We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 3 star in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mia Cara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mia Cara to your Saves list
Mia Cara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Faenza 90/R, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice 3 star in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Mia Cara is located in a very convenient location, near the SMN train station. The hotel rates at about a 3 star, only because the rooms are quite basic and the hotel really has no lobby to speak of. The rooms are large and clean, with a bathroom that is adequate in size except for the shower. The shower is a quarter circle one piece drop in unit that can be purchased at any Home Depot for about $200. The water pressure and temperature is great, but there is NO room in the inside of the shower with the doors closed.
When I visit Florence again, I will consider staying at the Mia Cara again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    44
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
44
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We made a booking at Hostel Archi Rossi at the first place but upon check-in, we were transferred to the next door (Hotel Mia Cara) because we were told that this is the place where our room was located. We weren't being informed upfront before our trip although I did email them to confirm my reservation. So the below comments should dedicate to Hotel Mia Cara but not Hostel Archi Rossi as I don't make my stay there to be exact.

We were given a room at the newly renovated floor. Room looked new but it was a holy mess!! The room wasn't clean entirely. Bed linen was so dirty and dust can be found everywhere. There was no curtain at the window. People can see you through the window with no privacy. There is an AC in the room but it was not working. When I asked the reception (a very unfriendly and rude guy), I was told we are not allowed to turn on the air-conditioning at this period. Come on, I booked a room with air-conditioning stated as one of the facilities but things turn out to be totally different after check-in. Room was stuffy during daytime and too cold at night and yet the hotel guests are not allowed to turn the AC/heating on. This sounds ridiculous. We were also being told during check-in that ice cream and coffee are available 24 hours at our own disposal but there was a guy at the reception at night (the very unfriendly and rude guy) warned us not to consume the very awful ice cream. Yes, he warned us! Not even talk properly. Elevator in the hotel and the automatic front door was out of service as well. Wifi cannot be detected in the room. Blanket was torn too. There was a night after we came back from outside, a drunken girl (which didn't look like the hotel guest) loitering around inside the hotel lobby and whispering herself and tried to frightened and confront us when we get into the elevator. As for the hotel staff, another guy that I met in the morning and the lady in the afternoon looked friendly to me.

Conclusion, stay away from this hotel. It didn't worth even for a try.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, look for other alternatives
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is very conveniently located near the Firenze SN Rail Station ( just 3 mins walk). It is an ancient building but with all modern amenties. The Reception staff are very warm and helpful. The rooms are neat and clean and toilets are also clean and spacious. Wifi works well, Only Coffee maker was lacking in the room.
The breakfast spread was large and included icecream too (surprised). Variety of cookies and cakes were on the breakfast table. Coffee machine was an added advantage.
The tarriff is pretty reasonable for this 3 star hotel.
The Duomo church is just 5 mins walk from the hotel. Fancy small tuscany restaurants are surrounding the hotel.
Would surely recommend this Hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for road facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We got a lovely room with a view, what you expect your first time in Firenze, the lift is handy when you have suitcases, but not recommended for daily going in and out. Breakfast was very satisfactory, hot breakfast, eggs, rice, etc. plenty of fruits, cereal, yogurt, bread, all kinds of pastries, natural juices orange/grapefruit, coffee machines, tea bags of all sorts. Mostly of the guests were Japanese and felt at home too. I will definitely return to Mia Cara. In our second visit got a room for four, instead of two, maybe a bit small for a family with 2 kids, but it was perfect for us being 2 adults. The towels are changed on the 2nd day... Something that seems normal in Italy, since it happened in most hotels. So put it up to dry the first day, cos you won't get another one, but the day after.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My hubby and myself stayed here from 23rd and 24th of January 2014. Both of us really loved this place. We were on the second floor room 28. The room is small, but all the furnitures were put at a very smart way. The room to our surprise has a TV and a computer. So the room is very cosy and nice.

We were surprise that a free breakfast is included. It is a western buffet style. We were happy with the food. Another surprise is dinner is also provided next door. So both breakfast and dinner are included. If you would like a free tour guide around Florence, there is one at 10am everyday.

Staff were very friendly , we arrived before the check in time , the staff suggested us to leave our luggage at the hotel, so they can minded for us until we come back.

