We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned for our 4th Time, the best place in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Casanuova

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Casanuova to your Saves list
Residenza Casanuova
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via della Mattonaia 21, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 521 Florence B&B and Inns
Burnley Lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Returned for our 4th Time, the best place in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We have stayed in this beautiful bed and breakfast in Florence on three previous occasions and I have no doubt that we will continue to return. This time we went with 6 friends and they loved it.

We highly recommend the Residenza Casanuova. It is a large spacious, bright, airy renovated 19th century mansion. The location is perfect quite yet just a 10-minute walk from the centre (Duomo). Our room was the ombrelli room; so nicely decorated and, immaculate. The mini bar is complimentary and very well stocked.

The service provided by Beatrice and Max (brother and sister) is fantastic nothing is too much trouble they are the perfect hosts. They provide advice on what to see, they will book you tickets if required, but most importantly, they give advice on where to eat. This time Beatrice and Max provided us with We have stayed in this beautiful bed and breakfast in Florence on two occasions and I have no doubt that we will continue to return.

We highly recommend the Residenza Casanuova. It is a large spacious, bright, airy renovated 19th century mansion. The location is brilliant very quite yet just a 10-minute walk from the centre (Duomo). Our room was the ombrelli room; so nicely decorated and, immaculate. The mini bar is complimentary and very well stocked.

The service provided by Beatrice and Max (brother and sister) is fantastic nothing is too much trouble they are the perfect hosts. They provide advice on what to see, they will book you tickets if required, but most importantly, they give advice on where to eat. This time we were provide (at a small charge) with Aperitif and prosecco as we arrived and extreemly welcome extra after our journey. In the middle of the week we had cheese and wine tasting with Beatrice at the bed and breakfast , this was exceptional we really enjoyed it (Thanks you so much)


If you read this Bea and Max thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us yet again. We will return........................................

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool but I could not deleted the star. There is a fantastic little balcony wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casanuova, Owner at Residenza Casanuova, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Grazie!!! Hope to see you again with friends...or not!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
34
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Residenza Casanuova is 100% authentic Florentine. Max and Bea are delightful hosts. They are rightfully proud of their city and they made an extra effort to help my wife and me appreciate Florence's unique beauty, history, cuisine, and lifestyle. In addition to making reservations and providing a great deal of advice, Bea located a very knowledgeable art historian to be our museum guide and arranged a shopping tour of stores we would have missed entirely, which turned out to be surprisingly fun. The converted family apartment is a tasteful success, and the location is perfect, an easy walk to the city center, but on a quiet street away from the crowds. All in all, Residenza Casanuova gets our enthusiastic "Yes" for a visit to Florence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My friend and I are from NewZealand. We had a wonderful stay at Residepza Casanuova. Max and Bea were very helpful and made us very welcome. The room was spacious and very clean. The furnishings are absolutely beautiful. Great walk into the centre. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, CA, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The B&B that we had a reservation at had a plumbing problem and they put us up at Casanuova where we stayed for 2 nights.. We were very pleasantly surprised. Max and Bea (brother & sister) bent over backwards in making our stay enjoyable. The place is very secure (needs 4 keys to get in!) and extremely well maintained (family owned business). Their grandmother originally owned the building. There are 5 rooms each with its own theme (we stayed in the Umbrella Room). Wi-Fi and a stocked frig were included in the price. Our room had a bathtub outfitted with a jacuzzi, towel warmer and room controlled air/heat. They made recommendations for restaurants and even made a reservation for us. Our train was in the evening of the day we left and they let us store our luggage in our room and even made a taxi reservation to pick us up in front of the building to take us to the train station. Both Bea and Max were charming & friendly and made us feel very welcomed.
The only downside was that, the location is not very close to the station (about 20-25 min walking). The Duomo is about 15 min walking. Uffizi about 25 min; the Academia about 10 min walking. Of course the breakfast could be better; but it is acceptable for the price point. The facility has a couple of common areas including a terrace which overlooks peaceful interior gardens. The facility is located on the 3rd level but they have a lift/elevator!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I agree with many other reviewers regarding the location and the cleanliness of the rooms etc.

