wasn't the nice room advertised online, even though there was no one else staying there, so I don't know what you have to do to get that room (I guess you have to show up on time). There were no towels and we had to dry off with ratty old robes. The safe didn't work. There was a lot of outside noise in the morning.

Overall, not a good experience. If I wouldn't have had a cell phone I don't think we ever would've gotten checked in!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Definition: A Suite in a hotel or other public accommodation denotes a class of luxury accommodations. Suites offer multiple rooms, with more space and furniture than a standard hotel room. In addition to one or more beds, a suite will include a living or sitting room, usually with a couch that converts into a bed.
The “La Petite Suites” and amenities did not come close to how they were advertised and the owner does not provide the basics of hospitality. The two suites are furnished with the very basics – a chair, loveseat, small table and bedside tables in the larger suite. The smaller of our 2 “suites” had a double bed, chair and a tiny desk. This “suite” had one small window and about 90 square feet of space. We were not advised of the differences in the “suites” and we paid the same rate for both.

Problems: Shower-in the small “suite” has an electric glitch that trips the breaker and all electric power is lost in “suite.” There was not a tub. It took 2 days for an “assistant” to come and repair the shower and restore power in the “Suite”. The shower temperature was raised to the maximum by the “assistant” and was near scalding and could not be changed.

Service: The orientation to the property was brief and insufficient. The first 3 days there was no trash removal and the linen and towels were never refreshed.

Amenities:
The advertised Computer is broken.
The advertised Safes do not work.
Toilet in one “suite” is almost impossible to flush.
Breakfast is not available at the Café on Sunday.
NOISE from other “suites” is extremely loud.

Reality:

The “Suites” are advertised as 3rd floor units. The reality is that the “Suites” are located on the 5th floor, up 96 steps, which equals 7 flights of stairs.

In reality, none of us wanted to spend our holiday trying to reach the secretary, the assistant or waiting for the owner to call. The owner never did call. We have been traveling to Italy for 20 years and have never had an experience like this.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madaba
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Luxury at good price in front of Duomo,in Tornabuoni street!In the most famous street in Florence!
Painting on the top, jacuzzi, really big bedroom and internet, calls and frigobar icluded.
price was great!
You are free to do everything you want,like at home!GREAT STAY!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tornabuoni La Petite Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tornabuoni La Petite Suite

Address: Via Rondinelli 1, 50125 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tornabuoni La Petite Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tornabuoni La Petite Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tornabuoni La Petite Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.