So far, this is the best hotel we stayed ib Italy. We would definitely come back and stay here again.




Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Hotel Mia Cara belongs to the Archi Rossi Hostel next door for single and double rooms. I stayed there with my adult son, first for 5 nights and ten days later, for another 2 nights, in October 2013. As there weren't any double rooms available for our entire first 5-night stay, apart from dorms (which we didn't want), we were offered and accepted to stay in two different smaller, simple, two-single-bed rooms (for 3 and 2 nights). The first one (3 nights), though small, was organized in an efficient way. Room and bathroom were very clean, beds and pillows a bit hard, amenities scarce and curtain or frosted window in bathroom, soap holders in shower or other mirror than bathroom's inexistent; but television, computer and WiFi in room, located on 3rd floor, with no lift from 2nd to 3rd (which we knew beforehand and accepted). The second room of our first stay that we accepted was also a smaller, simple, two-single-bed room, organized in a rather strange way: the beds were made to hide on the wall or to fold up in a sort of case, and the piece of furniture serving as a desk for the TV set and computer was, I believe, some other sort of convertible bed. Space was taken up by a former kitchenette counter and non-functioning fridge. Large bathroom was private and clean, but across the hallway, with no towel racks, robe hanger or soap holders. Though very clean, beds and pillows were not comfortable. Located in front part of building, room was noisy with street activity, and also on 3rd floor with no lift from 2nd to 3rd.
On second stay (ten days later, for 2 nights), in a double "deluxe" room, we had more space and were more comfortable, though we still found beds and pillows hard. Furniture, equipment, materials seemed of better quality, but space planning was poor (computer and TV desk with fridge too close to foot of bed and in front of mirror hiding half of it whilst one could not step back to view oneself; bathroom door opening right onto the toilet, hair-dryer limiting opening of bathroom window, towel-heater/rack and robe hook too high, small washbasin with no place to put personal toiletries).
Breakfast was buffet-style, varied, with all sorts of sweet and savoury food, types of breads or rolls, biscuits, candy, fruit (cut and whole), but sometimes surprising items like pickles, salad, hot-dog sausages, etc. Different sorts of coffees made-to-order from automatic machine or teas available; juice, milk and water as well. Though nicely set (with original XVIth century frescoes in end-section) and accessible to outside lovely patio-garden, breakfast room (lobby as well) could go without their decorations with artificial flowers, three-colour-italian-flag hats, Chinese chinaware knick-knacks all over the place.
Access can be had to next door Hostel for laundry facility, hot and cold drinking water, use of microwave, purchase of wine, beer, soft drinks, microwaveable food or having inexpensive supper (pasta and pizza) in school-like eating room.
Daytime, evening and nighttime staff were all very professional, kind and helpful.
I believe "Hotel Cara Mia" is the name of the former hotel acquired by the Archi Rossi Hostel, and their three-stars were for the former administration. Nevertheless, my son and I had chosen to go to the Archi Rossi Hostel and we were pleasantly surprised to discover upon arrival that their private rooms were in a separate and more agreeable setting. Though my comments may seem negative to those who are looking for a proper hotel stay, I must say that we were expecting a more basic type of accommodation and that though one segment (2 nights in odd room) was less pleasant, we had agreed to all of this and enjoyed being in this part of the city for easy access to other parts and public transportation.
Would return if I wished to stay again in this type of accommodation, in this part of the city, or if I wanted to stay in a really inexpensive, but clean and welcoming place.
Oh, I forgot to mention: Archi Rossi/Hotel Cara Mia offer two different free walking tours around the city every morning.

Room Tip: Simple, small, one or two single bed rooms turn out to be about same rate as hostel dorm per person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated within easy walking distance of the train station and the centre of Florence. We had a good sized room and appreciated the free wi fi. It was clean, comfortable and had pleasant staff. We also appreciated the free walking tour of Florence that was provided. The guide was very pleasant and knowledgeable and hurried off before we could tip her. How refreshing to find that a tip was not expected. Breakfast was efficiently provided and had a very good range of items on offer. I would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mia Cara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mia Cara

Address: Via Faenza 90/R, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mia Cara 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mia Cara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mia Cara Chianciano Terme
Mia Cara Hotel Chianciano Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mia Cara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.