We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air Con spolit the stay at the hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection

Save Saved
You added Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Crocifisso del Lume, 18, 50126 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 459 hotels in Florence
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Air Con spolit the stay at the hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

The hotel is set in an ideal location and has ample parking for travellers.

I spent one night of our honeymoon attempting to sleep in the sauna like temperatures of the room as the centrally controlled air conditioner (controlled by the hotels reception) had 2 settings, off or blowing boling hot air. We were advised by reception staff that the majority of Italian hotels centrally control room temps (strange how every other hotel I have visited in Italy allowed me to control my rooms temperature).
Reception were kind enough to offer another room at midnight but the room was as hot and would have only increased the hassle incurred.

Managed to get off to sleep around 4am when the room had cooled down with the windows wide open (onto a well lit courtyard allowing the room to be bathed in strong artificial light).

I have slept in worse places but not many, come back Travelodge all is forgiven!!

I would rate this hotel as average based on the list of pros and cons but I would not consider this on par with a boutique 5* hotel with which this hotel aims to compete.

If only the basic issues were resolved then this hotel could be marvellous.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortfi, Direttore at Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

we are sorry for what happened during your stay at Villa Olmi Resort. Unfortunately, the heat of those days was totally unexpected and unusual for April.
Our ventilation system was still set on the winter season and it does not allow a fast switch to a cooler temperature.
We thank you for your comment that will certainly help us in doing better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    82
    27
    4
    2
See reviews for
68
175
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

The service was beyond superb. The room was beautifully decorated in antiques but had every modern convenience. The food was exceptional. Every detail was attended to with the utmost care. The staff seemed genuinely intent on making our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.
The hotel is about a 20 minute car ride from Florence - depending upon the traffic. Taxis were ordered via an automated system that advised us how long it would be - mostly within 2 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortfi, Direttore at Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor User,

thank you for your review. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay at Villa Olmi and we hope to see you soon back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at Villa Olmi Resort for one night and we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, a pleasant change from the hustle/bustle of the city. The staff were charming and attentive, particularly Alesandro. The decor has a pleasant traditional style whilst managing to retain a simplicity and elegance. it is close to Florence, although pricey in a cab (20 euros), if you don't manage to get the free shuttle (which only runs morning and early evening) or the bus (which we did and which was easy). We stayed for dinner which we both enjoyed and breakfast the next morning was plentiful and relaxed (fruit, pastries, cold meats/fish etc). It was quiet while we were there but it somehow still managed to have a friendly (and not cold) atmosphere. The pool area is also very nice.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortfi, Proprietario at Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Villa Olmi Resort for your stay in Florence and for the comment you left on Tripadvisor. Your words are the confirmation that we are doing a good job in order to render the stay at Villa Olmi as friendly as possible. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I stayed at Villa Olmi with my boyfriend for my 21st birthday in August 2010. The place itself is beautiful and the staff are great. We had rung ahead and there was champage waiting in the room for when we arrived which was lovely!

It is slightly out of the way but they can arrange a taxi to collect you and there is a free shuttle which takes only 10/15 minutes into the centre of Florence several times a day. To be perfectly honest, we had little desire to leave! If you do however head into Florence for the evening, be prepared to pay up to 30 euros for a taxi back as there is no evening shuttle back to the villa.

The pool area is lovely, with towels laid out ready and a phone to order drinks/snacks for the poolside and all the staff are more than happy to help with anything.

Breakfast is also to die for; I would highly recommend including this with your booking and the terrace outside on which it is served is also lovely. Whether you want just coffee and cake, to fruit, to scrambled egg there is something for everyone, not to mention complimentary Prosecco to get the day going!

The highlight for me however has to be the turndown team! How I will live without them I do not know. It was lovely to come in on an evening and find the bed sheets turned down and slippers waitin by the bed...just bliss!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortfi, Proprietario at Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Dear Guest,

thank you for the kind comment you left on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you again at Villa Olmi Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Lovely hotel. Super staff. I was changed to this hotel from Mulino De Firenze (same owners) because Hotwire made a mistake with the age of my son. We ended up getting two rooms and Hotwire has refunded me the extra cost. Grounds were lovely. Rooms very nice, but bathrooms fantastic! Breakfast buffet was one of the best I have had. Wonderful pastry chef. Pool was lovely. The only downside was that the shuttle to Florence was small and only ran in the morning and evening. We were only able to use it once in 4 days as it was usually reserved (they share it with the Mulino). This made the taxis a pretty expensive part of our visit. Also, beds were hard, as in Flinstone hard,but I'm
finding that in Italy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortfi, Proprietario at Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Dear Guest,
thank you for the comment you left on Tripadvisor. We have taken note of your opinions, that surely will help us in improving our services. We hope to welcome you again at Villa Olmi Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We had the most amazing stay at the Villa Olmi Resort. We found the staff extremely professional and helpful. We stayed in the most basic room there & it was absolutely fabulous.
The hotel was extremely good value but I just felt the minerals & water were very over priced at €5.00.
The free shuttle bus was excellent & the lady driving it was so helpful giving directions etc.
I would absolutely love to return there.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortfi, Proprietario at Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing Villa Olmi Resort for your stay in Florence and for the kind comment you left on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate it!
We hope to see you soon back to Villa Olmi Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plasmolen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

My trip was actually a mixture of business and leisure.
Very relaxing hotel, with friendly and helpful personal.
Ideal to stay if you want to visit Florence and other Toscan villages. Especially if you want to avoid hotels in busy city centers We found the free shuttle bus to Florence center very useful. .
Minor remarks
- room was not 100% clean when arriving, however room tidying was excellent thereafter.
- During dinner the garant misjudged we still needed the main course. The dinner was very good though.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resortfi, Proprietario at Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
Dear Guest,
thank you for the comment you left on Tripadvisor. We apologize for the incovenients occured during your stay at Villa Olmi Resort; your opinion will certainly help us in doing better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection

Also Known As:
Villa Olmi Hotel
Villa Olmi Hotel Bagno a Ripoli
Address: Via del Crocifisso del Lume, 18, 50126 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#27 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#45 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Escapio so you can book your Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Olmi Firenze - Mgallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.