I had the single room which was very comfortable and a good size with a lovely bathroom and good quality towels, soap and shower gel etc. The window opens on to the terrace and the room catches the afternoon sun. Beware of the entry of mosquitos which are difficult to deal with given the height of the room. I got bitten! You need a plugin insecticide gadget.

Getting there by bus from the railway station is trickier than may appear. You need to turn left when coming onto the main concourse from the train and exit the station on to the main road from which buses come and go and turn sharp left again. Proceed left and find the 14 and 23 bus stop. The buses arrive from the left but when exiting the station turn back and go in the direction you expect towards San Marco Square and on to where you want to go. When I was there the list of bus stops on dispay at the bus stop did not match the list I had downloaded and printed from the ATAF website!

I too was disaapointed with the breakfasts. The coffee was the best item followed by the preserves. The juice was cheap, nasty and acidic. The bread was not fresh, the pastry was from a package and was dry, the milk was UHT ( fresh milk is readily available in Florence), the fruit salad was out of a tin and reminiscent of my childhood in the 1950s, the fresh fruit was old and included a wizened apple. There was cheese and some kind of cold meat each day. The fruit bowl appeared chopped up as fruit salad on the third morning browning rapidly around the edges. Basically a lazy effort and this is strange given the great care taken over the rooms etc. It would be better to head out and get coffee and pastry elsewhere.

There are a few places to eat nearby but the area is not that salubrious at night - better to eat elsewhere and then return to base.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My mother (83 yrs young) and I just returned from a week in Italy. We stayed at residenza casanuova while in Florence and it was perfect for us. Beatrice was welcoming and accommodating and the rooms are spotless. The location makes it easy to walk to all the main sights and museums but is quiet in the evenings. There is an elevator available so my mother did not have to climb stairs to reach the residenza.

My husband and I stayed at the Residenza last year and have decided that this is where we will stay on all our trips to Florence.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

If you want a good hotel standard, with a personal touch, this is the place for you. About 10 minutes walk from the Duomo through interesting streets and squares, this hotel is situated in a quiet residential area.
Beatrice and Max, the owners, were very attentive and helpful. The rooms are light and airy and stocked with complimentary tea, coffee, soft drinks and beers, very welcome after a day sight seeing! There is a terrace overlooking the area which is a perfect location for winding down. The hotel itself is full of family history and artifacts stretching over several generations.
Try it, we are telling our friends and family about it
Elaine and Bob Rich and Vera Johnson

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Casanuova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Casanuova

Address: Via della Mattonaia 21, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Casanuova 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's actually our guests' opinion that highlighted our best. Residenza Casanuova... Like at home! Our property is the real bed and breakfast, the house originally belonged to our family, it is the place where since 2005 we offer accommodation and breakfast for our guests. We love to share with travellers our home and all the useful information or secret corners of our city, so that our guests can really live Florence like a Florentine. Elegance and care With the restoration of the apartment we maintained the original size of the rooms and the beautiful forniture and details that characterize them, thanks to our family's heritage: the room with the umbrellas, the one with the hats, the mirror from Murano, the old boxes... Our guests, when the weather permits, gladly enjoy our terrace for relaxing at sunset, maybe with a glass of good Tuscan wine. Delicious and rich home made breakfast We personally prepare and serve it in the dining room of our home, until late in the morning, allowing customers the choice and variety of typical local food. When requested, we purchase the right items for those with food allergies or intolerances. Free services Our guests greatly appreciate to find for free some amenities as the drinks in the room's fridge, cappuccino and tea facilities with a kettle, Wifi internet throughout the guesthouse with no charge. We also provide upon request, for museums', excursions or other activities booking, before our guests arrive in town. Ancient building... Modern comforts The palace where we are, dated 1871, is one of the few, in the center of Florence, having the elevator. The entire house is equipped with air conditioning, wifi internet connection, each bedroom with private bath and all the needed amenities. Centrally located but you can drive to our guesthoue! Our location is in the center of Florence, near the Sant'Ambrogio fresh food market, 10 min. From the Santa Croce basilica, close to restaurants, shops, entertainment venues, all really within walking distance, but we're still reachable by car because at the border with the restricted traffic zone. The neighborhood offers several parking areas at approx. €20,00 Per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Residenza Casanuova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Casanuova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.