We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So dissapointed - Not a 5 star resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Olmi Firenze - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Olmi Firenze - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Villa Olmi Firenze - MGallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Crocifisso del Lume, 18, 50126 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Offer
Ranked #45 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So dissapointed - Not a 5 star resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

After a wonderful stay in the centre of Florence we decided to round off our trip in a romantic and relaxing place. We travelled by taxi from Florence, which is not too far only cost €20. First impressions we were taken aback by the lack of upkeep to what is supposed to be a 5 star resort. Plaster and paint is falling off the external walls. All very drab looking. We were shown a number of rooms and had planned to take either a junior suite with private garden or a deluxe room. Both truly disappointed us. The junior garden suite is so small and the garden really untidy looking - grass not cared for. The deluxe room had the smallest bathroom I've ever seen for such a room category. The toilet and bidet were facing each other with only a couple of inches space between them. I was upset at this stage. This was supposed to be the crowning glory of our special trip (last one before arrival of new baby). We ended up taking a classic room which is a duplex. The room is nice with bedroom upstairs and small seating area and bathroom downstairs. It is bright and airy. However what we were not told is that it has a busy country road next to it and we had to listen to traffic speeding by and beeping horns. This we found out after checking in. Not exactly the relaxing location we envisaged. I was so upset about it all that we decided to walk to the next hotel to ask for a room. We walked to Mulino di Firenze which on first impressions looks wonderful. The lady at reception couldnt have been friendlier but unfortunately they were booked up. So it was back to Villa Olmi for us. Piece of advice if walking the road be careful its very narrow and they tend to speed.

Anyway back at the Olmi - we made a request for help in activating the change language option on the tv for the movie channels. There is an option you click into and you can choose English
or Italian. We have had the same system in many other hotels. They had this deactivated for some reason. When i called the front desk the lady who answered was extremely rude and wouldnt let me explain what the issue was. I had to ask her to let me finish speaking. Then she
said she would send over her colleague. The same guy who showed us the rooms earlier came
over and hadn't a clue. Said he had never even used the tv before and nobody would request to
change the language on the tv. We told him how dissapointed we were with the service and he just smiled. The front desk didn't even bother to call us back. Not the service you expect from a 5
star resort!!!!

Next we decided to go for dinner. We went into the main building to make a reservation. The
waitress was unfriendly and made us feel we were putting her to too much trouble. Which we probably were as she was working alone most of the night. We got a reservation for 9.30. When we arrived into the restaurant she was at another table and just said to us to choose where to
sit. We have both travelled extensively around the world and have never entered any restaurant where we were not shown to our table. The service was seriously lacking for the entire meal.
The food was mixed. I had a lovely ravioli starter but my partner had a potato fish soup which
was not good at all. The flavour was just ok and the consistency was way too thick. I had thejohn dory for main which was cooked well and he had the sirloin. This again was a big disappointment. On a positive note the breakfast was pretty decent and on a par with the 4 star hotels we have stayed in during this trip.

We were looking for a quiet, romantic, relaxing end to our trip and sadly we have not found it
here. Lying by the pool all you hear is the motorway. The pool area isn't even well maintained. Towels left lying around from people who had gone and the grounds need some maintenance. We should have stayed in our hotel Monna Lisa in Florence (see other review). Villa olmi is ok if you are driving by and want to stop for a night, other than that we say avoid. The staff are
unhelpful, make you feel you are putting them out and the service is the worst we have
experienced anywhere on our extensive travels. For the first time ever we both just want to go
home early. It is a truly dissapointing end to what has otherwise been a fantastic trip.



Definately not a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: None of the rooms we viewed (and we saw a few) really had the wow factor you would expect in a 5 sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo_Carniani, Direttore at Villa Olmi Firenze - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor user,

Our management always takes customer feedback very seriously, but in this case, having identified with certainty your reservation I beg to differ from almost all of its claims.

Some of his statements are very damaging and especially untrue.

Let's go point by point:

- Having identified your reservation allowed myself to re-read its entire history and has been granted the privilege of choosing the room upon his arrival. Your choice fell on a classic room in our farmhouse after viewing almost the whole hotel including Suites and Junior Suites Garden. I beg to differ on junior suite garden as well as being the most requested rooms in the hotel have also absolute grounds were spotless and well supplied.

- Villa Olmi has no defect in the exterior walls that have just been redone. This is a statement that we just can not accept. The swimming pool is immaculated and being taken care.

- I understand the problem to televisions. It 'true that were installed new last week and I apologize if the staff intervened late. I understand problem was fixed.

- Allow me to consider very strange behavior to walk in narrow and small streets to reach the Hotel Il Mulino di Firenze. If you would had asked the front desk they would have replied that the Mulino is our property and we would certainly would have offer a car service or shuttle to go there. I personally manage both hotels.

Curious that the Staff of the Mulino seemed to be perfect (they are trained by me as well as those of Villa Olmi).

I do not want to answer about the restaurants problem you mentioned, where after questioning my staff I received a detailed account of what happened and I am quite sure that nothing was as you described.

