We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in Florence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Castiglioni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residenza Castiglioni to your Saves list
Residenza Castiglioni
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Via del Giglio 8, 50100 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay in Florence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My siblings and I had the great fortune of staying here during our most recent trip to Florence. My room (#21) was beyond spacious, the bed and pillows were very comfortable, AC worked beautifully, the tea kettle was a nice touch, and the bathroom was nicely appointed. The highlight at breakfast was the house-made yogurt and cappucinos. We appreciated the delightful assistance of Renzo and Cristian, great recommendations for restaurants. The location couldn't have been better, close to San Lorenzo Market, the Duomo, and the train station. There is even a little convenience store right next door, perfect for picking up bottled water and snacks.
If you are a light sleeper, consider bringing earplugs. My siblings related the same experience as Robyn C's, they too must've stayed in the same room.
In all, I would highly recommend Residenza Castiglioni for the value, convenience, level of service, and quality of lodging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    45
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at Residenza Castiglioni twice on a recent trip to Italy. It is very well located, we chose it because it was close to the train station, which is less than a ten minute walk away. We chose to pull our suitcases rather than take a taxi, the walk was not too difficult (we are reasonably fit, but not as young as we used to be!)
Our room was clean and spacious enough to accomodate the three in our party comfortably. Was nice to have tea making facilities too. The breakfast was delicious as was the coffee. We were able to store our suitcases for a few days while we took a side trip to Cinque Terre, and we found them waiting in our new room on our return. Cristian and Renzo took really good care of us! On our return our room was on the Alloro B and B side(but still in the same building), which took a little longer to get to reception and breakfast, but the room was very quiet.
This was also a great location for visiting all the sights of Florence, with markets and restaurants also on the doorstep. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Two of our adult children recommended Residenza Castiglioni as they had stayed there a couple of years ago. We found that, notwithstanding the comments that will follow later, the hotel was a great place to stay as it was extremely clean, central and pleasant and Renzo, Cristian and the housemaid were very good and anxious to please. Breakfast (contintental) was as good as you would get anywhere. The drawbacks - we were accommodated in Room 26 which, while being a most enjoyable, clean and adequately sized room with an ample bathroom, it had three drawbacks, namely, a trap for unwary shins, lack of an overhead light and was noisy early in the morning from (we assume) garbage colections taking place in the area. The trap for unwary shins comes about by the (fantastically antique) bed being raised off the floor leaving the feet of the bed suspended at shin height - when you forget that they are there you suffer the consequences. Mind you it only takes a couple of times for you to remember that they are there. Secondly, the lack of an overhead light meant that when both of us wanted to read one had to be on the bed and read by the bedlight while the other tried to make use of the standard lamp, the light from which was inadequate to allow both to read while sitting in the lounge chairs. A more powerful globe could probably fix this problem, however, I don't know how you would fix the early morning noise which seems to go on for a long time. Notwithstanding these drawbacks we enjoyed our stay at Castiglioni and wish Renzo and Cristian (and the housemaid) all the very best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

There are many reasons why we would return to Residenza Castiglioni/Alloro B&B.

Firstly, we were delighted with our room, with its wonderful space, frescoes, large bed, teamaking facility (all too rare in mainland Europe) and very efficient A/C.

Secondly, Renzo and Cristian are both friendly, helpful and efficient.

Thirdly, the breakfast is a delight. Those croissants with a drizzle of lemon/citrus icing!

Fourthly, the location is perfect - just a short walk from many of the main sites (including the Duomo of course!) and the railway station.

(I would thoroughly recommend travelling to Florence part or all of the way by train, by the way. The Italian High Velocity trains are a deal sight more efficient and comfortable than the French TGVs which I find highly overrated.)

We loved Florence, and would love to return in spring or autumn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which contains frescoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have now stayed at Alloro B&B a number of times and each year is like returning home for a lovely visit with the father & son team of Cristian and Renzo. Why do I mention Alloro in a review for Residenza Castiglioni? Well, because now the team runs both places, so there is even more to like! Alloro/Castiglioni is located in the San Lorenzo quarter and you could not get a better location for exploring all the sites of Florence, while staying in a tranquil oasis. The rooms in both Alloro and Castiglioni (I've now stayed in both) are spacious, clean, comfortable and decorated with frescoes. The bathrooms are also spacious and spotless. Of course, I will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Had a fantastic large room with huge bed and ceiling frescoes, so almost no need to queue up for the galleries, we had it all right there. Definitely the most unusual room we ever had, and one of the biggest. Excellent value for money in super central location. Also useful the car parking next door. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Couldn't be much better, from the quality of the breakfast in the morning to the comfort of the beds at night, and everything else in between. The location is just perfect not only to the sites, but also to excellent and affordable restaurants, a good laundry, etc. We will be going back, without hesitation. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I'd also ask for a corner room/suite. Neither side is all that noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Castiglioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Castiglioni

Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50100 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Castiglioni 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Castiglioni is located in a beautiful and historic buildings halfway from piazza Duomo and the Santa Maria Novella train station.Easily accessible by walk also with heavy luggage, Residenza Castiglioni offers to you luxury from the past and the comforts of the modern life together.Few rooms, each one different from the others, bright and pleasant, a particular attention to details, a dream that becomes reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, T4B, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residenza Castiglioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Castiglioni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Castiglioni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.