We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - Helpful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Rossa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luna Rossa
Save
You added Luna Rossa to your Saves list
Largo Alinari 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Jerusalem,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place - Helpful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

The owner of Luna Rossa has 3 places. Be sure to ask for Luna Rossa - they might try to put you up in Hotel Ester but ask specifically for Luna Rossa.
The rooms are big with all the essentials and more - computer in the room, flat TV, bathrooms either in or outside the room are spacious and new and with all the essentials. Large kitchen packed with pots, dishes, etc, a refrig, oven, and stove. They do laundry for free.
The staff was wonderful - the owner and his sister are very helpful and give great advice about what to do in Florence and in Tuscany.
The location is great. There aren't many rooms on the floor so it is quiet.
I strongly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
19
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

clean, and good service provided, with laundry and free wifi and computer. it also comes with free cable tv to keep you entertained in the room!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Don't be put off on your arrival. The reception is in an awful gutted building. We were helped to the location of our actual rooms a few doors down. This area has numerous eateries and is very well positioned for visiting all the tourist attractions. It is less than 5 minutes walk from the station but we did not hear any trains or traffic noise.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

This hotel/hostel is in a good location with really helpful staff. I was booked for 4 nights at Luna Rossa, but after one night was transfered to Hotel Ester across the road (not sure why). My room at Luna Rossa was nicer but it was right off reception so very noisy and no privacy so I was glad to be moved.
Good: Location is right near the central train station, free internet and pay tv in everyroom - sooo helpful, fridge in room, they will wash your clothes for free
Bad: Noisy until at least 10pm most nights and it was the staff/staff friends making the noise, bathrooms are a bit dodgy

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Although stayed in the building next to Luna Rossa, I was satisfied with my stay. This has to be one of the most hi-tech lodging I've been to. Everything was run efficiently and remotely through in-room computer. Free internet and free long distance phone call to certain country - I definitely appreciated this offering.

Let's be honest, this is not a high-end hotel, but room is in general clean and adequately roomy.

Cost of stay was very reasonable.

Location is excellent as it is one and a half block from the SMN station. However, I did have a tough time locating this hotel when I first arrived, partially because I was arriving late and was in rush.

I consider this is a great place to stay if luxury is not what you are seeking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

I traveled through Europe for 2 months and this was the best place of all. Having 24-hour FREE access to the internet in your room (computer provided by the hotel!) and free access to a skype phone was priceless. They also will do your laundry for free! And, best of all, the folks who run the place are wonderful, friendly, helpful, and speak English. And, it's a block from the train station.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

This place is in an excellent location, close to the train station, it is also on a main street in Florence in the City Centre. The room was clean, they had a large widescreen LCD televisions with SKY, they had a modern PC in the room with free internet, with DVD Players too AND they give DVD's for FREE to rent. More importantly the staff are friendly and helpful, and they gave a free map to get around aswell as advice and discounts to a local restaurant, the best restaurant I went to in the whole trip. Take care all of you! Keep up the good work Marco. Good luck Virginie with the Italian language, farewell Rossanna and Aldo. Ciao.

Dan

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Rossa

Address: Largo Alinari 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 221 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Luna Rossa Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.