We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aldobrandini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aldobrandini to your Saves list
Hotel Aldobrandini
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Madonna Aldobrandini 8, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Great place for the value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My friend and I had a great stay in this hotel. The staff was working really hard to make us feel like home and have a pleasant stay.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    65
    41
    13
    6
See reviews for
7
71
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Hotel was really nice, near to everything in a walking distance, really close to the train station and different museums.

The room was clean and nice, the bathroon too, but the shower curtain was a little bit dirty and sticky.

The day and night staff was very, very helpful and friendly

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

i paid 45euros for one night at this hotel. The location is fantastic and the price is amazing for the center of Florence. When i booked it (through,i think, booking.com) it mentioned that there were showers in every room. So i assumed there were in suite toilets. It's not their fault i made the assumption, which is good, because it was indeed wrong. You can see in the photo here that there is a bidet in the shower (a bit redundant, no?) but no toilet. i was in the first room around the corner from reception, the toilet was down at the end of the hall. But, ok, whatever, i was just looking for a cheap, private room for one night and this fit that bill (that's why i give it 4stars, based entirely on the price and location).

There was one problem that i observed though: the room keys were not kept behind the reception desk, but hanging from the wall. The hotel asks that you leave your room key there when you go out (which is standard in Europe) but then they just leave the keys out there in the lobby. Often when i would come and go, there was nobody at reception or anywhere in the lobby. The front door opens automatically when you ring the bell, so you could get in, pick up whichever key you wanted, go into that room, do whatever you needed, all unnoticed!! Now, security in Italian hotels is always shady at best and often lousy, but this seemed to be a new level of laxness. In the photo here you can see the keys hanging on the rack on the wall and that is the front door open in the background. Most likely if you stay in this hotel there will be no problems with security, but it will be due to no action on the part of the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creinert
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Aldo Brandini for 3 nights while we were in Florence the first week of October. I agree with a lot of the reviews that said the owner was very nice, the sister i think is not grumpy so much as she doesn't know English but we tried a little to speak with her and she was always polite and DID smile for us :) The breakfast got bad reviews b/c it was 'rolls and coffee'. That is typically what my husband and i eat so it was perfect for us. A tip would be at breakfast to order a 'cafe latte' or 'cappuccino' instead of plain coffee, it's so much better. The location of the hotel was perfect for us, right in the center of everything we wanted to see. Our room was VERY basic, bed, pillows, closet, desk and chair, and our bathroom was in our room, a request we made thru our travel agent. There is no elevator, but we were on what i would call the 'third floor' we didn't have to carry our luggage up the winding staircase, but we did have to carry it up the short flights of stairs to the hotel. The room was clean, but the beds were not ideal. My husband has a bad back and had we known how the beds were we most likely would have stayed at a different hotel. The 'double' beds were also just two twins pushed together (a common occurrence in europe we are told). Until about 10 at night we could hear distant noise outside and definitely the church bells but we looked at that as a temporary thing :) The only reason i would not reccommend this hotel is because of the beds, everything else we were satisifed with. We realize we are not in the U.S. so things are not going to be the same. If you look at it with the attitude of "When in Florence" you will be fine :)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed 3 nights at Aldobrandini and loved it, never had any problems mentioned in previous reviews. The entrance was very grand, huge wooden doors and a lovely hallway with ornate stone steps, there is a lift up to the 2nd floor, then just walk down a couple of steps. Ignazio was warm and friendly and very helpful. Ideal position next to the Medici Chapel, 5 mins from Duomo and 5 minutes from SMN station

My room was spacious, clean and bright, everywhere painted white with white furniture and very clean looking, comfortable bed and spotless white sheets and pastel bedcovers. It could be very noisy on the street as the market sets up very early, I brought earplugs so slept OK and the hotel has double glazing. The bathroom was clean and pretty spacious, yes it was a wetroom and it did flood out and wet the toilet seat, but that is the norm in Italy ( just make sure you move the toilet paper ! )

Breakfast room was nice and clean, all white and pastels too, just juice, bread and croissants with jam, but perfectly adequate, the cappucini were excellent and no problem helping yourself to more. All in all excellent, and great value for the central location, I paid 50 euros a night in late september, high season in Italian cities.

One fault that may affect others, but I had no problem with at all some of the staff smoke in the hotel areas, but this is Italy ! ... did not bother me as I also smoke, but others may find it an issue.

Sadly I had to leave Aldobrandini after 3 nights as I had extended my travel plans and they were full, and then check in another hotel for 10 minutes for 2 nights, which was a complete contrast from Aldobrandini, dark, dingy and dirty

Would certainly stay again and highly recommend to friends and other Trip Advisor travellers, in fact its a hidden gem, so may not broadcast it too much !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I knew when booking this hotel that it was a 1 star. I had picked it for the location mostly. Drab does not describe it. A fresh coat of paint and a couple of pictures on the wall would do wonders for the place. The owner is a wonderful guy. He could have not been any friendlier. When talking with hime, he said that his booking are down because he is not in the Rick Steves book any more. A little fresh paint would do wonders for the place. Since we were only staying in Florence for 2 nights it ended up being ok, but could not wait to move to a better spot.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Hotel Aldobrandini is about 10 minutes walk from the Firenze Saint Maria Novella central station. Ignacio, the owner is very helpful, friendly and speaks great English. The Duomo is within sight of this Hotel, so walking around the streets is very easy and you can always find your way back by sighting the Duomo. My room was very basic, but I paid 40 Euro/night. It had it's own shower and basin in the room which was great! I didn't have to share with anyone else! The toilet is a shared toilet, however it is immaculately clean- ALWAYS! Breakfast was great - bread rolls, jam and butter, croissants, coffee and juice! So much food, but good for a long day of sightseeing. The night person on duty was also a great help as I had to check out at 5am and then find the airport bus. He directed me with a map in hand to the bus stop, which also was near the Firenze SMN station. If you are a light sleeper, you need earplugs as you can hear others walking up and down the hallway. But overall, a great, central place to stay with lots of eateries and sights nearby!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aldobrandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldobrandini

Address: Piazza Madonna Aldobrandini 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aldobrandini 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Budget Places so you can book your Hotel Aldobrandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldobrandini Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aldobrandini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.