We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo
Via Giovanni Fabbroni 78, 50120 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Our stay couldn't have been more pleasant. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was very convenient to the main attractions for tourists by a short bus ride and it was nice to come back to a more residential neighborhood after a day surrounded by crowds. Free WiFi, great breakfast, lovely room, and expert advise on how to take advantage of the city made this a real winner at a great price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Proprietario at Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Ciaooooo! What to say?? Your review is wonderful.
Thanks so much! We are truly moved by your beautiful words.
We can't but hope to see you again!

Baci from B&B Leopoldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    72
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
141
21
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at this B&B very much. It was easy to get to from Santa Maria Novella train station and the vibe of the place was great. The managers were incredibly friendly, full of useful advice and welcomed me with a freshly brewed coffee! I never felt confined in a single room at Leopoldo - there were some pleasant public areas where one could relax and the breakfast was generous and varied. It was also a nice change to be able to use their kitchen now and then for making a small snack.

Florence was very hot while I was staying at Leopoldo and it was nice to have a comforatble, cool and clean room to return to, to relax at the end of a hot tiring day sight seeing.

I recommend it to anyone seeking a very affordable and pleasant stay in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Proprietario at Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Hello!
You were so kind to write this wonderful review.
Our B&B is curated down to the most minimal of details, everything in order to make your holiday perfect and ideal.
We love to leave our guests with a beautiful memory of Florence. It's so nice to hear that we were able to do so with you.

Until next time, warm greetings
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Charia owns this B&B and makes sure that you have everything you need - travel assistance, making reservations, etc.. There's a full size community kitchen and washing machine, excellent common area with upscale Italian coffee machine (nice!), books, local travel brochures, etc.. The rooms are air conditioned (a must in Italy). There is Wi-Fi in all rooms and Chiara has a printer if you need it.

Our room was spacious and had a giant bed (by euro-standards). Breakfast was normal B&B fare - yogurt, cereal, drinks, breads, rolls, etc.. We kept our 1.5L water bottles in the community fridge, and did a load of clothes with outside line drying. I had forgotten how good clothes smell when air dried outside!

The bus stops just one block away, and takes to you old Florence in about 10 minutes. Easy. Just be sure to buy a ticket - the local transportation police are relentless with tourists and will fine you 100 euros if you don't have a ticket (we heard this from another guest at the B&B).

Any downside? It's on the 3rd floor, and there's no lift, so you'll need to carry your luggage up the stairs. If you have a car, you'll need to pay $15/day for parking. For the price, I give this B&B five stars. I can't imagine a better value, and better personal service, in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danilo1, Proprietario at Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Hi Albert, and thank you so much for taking a few minutes of your time.
Your review is wonderful and we are truly honored.
When you want to return to Florence, do not forget that here you have a house with a large family waiting for you.

See you soon!

Chiara and the staff of B&B Leopoldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

I like this place so much (especially service :P). Even though b&b is not located in the city center it's still worth staying in. In vicinity there is a bus stop with lines such as 28 or 2 which run directly to the main station S.M.N, and city centre as well. The rooms are spacious, clean,modern, each created in different style. There is WI-FI, tv set, play station, books, guides... .
There is mediterranean brakfast included , coffee and the broad choice of tea whenever u want. You can feel in this place like at home. Chiara, Fabbio and 2 Danilos are very kind and helpful, answer all your, even the stupiest questions.
Recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

I'd been meaning to write a review for B&B Leopoldo for a long while but just been plain lazy! Florence was our first stop in Italy and I have to say, this was a good start!

The location was easy, with the bus stop being a comfortable 5 min walk. Danilo advised us to pick up the day pass for buses and it was pretty reasonable. The location was quiet and just the comfortable distance from the town center to avoid the humdrum. Since we we picked up a car on our last day to around in Italy after three days in Florence, Leopoldo was a great option for cheap(er) parking.

We paid 78 euro per night for a double room with private bath. The room was large, cozy and very well-appointed. I'm horribly fussy when it comes to clean bathrooms, but this one gave no reason for complaint.

Breakfast was decent with lots of choices for cereal, fruits, yogurt and lovely espresso, but missed freshly cooked eggs.

There was a computer with internet connection in the living area but we didn't end up using it as the wi-fi was good enough. The kitchen was clean and well-stocked, a good option if you want a break from restaurant food.

Danilo was the perfect host, charting out an itinerary for us, recommending nearby restaurants as well as allowing us to use the washer/dryer at the B&B instead of us waiting around at the Laundromat. A good host can make a huge difference to your trip. I would definitely stay at Leopoldo again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Had great service from the staff who were informative and very helpful. The rooms and communal areas were clean. Security was good. Good place for those who do not want be in the center of the city with a low budget. About 25 minute comfortable walk to city center.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Very close to bus stop, convenient to get into the heart of city. There are good restaurant choices nearby. There is a very nice children's park nearby with a carousal, which was great. I travelled with 3.5 year old kid, and use of their kitchen was a great plus.
The B&B rooms are very spacious and the owners are very helpful and friendly. At the time they were experiencing some challenges with their housekeeping and the room was not being cleaned properly. When we informed them, they fixed the problem. Breakfast choices are not great, but that seems to be the norm - coffee was excellent. Danillo is an amazing host and shared several tips to make our Florence visit better. They also helped us with ticket bookings readily. We stayed for 6 nights. The B&B is close to the other station - Rifredi - making it very convenient to take trains into Lucca, Pisa, Siena, and San Gimignano.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo

Address: Via Giovanni Fabbroni 78, 50120 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Leopoldo offers 6 individually designed rooms, each with a TV and free Wi-Fi. It is located in a tipical Florentine building outside Florence's restricted-traffic area. The B&B is just off Piazza Leopoldo Pietro, in a quiet area full of traditional restaurants and pizzerias. Santa Maria Novella Train Station and the Fortezza Da Basso exhibition center are a 10-minute walk away. Breakfast at the Leopoldo is a large buffet of pre-packaged items, fresh fruit and cornetti. Guests have full use of the shared kitchen during the day. Parking is available at convenient rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Leopoldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.