We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Croce

Save Saved
You added Hotel Santa Croce to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Croce
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via De Bentaccordi, 3, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 461 hotels in Florence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Santa Croce a few weeks ago (mid September) and had the most wonderful stay. The location of the hotel is fantastic - you are within walking distance to all major historical sights in Florence. Piazza Santa Croce is literally less than a minute walk away - there are plenty of restaurants and shops within a few minutes walk. All of the staff members were great - kind, helpful and accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable. It was, of course, not large but the hotel itself is a historical building which we thought was neat. I would certainly return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Thank you Hotel Santa Croce for adding to our wonderful experience in Florence!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Jami,
thank you so much for the wonderful review and for the title you have written.

We are very happy that everything was to your liking.

We hope to see you again as soon as possible.

Many greetings from the Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    90
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
65
95
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The staff were very helpful, even coming down late (because we planned to have breakfast out) we were offered a croissant to eat every morning, and even when my boyfriend asked if we could have the proper buffet breakfast one morning (when again we were late) they were happy to oblige. The breakfast was decent, pretty good choice of buffet, cereals, breads, the usual.
The room was on the first floor, there is no lift, as it is an old building. That was fine by me, but just be aware if you have a lot of luggage (although the staff were great - I'm sure they wouldn't hesitate to help)
The room itself was an ok size, with two single beds pushed together, not a huge room but perfectly fine. there was an air conditioning fan, which made a bit of a noise, my boyfriend did have to get up one night to switch it off but I sort of got used to it! On coming back the first evening there was an odd smell in the room, my boyfriend said he noticed it when we were shown the room, although I hadn't noticed at that point. Indeed, if the window was left closed the smell became noticeable, although not unbearable. The bottom of the bathroom door looked a bit warped as if there had been a flood of some sort, and I suspect this may be the cause of the odd smell. Apart from that, the room was clean, the bathroom was clean. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Customer,
thank you for the title of your review, it's so cute; we're happy you appreciated the stay just ended.

Hoping to see you soon, we send you our warmest greetings.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel building is very old so you need to walk up. My room was of course small, a bed and walking space with a flat TV on the wall. So please guess how it was. The same goes to the bath room. They did not even have a space to put a desk and a chair. So they put a cheap Ikea alike shelf on the wall.

The water pressure of the shower was so weak I had to stand for a long time to wash my long hair. Men would be OK with the low pressure, I suppose...? It was hot outside so everyone deserves a good shower, or?

Breakfast is very very basic. Coffee of your tastes, tea, not 100% fruit juices, cereal, 2 rolls, nutella (non brand), etc. No cheese or cold cut. I had better breakfast at other hotels in other towns.

This hotel is just well located hidden behind those touristic sites. I wish they had a fridge! I went to supermarkets every day because I had no fridge at this hotel. There are some descent leather stores around this hotel as well.

I would stay on the other side of Firenze across the Arno if I decide to see my friends in the future. The other side is quieter and less touristic. Florence is very small so 5-min. of walking would take you to much quieter area...

Room Tip: Send emails to hotels for any concerns. They responded my questions within 24 hours with detailed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for the review that you wrote about your stay, it's very important for us.

As you pointed out about the size of your room, we remember that our hotel is in an ancient building that dates back to the 600s and which still holds, within its walls, the magic of the Golden Age of the Florentine Renaissance. For this reason there aren't very large spaces but the rooms are predisposed to the type of tourism in Florence, where in the room you come back just to rest.

Regarding the breakfast, we're sorry you considered it basic but it's an abundant continental breakfast consisting of fresh croissants, mini toast, yogurt, bread, various types of cereal, fruit juice (BRAVO Juice, one of the best brands of fruit juice on the market), marmalade, chocolate spread, honey and every type of hot drink, which is most certainly beyond expectations for our category; you listed just what you ate.