Please contact me by phone as well if you want, I'll be happy to discuss with you with peace of mind in reference of all your stay.

Sincerely

Giancarlo Carniani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    93
    36
    5
    3
See reviews for
87
228
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 3 nights at villa olmi, the hotel is set in gorgeous surroundings with beautiful gardens and a very peaceful immaculately kept pool area. Staff were very friendly and polite, we mentioned it was our honeymoon and within 5 mins of being in our room they brought prosecco on ice and strawberries to our room. We had a standard room but were lucky to have one of the two rooms with a terrace overlooking the gardens and pool. Our room was lovely but Looking at pictures of the superior rooms I think we might treat ourselves if we came back!

Breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice, we did eat lunch once at the hotel but would agree with many other reviews that based on this the food was very basic and overpriced, e.g. A chicken salad was literally lettuce, tomato and tiny dices of chicken with no dressing for about 10 euro, would expect more than this from the standard of the hotel. We didn't eat here in the evening as the menu was very pricey (the whole area is expensive but the hotel more so) and we were not expecting much after the lunch. We found a lovely little restaurant about 10 mins walk down the road via tripadvisor which we ate in twice (see review on osteria Brucia tegami). We also found trattoria la gargotta via tripadvisor, but had to get a taxi to this one as its about 2 miles away. La gargotta was excellent (see review) but be warned; taxi there cost us 14 euros and taxi back cost 20 euros, for 2 miles!!

In summary if you don't want to be in the centre of Florence villa olmi is a beautiful relaxing place to stay, we found it lovely to come back after the crowds of Florence to sit by the pool for a couple of hours!

Also see review on Tuscany bike tours which was excellent.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at Villa Olmi in March 2013, we visit Florence every year and normally base ourselves in the centre of the city but always spend a few days visiting other parts of the area. This year we decided to stay outside of the city and found this wonderful hotel in its own little oasis but close to the motorway network and with free parking. We did not want for anything, the staff were excellent from arrival to departure,we found the breakfast really good with plenty of choice both hot and cold, everything you could want and you only had to ask if you needed something more. We had the most amazing junior suite with a huge bathroom with jacuzzi bath well worth paying the extra as this room really had the wow factor, in fact the whole hotel did. We ate in the restaurant and found the food of a high quality, as you would expect in a five star hotel, we also had bar snacks which were excellent and reasonably priced.

The daily shuttle times in to Florence were perfectly adequate for our requirements but I do understand some people might want to stay longer. We did use a taxi one day, very easy to find in Florence, they are located near the duomo. Make sure you ask the driver before you set off for the cost we paid 16 euros very reasonable! It usually costs us 35 euros a day to park the car in Florence. Our whole experience at this hotel was just perfect and I doubt we will ever stay in the centre of Florence again as Villa Olmi has everything we need. I am looking forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: Junior suite in the villa was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We staid at Villa Olmi the last 5 days in April and enjoyed it very much. The service was very good and the staff friendly and helpful in a personal and relaxed way. However, the restaurant was not 100 % up to the place's standards. The menu did not change.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious (superior rooms) absolutely worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent three nights at the Villa Olmi. The room was very nice with beautiful furnishings. The front of the hotel location was a bit noisy a couple of nights, with late arriving guests in a large bus. Most of the time, however, this setting was so welcoming and peaceful, especially after the hustle and bustle of Rome. Strolling the grounds after breakfast was a very nice way to start the day! We did have a car, but used the free shuttle bus to go into downtown Florence. The "south of the Arno" location was perfect for exploring Tuscany and the vineyards. We dined in the hotel restaurant one night, and were the only guests there. The food, wine and service were excellent. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Villa Olmi, one of the few that really deserve five stars.
Very family- friendly and hospitable. Perfect service and perfect cleaning.
During my stay the TV-sets where small and outdated but I was promised new big HDTV screens where to arrive next week. The food at dinnertime is not something to consider really. They don´t have enough guests to keep up a top cuisine. They should focus on antipasti and good wines instead. Breakfast is very nice and meditative with the lovely orchard outside. Big green lawns for kids to play on. A small but nice gym. Plenty of art around the place. The disgusting copies of old masterpieces should be thrown in the bin though. After a full day in Firence, Lucca or Venice, it´s truly nice to return to Villa Olmi and relax. Lenny LePin

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My wife and I spent a whole week at the Villa Olmi and it was well worth it. A five star Hotel on the outskirts of Florence. Easy to reach off of the Highways. Peaceful and Quiet with wonderful views.

Great:
Price
Customer Service
Free Shuttle into Florence
Free Parking
Jacuzzi in Bath tub
Free Water daily
Turndown Service
Nice Bedding

Only item that wasn't Great:
Breakfast did not meet a five star level, more of a three star but it was included and free.
Our room was over the Breakfast area and so we had some noise.

We will surely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Olmi Firenze - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Olmi Firenze - MGallery Collection

Address: Via del Crocifisso del Lume, 18, 50126 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Florence
#28 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#71 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Olmi Firenze - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Priceline, Escapio, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Olmi Firenze - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Olmi Hotel Bagno a Ripoli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Olmi Firenze - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.