We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little hotel in every way.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Croce

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Croce to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santa Croce
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via De Bentaccordi, 3, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 460 Hotels in Florence
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Perfect little hotel in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This gem of a family-owned hotel is only a couple of blocks from the Uffizi Gallery and walking distance to everywhere in Florence, even to SM Novella Station (0.93 miles). Mario and his staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious with juice and yogurt included and the room was comfortable with an upgraded bathroom. We booked a triple room even though there were only two of us just to have a little extra space. Air conditioning is a plus on hot days. Wi-fi worked well. All in all... a find!

Room Tip: Triple rooms offer a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Madam,
thanks a lot for writing this lovely review and for appreciating all of our services.

We're very glad that our hotel exceeded your expectations and we thank you so much for giving us the definition of "gem".

Come back soon, we're waiting for your next stay.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    94
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
67
102
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stay here for two nights celebrating our 25th year anniversary. Upon arrival, we were greeted by two brothers who we've read about on Trip Advisor. They were very nice and helpful. They made our stay very special. Great location to all the of major attractions. If you want a quaint hotel this is it. We would definitely stay here again.


Firefight Mark and Lisa

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mark and Lisa,
you're very special Guests !

We're very sorry you stayed just 2 nights...Mark is a very funny guy :-D

Thank you so much for this lovely review, we hope to see you again asap, so we'll drink together another glass of grappa.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I only stayed for one night, but wish I could have stayed longer! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The place is clean and tidy... cozy is the right word. I needed somewhere cheap, and this place exceeded my expectations! I stayed in the Michelangelo room. Although it was small, it was well taken care of and just an overall awesome place to stay. The building is very old and historic and it was just a cool place right in the middle of Florence. If you are in Florence, and don't want to stay in a hostel, but aren't looking for a 5 star resort, this place is right up your alley! Character, history, and right in the heart of town. And like I said, the staff was friendly and eager to please!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Matth,
thank you for writing this wonderful review.

Hopefully next time you'll visit Firenze, you'll be in our Hotel a few days more.

Best wishes,
Mario Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights last week; the staff is amazing. Emailed with suggestions of what museums we would need to book in advance and made reservations for us so that we were able to avoid the long lines. Great recommendation for lunch right around the corner, La Prosciutteria, a definite "don't miss" (as is Osteria della Tre Panche!!)! The rooms are small (no elevator) and breakfast basic, but all that you need. Location is right in the center of Old Town, walking distance to all sights. And, yes, if the weather is warm, do take a taxi from the Termini Station to the hotel; it's a 20 min walk with uneven pavement for rolling suitcases. You will not find a more welcoming, helpful and warm staff; they really are special. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
thanks for this nice review, we're very happy you enjoyed all of our services during your stay at Hotel Santa Croce.

We hope to have you here again as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've just gotten home and I wish I was there again. The location is a very short walk (3 blocks) to Chiesa Santa Croce, which has wonderful monuments for Rossini, Marconi, DaVinci, Galileo and others, to many leather shops, 5-10 minutes to good but affordable restaurants, Uffizi, Pallazzio Vecchio, and several other museums, and to the river. I am not a fiend for pampering, but the space is very comfortable and the staff was amazingly helpful. The brothers who own the hotel now managed to retrieve a train reservation for me that I had not received from my travel agent, and printed the receipt for the Fiorenza card (multi-day museum and public transportation pass) that I bought on-line from home before we went. They will help make phone calls or find information on the web if needed. Our bedroom had a window to a side-street but was quiet enough to sleep, comfortable beds, enough room to move about, nice bathroom, fine for 3 people. The staff even helped reconnect me with my teens when I had gone one way and they another ('il bambini della signora'). I can't imagine a nicer, more personable place to be. We felt quite at home and would go back in a heartbeat.

If you travel reasonably light, you can walk 15-20 minutes from the train station, or you could use your Firenze card (highly recommended) for a bus that stops very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Miss Felicia,
thank you for choosing our hotel and for writing this nice review :-)

We're so happy that you enjoyed all our services and our advices.

