We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and welcoming hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giglio Bianco B&B

Save Saved
You added Giglio Bianco B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Giglio Bianco B&B
Via Romana 28, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 512 Florence B&B and Inns
c
1 review
“Charming and welcoming hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Edo and Chef Vary run this B&B to the highest of standards. I highly recommend the cooking class and the dinner as it was the best meal I had in Italy. The daily breakfast is delectable and served in a room that has a beautiful view into the Boboli Gardens. The location is very convenient for all travelers. The hosts also have the best recommendations for food and especially gelato. I would definitely stay here again if I am fortunate enough to be in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
225
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon.
The house is very nice. The room has everything you could think of to make your stay comfortable. The location is great, right in the heart of florence but in a quiet location. The owners, Vary and Edo are very friendly and very outgoing. They are also always around to give you advice and make sure everything is good.

The special meal cooked by Vary, one of the owners, was outstanding! Each course was better than the next and they also accomodate vegetarians. I would definitely stay there again, next time I would take the cooking class as I am already trying to reproduce the recipes at home :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very charming place. Edo and vary make you feel like you're visiting relatives. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Everything you need for a safe,relaxing and carefree stay. It is located just outside of the city hotspots but it is a very short and interesting walk to just about everywhere in florence. The host Vary and Edo are extremely friendly and knowledgable. The food that Vary cooks will make you want to stay inside and eat all day and nite !!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Giglio Bianco last September for 4 nights, it is really a great B&B with wonderful hosts. Vary & Edo on arrival sit you down in the living room where you are given the low down on Florence & provided with maps, ticketing advice & what to see & how to get there. Giglio Bianco is very central but just outside the tourist area, so its quite but very close to the Boboli Gardens just accross the road, 5 mins to the Pitti Palace & 10 mins to the Ponte Vecchio. Edo provided a mobile phone incase we got lost, but we never used it. The room with ensuite was excellent, very clean & well mantained, it was airconditioned & also a bar fridge is provided in the room. Free WIFI is provided with good signal. Filtered cold spring water is provided daily. The special dinner cooked by Vary was superb, 5 star restaurant quality, as were her daily breakfasts with pastrys, toast etc & you can have eggs cooked anyway you wish. They gave us great help in organising travel to the Ferrari factory & museum as well as organising a rental car for us for our next leg to Siena & Tuscany. Highly recommended & good value.

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this place a while back and have always meant to review because it really is an outstanding B&B. We have recommended to friends and family - and recommend their dinner too! The host & hostess are really knowledgeable and on the night that we didn't have the in-house dinner, their eating out recommendation was spot-on.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was the only B&B we stayed in that the owners lived onsite. They were lovely and very helpful with advise on seeing Florence in the short time we stayed. The room & bathroom were very nice and the quality of the fittings and bed linen very good.
We enjoyed the breakfast and special dinner Vary prepared. She is a wonderful cook and it was a very pleasant evening shared with the other guests. Recommend the accommodation and also the special dinner. Good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife, son and I were recommended to stay at this place from some of our friends. Easy access by taxi from the Ferrovia de Firenze (the train station). Don't take the bus as the drivers don't understand english, and if you don't know which stop to get off on you will be walking a long way!

As we learned, if you can have a bus get you to Pallazzo Pitti (the Pitti Palace), you are within about 7 minutes walking distance of the B&B.

Our hosts were incredible and we felt like part of their family almost as soon as we arrived. We were brought to the lounge/dining room for an orientation, tips for the locale on how not to get cheated buying leather goods. They also set up a reservation at a local restaurant for us the day we arrived that I would recommend, and recommended a couple of places during our stay.

Bottled chilled water and other drinks are provided in a common area fridge that you can keep in your in-room fridge.

The best part was that Edo and Vary make you feel like family almost as soon as you arrive. Vary is a gourmet chef and she makes breakfast to order each morning accommodating individual's food preferences. We also ordered the gourmet dinner on our last night there and were presented with a nice cozy atmosphere and 4 courses of food that you might expect out of a top-tier 5-star restaurant.

They also have a laundry service - a necessity when you are moving from city to city in Italy and living out of your suitcase. Laundry service value was incredible and the convenience was out of this world.

Our room was nice and cozy, clean and well maintained during our visit. We would highly recommend this B&B on all points, and will stay here again. We also understand that Vary and Edo travel to the US in the wintertime and will be more than happy to extend a visit to our home for them when they arrive - Yeah! It was THAT GOOD!!

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms here are good and kept to the same high standards - after all they're in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giglio Bianco B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giglio Bianco B&B

Address: Via Romana 28, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 512 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Foodies? This is the B&B for you!!! If you like enjoy the best food in the city, the customized services we're the right place for you! We're passionate of our job so we dedicate all our energy for make your stay unforgettable! Only 2 rooms in one the most quiet areas in the center of Florence. Our fornitures come from our family so we take a care of every single details. But the main reason for stay at Giglio Bianco is for "revel" in the amazing dishes prepared to your "Personal chef" Chef Vary. Not only traditional food prepared with fresh and organic ingredients but also incredible food for vegetarian, vegans and celiacs. So we wait you !!!!! Vary and Edo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Giglio Bianco B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giglio Bianco Hotel Florence
Giglio Bianco Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giglio Bianco B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.