Moreover, it's written in the descriptions that all of our rooms have a private bathroom with shower cubicle, television LCD, free Wi-Fi Internet access, air conditioning, heating, hair dryer, safe-deposit box and interphone. And for drinks, we have a little bar in the lobby with low prices.

All things considered and having said that, just for clarification for all other users of TripAdvisor, we hope to see you again during your next visit in Florence.

Best regards,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Historical Centre
Firenze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. Perfect location, very clean rooms in a wonderful historic building. The owners, Mario and Gabriele went out of their way to make me feel right at home. Simone was also very friendly and delightful. BTW, the room comes with a great breakfast!
Thank you Gabriele, Mario and Simone!
Mimi Chappell

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Mimi,
your pretty smile during your stay made ​​us hope for a nice review. Thank you so much.

Nice to meet you...we hope to see you again as soon as possible, maybe during our next visit in the U.S.

A big hug,
Mario, Gabriele, Simona and all Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

i have nice days in italy, special in florence at hotel santa croce, which actually had the best care. the location is excellent. the coffee "super "doppio and smile face capuccino, done by gabriele made, my days happier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
we're so flattered that you consider our Hotel the best service you got during your whole trip around Italy.

We hope to have you again in our Hotel when you'll come back to Florence next time.

Thanks a lot.
Best regards
Santa Croce Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Brilliant location for exploring the city. We had a very warm welcome and were even offered fruit juice on arrival - very handy as we had had a long drive and it was really hot. We were also given a city guide and the receptionist wrote on all the main points of interest. It was really helpful. The hotel is very clean and breakfast was good and included in the room price. Best of all it's just 5 minutes walk from the centre of things. Well worth a visit. Parking is an issue in Florence! We didn't know that only residents cars are allowed in to the centre but again the receptionist came up trumps and told us where to take the car which was only 10 mins walk away and even contacted the council on our behalf in case the security cameras had spotted our mistake - all taken care of - amazing.:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very happy that you liked everything of your stay at Hotel Santa Croce, especially our services.

Thanks for your nice review and ee hope to have you back here as soon as possible.

Best Regards,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and it was great value for money & can only echo everyone else's experience.

The multilingual staff were really helpfully and always friendly. Reserved some attractions for us (at no extra cost) to save us queuing for the main galleries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Peter,
we are very happy you liked your stay with us; thank you so much for the "precious" definition you wrote about our hotel, it's very important for us.

We're sure you will come back to Hotel Santa Croce for your next trip in Florence.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and all Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce

Address: Via De Bentaccordi, 3, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Florence
#38 Family Hotel in Florence
#38 Business Hotel in Florence
#38 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Croce 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAYING AT HOTEL SANTA CROCE gives the possibility to live a unique experience in the magical atmosphere of Florence. Small but welcoming, Hotel Santa Croce is immersed in the marvellous historical centre, right in the heart of the artistic, cultural and commercial life of the city. The Hotel is situated in an historical building dating back to the 600s and stands on the remains of an ancient Roman amphitheatre. The illustrious Michelangelo Buonarroti spent his childhood years in the adjoining house (there is a marble plaque showing evidence of this on the wall of the first floor). While just a few metres away you can find all of the most important monuments and museums, as well as the most renowned bars for those who would like a taste of the Florentine night-life. Situated only 100 metres from Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Piazza Santa Croce (from where the Hotel's name derives), you can admire the enchanting Basilica where the remains of the greatest artists, writers, poets and scientists in Italian history are buried; we are also just a few steps away from il Duomo, il Battistero, the magnificent Campanile di Giotto and the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore and Santa Maria Novella, not to mention the precious Ponte Vecchio, under which Florence's rushing River Arno flows. Or if you would prefer to dedicate some of your free-time to shopping, you can spend hours walking up and down Via Tornabuoni or Via De Calzaiuoli discovering the best names in Italian, and international fashion. The breakfast room, cosy, warm and welcoming, will help you wake up in the best of moods. There is a 24-hour reception service and staff are always willing to help wherever possible. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Santa Croce ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce Florence
Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Croce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.