We hope to welcome you again when you'll be back to Firenze.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and i stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in June. The location is good. Five minute walk from town centre and very close to most of the major attractions though I do reccomend that if you are coming from the train station and have suitcases then take a taxi. THe hotel It is a good 20 - minute walk from the station and with 2 x suitcases on busy cobbled streets it is a testing walk.

The hotel is comfortable but it is 2 star accomodation and that is reflected in the ammenities and standard of accomodation provided. The rooms are small and there is little space to place suitcases, the bed has a low cost hard mattress, the shower cubicle is tiny and there is no lift in the building. The breakfast provided is basic but adequate and the dining area is spread between the foyer and a small eating area . Nothing exceptional about this hotel other than it's location.

Room Tip: No list. So If you are of an age then request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review you wrote; the impressions of each individual customer are important for us.

Regarding the sizes, we remember, as we always do, that some areas may not be very large because we're in an historical building dating back to the 600s in the heart of the historical center of Florence.

We hope you'll be back for your next stay in Firenze.

Best wishes,
Mario, Gabriel and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We chose this hotel for our stay in Florence as part of our Honeymoon in Italy, and we can say that we were stunned by the service received, absolutely superior to the one you would expect on a 2** hotel. Location is unbelievable, just around the corner from the most important places to visit (Museums, Churches etc..)

The hotel staff were amazing, they did everything to makes us feel welcomed. From carrying our bags to our room to booking our entrance to museums. Also they advised us where to eat, a lovely 'trattoria' with delicious italian food and wines, where we got a discount due to being guests at Santa Croce.

Also the hotel breakfast was delicious, a nice continental breakfast. But what really surprised us was to find a bottle of champagne with a little card saying "Santa Croce gift for your honeymoon'. It was fantastic, we never expected that from a 2** Hotel.

The rooms are basic but they have everything, including free wifi.

In general I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, actually we would love to come back next time we come to Florence, an enchanting and romantic city.

A massive thank you to the Santa Croce staff. Until next time....

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest Mia,
your review is wonderful and it deserves our heartfelt thanks.

We're very happy that you appreciated every minute detail of our hotel and, the most important thing for us is to know that we helped to make more magic your honeymoon in Italy.

Good luck for everything and come back asap.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriel and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce

Address: Via De Bentaccordi, 3, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Florence
#42 Family Hotel in Florence
#43 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Croce 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAYING AT HOTEL SANTA CROCE gives the possibility to live a unique experience in the magical atmosphere of Florence. Small but welcoming, Hotel Santa Croce is immersed in the marvellous historical centre, right in the heart of the artistic, cultural and commercial life of the city. The Hotel is situated in an historical building dating back to the 600s and stands on the remains of an ancient Roman amphitheatre. The illustrious Michelangelo Buonarroti spent his childhood years in the adjoining house (there is a marble plaque showing evidence of this on the wall of the first floor). While just a few metres away you can find all of the most important monuments and museums, as well as the most renowned bars for those who would like a taste of the Florentine night-life. Situated only 100 metres from Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Piazza Santa Croce (from where the Hotel's name derives), you can admire the enchanting Basilica where the remains of the greatest artists, writers, poets and scientists in Italian history are buried; we are also just a few steps away from il Duomo, il Battistero, the magnificent Campanile di Giotto and the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore and Santa Maria Novella, not to mention the precious Ponte Vecchio, under which Florence's rushing River Arno flows. Or if you would prefer to dedicate some of your free-time to shopping, you can spend hours walking up and down Via Tornabuoni or Via De Calzaiuoli discovering the best names in Italian, and international fashion. The breakfast room, cosy, warm and welcoming, will help you wake up in the best of moods. There is a 24-hour reception service and staff are always willing to help wherever possible. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Santa Croce ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce Florence
Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Croce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.