We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porcellino Gallery

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porcellino Gallery to your Saves list
Porcellino Gallery
Piazza del Mercato Nuovo, 4, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 460 Hotels in Florence
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was great, wonderful location. LZ was a great and assisted us with everything! Great coffee and breakfast in the morning. YOU MUST stay here. But you must book in advance! There are only a few rooms!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

Great place, well decorated and perfect location. Room was comfortable and there is a spacious 1st floor lounge area which is quiet enough to treat like your own. The owner and her team are very friendly and helpful. Request a room at the back if you aren't an early riser, otherwise the market outside is a great alarm clock.

Stayed February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

The place is a neat, unique boutique bed&breakfast but we didn't have the best time there. We checked in for a one-night stay with a staff member that could speak some English and spoke NO ITALIAN so we couldn't get any advice from a seasoned local to find the less-touristy gems in Florence! He also forgot to put the tourist tax on the credit card charge, but didn't have any cash to exchange our €20 bill?? We were given a room with a horn sculpture, that looks neat but is scary to have over your head as you sleep. Upon request, they moved us into another room thankfully. Unfortunately, both of the rooms smelt of something unbearable! I assume something nasty is coming up from the sewage system because it was coming mostly from the bathrooms. We didn't have the possibility to find another place to stay (and I would have left!) since it was only a one-night stay, but I am glad it was. We didn't even take a shower because the smell was so bad in the bathroom. The smell aside, the welcome wine was delicious. The bed was comfortable. The windows do a pretty good job of blocking out the noise from the street below, but it is still pretty noisy. The woven-straw carpet is uncomfortable to walk around on, and I think contributes to the overall bad smell of this place. We set the heat to warm, but the place never got warm. However, you cannot beat the location. You can walk to the hotel from the train station, and can walk all over Florence from here. Please do something about the smell and it won't be a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Please ask if they have taken care of the smell!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Me and my brother stayed one night in Florence. We wanted to stay longer because of this place! Cleaning was very good, staff was friendly and they all speak english very good. We wanted seperate beds while booking. They answer my e-mail and said that they don't have seperate beds thats why they gave us the biggest bed room :) there is just one bad thing about the place, Street noise can be heard from rooms. But we just felt uncomfortable at the evening. At night and in the morning there was nothing. I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

My wife and I didn't get to stay here as booking.com booked the same room twice. Within 2 hours of booking we were contracted by this hotel and informed of the error. They went above and beyond to find us a similar place to stay. Also, the wine from their estates is amazing.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Porcellino gallery is one of the best boutique hotel/b&b i stayed in.First of all the location,one of the most popular little market square in Florence,full of character and amazing atmosphere.The entrance of the b&b is a little door in the corner just a few steps away from the porcellino's statue. As soon as you enter you will know why this place is so special. Surrounded by art we did get the best warm welcome by the lovely staff and owner.Our room was lovely, a gallery itself with a view on the square. We enjoyed the free aperitivo by the living room,tasting the homemade produced wine and breakfast was also nice. I cant complain about the noise as we did sleep very well , not even in the morning when the market was being set up for the day.The b&b has only 5 rooms , i feel like keeping this little found gem as a secret!Cant wait to go back there for a special occasion on my next visit in Florence. Thank you;)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Really nice boutique hotel with extremely friendly owners and staff. We loved the breakfast and trying the (free) wine from the vineyard they own. Our room was nicely decorated and it has an amazing location by the square with the famous il porcellino boar. Brilliantly located for the galleries of Florence. The only potential criticism is the location is almost too good so plenty of tourists about until reasonably late but provided you don't want to go to bed at 9pm I don't think this is that much of a problem! Slightly challenging to find the door at first but if you look at the boar the door is about 15 yards away on your left!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Porcellino Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcellino Gallery

Address: Piazza del Mercato Nuovo, 4, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handily placed in the heart of Florence amidst world famous attractions, the Hotel Il Porcellino is the perfect base from which to explore the city and its rich artistic heritage. Set in Piazza del Porcellino, an attractive square featuring a wild boar fountain, this small yet welcoming property is within easy reach of the Uffizi Gallery, the Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Pitti and Santa Maria del Fiore cathedral. The hotel offers finely appointed bedrooms, a superb location and above all a homely atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Porcellino Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Porcellino Florence
Il Porcellino Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porcellino Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.