We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Santa Croce!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Croce

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santa Croce to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Croce
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via De Bentaccordi, 3, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay at Santa Croce!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel! Location is absolutely terrific, staff is very friendly! Gabriele and Mario are wonderful people, they were always very helpful. We lost our luggage for 5 days, and every day they would call the airline to inquire about our luggage. We really appreciated it. Breakfast there was wonderful, great coffee and hot chocolate :) Room was good and clean. The bathroom a little on the small side (not for me, but for my husband who is 6 ft 5), but that is a very minor thing. Considering how old the building was, it was very well kept, beautiful and clean. Overall, we were very lucky to stay at this hotel, would definitely recommend staying and if we are ever in Florence again, we would consider to stay at Hotel Santa Croce again without the second thought!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Yelena,
we're glad that we were helpful to you to recover lost luggage at the airport.

Thank you for this great review; we're happy you enjoyed all facilities and advises we gave you.

We hope you'll come back as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele, Simona and whole Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    107
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
79
122
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Fantastic location with 5* service from Mario & Gabriele.

We arrived in Florence by car & our GPS couldn't find the hotel location. We called them & despite their good explanation of directions we still couldn't find the correct street - Gabriele came running from the hotel to find us, stopped the traffic so we could reverse back & directed us to the hotel. They instantly arranged for our car to be picked up & taken to a safe & secure garage ($25 for 24hrs) as parking in Florence is a nightmare.

Drinks on arrival were a lovely welcome & they provided us with a helpful map & gave us some great recommendations & information.

The room & bathroom were super clean & comfortable with good AC & decent shower. The room & bathroom are small but that's because they are in a wonderful old building in an excellent location & walking distance to all the main sights.

Breakfast starts at 7am which was helpful if you want to get going early to beat the masses of tourists.

Cheap beer, water & other drinks available to buy & they gave us some complementary drinks as we left.

Reception is 24hrs so you don't have to worry about numerous keys or door codes.

Great value for money & would highly recommend.

Thanks Mario & Gabriele for a memorable stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guests...WOW !

Your review is simply amazing and we're so happy you had a very great time during your stay at Hotel Santa Croce.

Thank you for giving classified as hotel with 5 stars service, we're truly honored by this compliment.

Have a good time during your trip around our wonderful Italy and please, you say CIAO for us to the wonderful Napoli, Positano and Amalfi Coast.

Come back to Firenze asap, we're waiting for you ;-)

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriel and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very good hotel in a historic building. Basilica Santa Croce is just round the corner, and Piazza Della Signoria and the Bargello are a stone's throw away. Short walk to the Duomo and the Accademia. A big thank you to Gabrielle and Mario for making my stay such a comfortable one (to Gabrielle - the smiley face in the morning cappuccino is a very nice touch!). Comfortable rooms with, among other things, air-conditioning (of utmost importance in the sweltering Firenze summer heat) and LCD TV. Breakfast is very European - not lavish but serves the purpose. In summary, this is a great place in a truly lovely city. If and when I return to Firenze, I will not hesitate one bit to book this place again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Ganguly,
we're very pleased that the whole stay was satisfactory for all your needs and we thank you for having mentioned some of our services that you enjoyed.

We're very confident that you'll choose the Hotel Santa Croce again for your next stay in Florence and we're waiting for you to offer other excellent and smiling cappuccinos :-)

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriel and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I really wanted to be able to give this property the highest rating possible as we absolutely adored the people who run it. Gabrielle and his brother Mario do an amazing job with what they have. It is a historical 600 year old property so you need to keep in mind although it is extremely charming and clean it is very small. The property offers the best location in Florence walking distance to everything. Everyone we encountered at the property was awesome. Super nice, helpful, spoke English even allowed our son who was living in an apartment in Florence as he was studying abroad join us for breakfast. Very nice continental breakfast is provided daily and I really miss the smiley face cappuccino. Being American, we found the room to be extremely small and we barely fit in the shower that is the only reason we could not rate this property as Excellent.

Room Tip: there is an in room safe and hair dryer in the room but limited toiletries (just small packet of sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guests,
we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the quality of our services.

Thanks for the nice review you wrote.

Come back asap.

Many Greetings
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton WA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This charming hotel is run by two hard working brothers. They were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay in Florence. They gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants and activities. Don't miss the Piazze Michelangelo, it's a hike but the view is spectacular and free!! The rooms are small in the hotel but this is an ancient building,though the building is ancient, the rooms are not!! The hotel is in a perfect location, walking distance to everything!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
your review is excellent :-)

Thank you so much for those lovely words, we're happy you enjoyed your whole stay at Hotel Santa Croce.

Come back asap.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Loved our stay at the Hotel Santa Croce! The staff was super friendly and gave us a great orientation of Florence. The location was close to major sights, but on a quiet side street so avoided the big crowds. Right around the corner from beautiful Santa Croce cathedral. Great restaurant recommendation (Anita) with delicious food and inexpensive. Rooms were typical size for European cities but comfortable. Breakfast in the morning. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Kathy,
thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We're so glad that you had a great time at the Hotel Santa Croce and that you enjoyed all our suggestions, even for the restaurant.

We hope to have you back here soon.

Best greetings to the whole Family,
Mario Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Gabriel is so helpful and pleasant. This hotel is in the perfect spot in Florence close to everything, has breakfast , awesome service and the staff is so helpful. So glad we stayed here in July 2014. You can't go wrong with Hotel Santa Croce!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Kunal,
thank you very much for this wonderful review.

You' are a very nice couple and we hope to have you back here very soon.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriel and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce

Address: Via De Bentaccordi, 3, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
#35 Family Hotel in Florence
#43 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Croce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAYING AT HOTEL SANTA CROCE gives the possibility to live a unique experience in the magical atmosphere of Florence. Small but welcoming, Hotel Santa Croce is immersed in the marvellous historical centre, right in the heart of the artistic, cultural and commercial life of the city. The Hotel is situated in an historical building dating back to the 600s and stands on the remains of an ancient Roman amphitheatre. The illustrious Michelangelo Buonarroti spent his childhood years in the adjoining house (there is a marble plaque showing evidence of this on the wall of the first floor). While just a few metres away you can find all of the most important monuments and museums, as well as the most renowned bars for those who would like a taste of the Florentine night-life. Situated only 100 metres from Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Piazza Santa Croce (from where the Hotel's name derives), you can admire the enchanting Basilica where the remains of the greatest artists, writers, poets and scientists in Italian history are buried; we are also just a few steps away from il Duomo, il Battistero, the magnificent Campanile di Giotto and the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore and Santa Maria Novella, not to mention the precious Ponte Vecchio, under which Florence's rushing River Arno flows. Or if you would prefer to dedicate some of your free-time to shopping, you can spend hours walking up and down Via Tornabuoni or Via De Calzaiuoli discovering the best names in Italian, and international fashion. The breakfast room, cosy, warm and welcoming, will help you wake up in the best of moods. There is a 24-hour reception service and staff are always willing to help wherever possible. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Santa Croce ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce Florence
Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Croce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.