We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC hotel within walking distance of train station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aldobrandini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Aldobrandini to your Saves list
Hotel Aldobrandini
Piazza Madonna Aldobrandini 8, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC hotel within walking distance of train station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel for the price. It is located about 10 minutes from the main train station; the walk involves going down a few side roads but after you do it once you won't have any problems.

The manager during the day was fantastic as well. Great sense of humour and full of knowledge. He went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

The only minor issues were that when we were there, the hallway had a slight smell of smoke about it, and our shower door wouldn't close. But for the price, we couldn't complain!

It has a great rustic, castle feel to it as well. When you get there, there are large wooden doors. You press the buzzer on the wall and they open automatically, with an eerie creak (but this adds to the atmosphere). Then another set of gates open and you follow the stairs up a few plights to the reception. Keep going until you see a big reception sign.

LOCATION TIP: I forget the name of the square this hotel is located in but make sure you look it up before you go. When you get to the square, there are no obvious signs which tell you which building the hotel is. But look for all the bikes parked, and big wooden doors. To the right of the doors is a golden sign with the hotel name written is letters distinguishable when you get closer. Press the doorbell and follow the stairs up and up, until you see the reception sign.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    58
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
6
63
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Old but clean. The owner is very helpful. This hotel is the best value for the money. Rates are very competitive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We found the hotel hard to find, but once we knew where it was we thought the location was great. A larger and more obvious sign would help a lot. Based on the location, price (for lodging in Florence) and how helpful the manager was I consider this place a great value. I recommend it for the bargain hunter.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Everything that I like in hotel! Very very warm and helpful staff! Prices are good, location couldn't be better and the building the hotel is in is amazing!
Not much to say except that I would go back there if I'm any time back in Florence!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This isn't a bad hotel, but we did encounter a few issues with our overnight stay. It's easy enough to find, directly across from the Medici Chapel. Large, imposing wooden doors shield its stone interior; the doors creak open, quite creepily, as you buzz to get in. You have to climb a few flights of stairs in the dimly lit building to get to the lobby (there's a well-concealed elevator but we didn't try it). Aldo himself greets you at the front desk. He's friendly and bursting with conversation - which is welcoming, but maybe overwhelming for two college-aged girls who had been searching for an open room for more than an hour after a previous reservation fell through.

He said, for the night, we would be charged 65 euros (standard double room). Sure, fine. I bring down the money and go back upstairs. My friend tells me she can't get the air conditioner to turn on so I head back downstairs to ask Aldo for help. Before I can speak, he interjects - saying I handed him 55 euros and not 65 euros. Impossible - my friend and I had each counted our money. We had a specific amount left in our wallets after paying for the room. But no, according to Aldo, we were 10 euro short (I guess from the moment I turned my back to the front desk). Cool. We give him another 10 euro (now we've possibly paid 75 for the night) and try to ignore the fact that we may have just got played - because we're American? Naive? Women? Who knows. It happened. We were too taken aback to argue. It was uncomfortable. Be careful when paying - for your own good, count the money in front of Aldo (or pay by card... although I'd avoid that in this situation).

Beds were hard, room was small - European standard. Bathroom was tight with a shower not separated from the toilet area (we didn't use the shower, wasn't worth the flood). It's in a good location, close to the Duomo and market stands. Breakfast in the morning was decent - a brioche, butter, nutella spread, orange juice/coffee.

Bottom line: Try and find somewhere else to go before this hotel. Aldobrandini is a passable last resort, but nonetheless a last resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swellendam, South Africa
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed in this Hotel for 3 nights and the position is fantastic. Our shower, however, was black with dirt and our bathroom was not cleaned every day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Yes, it's a historic building, but once inside the hotel, there's no sense of it. One of the owners was friendly (the woman was not). I had a single room with shower/toilet. The shower did not drain well, but at least there was a tiny shower stall. The bed was not comfortable -- similar to the roll-away beds used for extra guests, etc. Breakfast was included but poor -- a croissant or two, coffee from a machine, and orange-colored sugar water. It was one of the lowest rates I was able to find, so no regrets about trying the place once

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aldobrandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldobrandini

Address: Piazza Madonna Aldobrandini 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Aldobrandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldobrandini Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aldobrandini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.