We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel even better service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Hilda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Hilda to your Saves list
Residence Hilda
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via dei Servi, 40, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early bird: 20% off
Ranked #18 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is located right down the street from the Duomo which is nice because no matter where you are in the city you can always find your way back home. The hotel is super clean and the rooms are huge, much larger than what I would expect in a hotel in Europe. The thing that sets this hotel apart from the rest is the service, literally the best I have ever seen the gentlemen at the front desk was super attentive, extremely knowledgable and really made our trip. I would highly recommend this hotel, we will be staying here again when we return to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Manager at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Can't tell you what a pleasure is to hear these words. The man at the reception was Francesco, one of our best receptionist and the expert of restaurants and night life, will pass this mesage on to him too.
Hope to have you with us soon.
My warm regards,
Carlo Vigiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    41
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
115
193
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Excellent location right by the Duomo and about 15 mins walk from the train station. The accommodation is more of an appartment than a hotel and is very modern inside, which is what we wanted. There is a good sized bedroom, excellent bathroom, sitting/ dining area and kitchenette. The staff were very helpful and all round I could not fault this accommodation. The reception closes during the day between 1pm and 3pm so it is worth checking if someone will be there if you need to arrive at this time, or to leave bags. The only down side was some noise from the street during the night but we would definately stay here again next time we are in Florence and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Manager at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We now have the best double glasses that we could find (by St. Gobain) and the noise that might occurr in the week-end when the city centre is more lively should have been reduced strongly. We are ina pedestrian area that uses to be very quiet.
I hope to have with us again and I send you my warmest regards,

Carlo Vigiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Hilda, this is our third stay in Florence and Residence Hilda is by far the best place we have stayed, and we can be very critical.
First impression is how clean and bright the reception area is and how very helpful and very efficient the receptionist is.
Our apartment was beautiful, spacious, very clean and had everything we needed to prepare a wonderful breakfast and lunch. The bed and pillows were super comfortable, wardrobe huge, plenty of hot water and brand new white fluffy towels. The location is superb and we couldn't stop taking great pics of the Duomo at the end of the street. in the evening we had the balcony doors open and the sounds of street musicians wafting up and the sounds of the neighborhood gave us a wonderful glimpse into Florentine living.
We will be back, hopefully for much longer.

Room Tip: We had room 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Manager at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
I thank you very much for these beautiful words. We're making our best to offer a high quality stay and this is the result we would like to always reach. You have fully understood the soul of the city and it sounds as you are now half-Florentine!
I also appreciate that you liked our towels, they are the best on the market, used from the Four Seasons hotel too. it is a high quality 100% cotton sponge, very thick. Step by step we are growing and improving. Have opened 7 and a half years ago we still have much to do and we would like to improve further. Hope to have you with us again and to be able to show you some news.
My warm regards,
Carlo Vigiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Residence Hilda. Good value for your money. The apartment we rented was clean, modern and spacious. Great location - we were within walking distance to all major attractions, restaurants and grocery stores. For instance, we can walk down the street to the Duomo within 3mins and find a nice place to eat in the square. There is a wash&dry across the street for us to do some quick laundry. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. Overall, we loved the location and would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay for those visiting florence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thanks a lot for your comments.
Really hope to have you back with us soon.

My best regards,

Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Clean, modern, perfect location and helpful staff - could not have been better! We had a problem with the booking company we used but Residence Hilda notificied us immediately and fixed the problem. They accommodated our requests and were extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you very much. We always try to help our Guests, we know that Italy is not an easy country and you might need assistance, that is our primary goal together with cleaning.

Look forward to your stay back with us.

My warm regards,

Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Spacious rooms, fully equipped and big kitchen very clean overall and fresh linen every alternate day. The closet was great and the bathroom was also big and very clean. The negative point is that every night drunk men were outside of the hotel making noise and it was a little dangerous to return late. Also no beak fast was included and the reception was not available all day, we had to call them on their cell phones in case of emergency.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Manager at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your review and I am sorry that you were scared by drunken men, but unfortunately it happens on the week end as you are in the very city centre and there are many places where to drink. But drunken men are not dangerous and nothing bad had happened since we've opened 8 years ago. Our employees (mainly women) use to come and go to and from the hotel very late at night for arrivals or any type of emergency and they were never been bothered. Florence is a small and safety city...
About breakfast, we do offer a breakfast service which is not included in the rate because every Suite has a fully equipped kitchen and many Guests appreciate the possibility to cook their own breakfast. We prefer that our Guests can choose whether to purchase breakfast (no advance reservation needed) or cook their own.
And our reception has limited operating times (10 hours/day), but we are ALWAYS available on the emergency numbers and we are on site in approx. 7 minutes from your telephone call....I am sure that if you have tried our assistance on call you were fully satisfied with it as a steady porter couldn't be so quick. We all leave 5 minutes away from the Residence Hilda and adding a couple of minutes to put clothes on and come down from our apartments makes the assistance very quick (but we can also assist you remotely opening the front door and your Suite's door with our mobile and doing many other things wihout coming on site).
Hope that our Guests feel safe and assisted even if we are not on site all night: all our alarms (fire, elevator, etc.) are connected with our emergency numbers and with a private security service and we never miss to reply to the phone and show up in a flash.
Trust us.

My best best greetings for a happy 2013 and hope to have the chance to have you back with us and show you how our assistance on call works.

Carlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Hilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hilda

Address: Via dei Servi, 40, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hilda 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comforts of a hotel in a designer apartment, located 3 blocks away from the main cathedral!At the elegant Residence Hilda you get more privacy than at a 5 star hotel, light and streamlined interiors, designer details conspicuous only by their restraint. All the Suites have teak parquet floors, calm off-white walls, soft beige furnishings and some occasional colour accent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Hilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hilda Florence
Residence Hilda Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Hilda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.