We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth four stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borghese Palace Art Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borghese Palace Art Hotel to your Saves list
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ghibellina 174-R, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth four stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed three nights at this hotel, close to the Duomo and other attractions. Room was very small, room for two tiny nightstands, a small desk, one chair and a stool, no room for a suitcase stand. TV took up 1/4 of the desk. The mattresses on the king-size bed were foam, on a leather-covered frame. Air conditioning was inadequate or not permitted to cool lower than 23 C. Street noise was too loud to open the window in the evening. Soap bars were tiny and shampoo was provided in little paper packets, similar to the lower-tier motels in the US. Staff was helpful and professional, breakfast was ample. We requested extra pillows, but they could not be provided until the next day. Wi-Fi was provided gratis, but the system failed for most of the second day. Because of its limitations, I would insist on a substantial discount to stay here again. It is certainly not worth its rack rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandra F, Proprietario at Borghese Palace Art Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear customer,

we are sorry to not answer to your comments,but, after a careful reading of the number and the typology of the comments received in the last 3 months,we decide that the judgments published on this portal are not representative of our job,daily made, and of the service that we offer to over 1000 different clients every month.
And I would you explain how:
Every day we do our best to offer to our clients numerous included and free of charge services:wellness area with jacuzzi, minibar with nonalcoholic drinks, more than 100 channels sky in the language of the client, high speed wifi, but there is no mention of these on the comments of the travellers (just few).
On the opposite: the comments i have answered for a period describe almost exclusively problems,errors, client's discomfort, defects etc etc.
The number of comments left here by the clients (less than 10 every month) represents less than 1% of the number of clients that we serve (more than 1100 every month) from 6 years, therefore not representativeour costumers's real satisfaction , but even the level of our services.
This,as you will understand,makes frustrating not only our daily job but also the reading of comments (sometimes also violent and offensive)considering that errors can happen managing 12.000 clients every yeat and usually we find a solution in the 99% of the cases.
We don't consider, we declare, that these published evaluations are able to represent an objective opinion about the job of our staff and the Hotel's services , but a place where dissatisfied travellers declare problems that the hotel has not able,for our responsability, to resolve ( in Our case just 1% of cases).
Whatever important for us,but still 1%.

Best Regards,
Dott.ssa Alessandra Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    155
    61
    33
    14
See reviews for
74
246
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in Florence for two nights and this hotel was very good.

The staff was friendly and nice. The location was pretty good, though we were a little too close to the Duomo. If we were to do it again, we'd stay somewhere closer to the Piazza della Signoria or the Ponte Vecchio bridge.

Also, one of the hotel employees recommended us to take a bus tour of the city, going as far as Fiesole. While Fiesole had some fantastic views, this was a bad recommendation as there's much more to see in Florence. Instead, take a walking tour of Florence and make sure to visit the two main museums. I'm not a museum fan by any stretch but even I was amazed!

Overall, this was a very good hotel and we'd recommend it to our friends, though we'd recommend hanging out and eating on the other side of the bridge rather than by the Duomo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

a small but classy hotel. The owner works at the front desk. Very polite and helpful staff. The art was amazing. every request granted with a smile and carried out with enthusiasm. position was perfect to walk to all hi-lights.
We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: avoid room 310. air ducting is noisy. we moved rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Don't bother staying here. We visited florence in June and the hotel room has terrible view, it's located in a bad road and the worst is that their ac doesn't work. Even their own staff is sweating.
We paid 250€ for this hotel and the hotel is available at less than 100€ right now for the exact same dates.
We feel like we over Paid for a room that doesn't even have ac

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandra F, Proprietario at Borghese Palace Art Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear customer,

we are sorry to not answer to your comments,but, after a careful reading of the number and the typology of the comments received in the last 3 months,we decide that the judgments published on this portal are not representative of our job,daily made, and of the service that we offer to over 1000 different clients every month.
And I would you explain how:
Every day we do our best to offer to our clients numerous included and free of charge services:wellness area with jacuzzi, minibar with nonalcoholic drinks, more than 100 channels sky in the language of the client, high speed wifi, but there is no mention of these on the comments of the travellers (just few).
On the opposite: the comments i have answered for a period describe almost exclusively problems,errors, client's discomfort, defects etc etc.
The number of comments left here by the clients (less than 10 every month) represents less than 1% of the number of clients that we serve (more than 1100 every month) from 6 years, therefore not representativeour costumers's real satisfaction , but even the level of our services.
This,as you will understand,makes frustrating not only our daily job but also the reading of comments (sometimes also violent and offensive)considering that errors can happen managing 12.000 clients every yeat and usually we find a solution in the 99% of the cases.
We don't consider, we declare, that these published evaluations are able to represent an objective opinion about the job of our staff and the Hotel's services , but a place where dissatisfied travellers declare problems that the hotel has not able,for our responsability, to resolve ( in Our case just 1% of cases).
Whatever important for us,but still 1%.

Best Regards,
Dott.ssa Alessandra Flora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The lady at reception was friendly and helpful (a little more so than her male colleague). Room and bathroom were quite small. Breakfast was good. The only negative thing I would have to say is that it is quite expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The staff was very friendly, especially Max at the front desk. The suite our family stayed in held three beds, which were a bit uncomfortable but that was offset by the overall style of the suite: very luxurious and chic. The breakfast was ample, both in quantity and variety. And we really appreciated the special touch of the cappuccino and hot chocolate. The Borghese Palace Art Hotel is a unique, modern place to stay just a few steps from the Uffizi Palace and the Duomo. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: * the swimming was not average. There was none. Can't figure out this option on TripAdvisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great location! Borghese was about 15 minutes from the S.M.N train station, 5 minutes walk to Basilica of Santa Croce, 10-15 minutes walk to Uffizi museum and Duomo. We really enjoyed staying here and the staff was polite and eager to help. The breakfast was also included and much better than some of the other hotels we stayed in during our Europe trip.
The beds were comfortable as well and room was spacious (comparatively). The bathroom seemed a little cramped but manageable.
Overall, we liked this hotel. Convenient and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borghese Palace Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borghese Palace Art Hotel

Address: Via Ghibellina 174-R, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Florence
#54 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#97 Family Hotel in Florence
#131 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borghese Palace Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borghese Palace Art Hotel offers a free wellness centre, and uniquely decorated rooms blending antique furniture and modern-style décor. Set in a 15th-century building, it is a 5-minute walk from Florence Cathedral.Rooms are uniquely decorated with original works of contemporary art and include an LCD TV with Sky channels. Wired internet is free in the rooms while Wi-Fi is free in public areas. Breakfast includes fresh fruit and croissants.The wellness centre is set in original 13th-century cellars. Relaxation facilities include jacuzzi, a steam bath,a hot tub and a sauna. A fitness room is also available.Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery are 650 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Borghese Palace Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borghese Palace Art Florence
Hotel Borghese Palace Art

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borghese Palace Art Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.