We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy

Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy
Via Sassetti 1 | Second Floor, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 055 2645033
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$23*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Acclaimed since 1996 for our great guides and tours, we offer the original, small-group Best of Tuscany tour, as well as wonderful guided tours of Florence, Venice, Rome and the Cinque Terre. Our tours are high-quality, entertaining, informative and fun! We love sharing Italy on a more personal level and with our small group sizes, we refuse to make you feel like a tourist. Our highly-qualified guides are passionate, have a sense of humour and enjoy bringing history to life. They include historians, aristocrats, wine makers, art sleuths, well-known journalists, guide writers, as well as talented artists and authors. What’s more, we are an ASTA approved, fully-licensed tour operator. We promise we are anything but ordinary, and we guarantee we are the Original & Best.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great day in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed two very good tours while spending a day in Florence in July. Our first tour was a 3 hour walking tour around the streets of Florence. We saw many wondeful sights and churches and it also included a visit to the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore without having to queue. Our guide was Brenda who was just charming. She was a local who was very knowledgeable about her city which she obviously loves. We enjoyed walking the streets and learning so much about this very interesting city. Later in the afternoon we did a second tour this time to the Accademia Gallery to visit the Statue of David. On arrival we were delighted to be put in Brenda's group. Once again it was a great tour we walked the short distance to the gallery and on the way Brenda talked about Michael Angelo and his works. The Statue of David was amazing and when the tour ended we were free to stay in the Gallery for as long as we wanted.
A big thank you to Brenda for making our day so memorable and also for introducing us to Grom gelati.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,170
    106
    25
    12
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth every cent we spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We did the 3 tours in one day - the walking tour of old Florence, the Uffizi and the Academia. It was a full day but perfectly manageable, particularly as our hotel (Davanzati) was right next door to Artviva so we were able to freshen up and revive between each of the tours. Brenda took us on the walking tour - as a local, her commentary was fresh and enthusiastic. Angelo took us around the Uffizi and then again for the Academia tour and we just fell in love with him!! His commentary was highly specialised, intelligent and insightful and it was refreshing to be treated like an intellectual rather than feel as though our guide is just mechanically parroting a learnt script. We can't recommend Artviva in general and Angelo in particular. Spending our first day in Florence doing these three tours was money and time well spent and certainly enriched the rest of our stay.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We took the Uffizi and Accademia tours both in one afternoon. Given our short time in Florence, this was the way to see a lot by skipping long ticket lines and learning a lot about local history. The guides were particularly interesting, passionate, and caring for the members of the group. I cannot recommend ArtViva more highly, and I hope to return to Italy to take more of their tours.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Florence in a glorious but exhausting day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had 2 superb guides Hilda and Klaus. Such a depth of knowledge and boundless enthusiasm for their subjects. Came away with a great insight into the history the artists, the buildings. Did the walking tour, the Uffizi and the galleria. Got lost in between the Uffizi and the galleria (no sense of direction), one of the office staff very kindly guided us to catching up. Would recommend splitting the tours up over 2 days. My daughter was exhausted. Just a wonderful experience so glad I chose Art Viva

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“3 walking tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Did the walking tour of Florence, Uffizi gallery and galleria academia with this company. Great tours and well worth the money! Laura took us around Florence in a very informative and interesting way. The Uffizi and galleria tours were led by Brenda and Claus who were very enthusiastic, informative and engaging story tellers. An excellent (and the best) way to see these 2 major sites and their key elements. I will definitely be taking guided tours in future as they save so much time and cover the major things in such a short space of time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.