We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique style B&B , great staff , good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porcellino Gallery

Save Saved
You added Porcellino Gallery to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porcellino Gallery
Piazza del Mercato Nuovo, 4, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Peterborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice boutique style B&B , great staff , good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The Porcellino is right on the Nouvo Market square and just outside the Porcellino statue. It's location is very central in the old town with no piazza or main site more than 15 minutes walk away. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you, especially Mariella. Breakfast is always fresh and laid for you, based on a continental croissants and ham sandwiches as well as fresh fruit salad and yoghurt which is cut every morning. The non alcoholic drinks are available on self serve and inclusive basis, as well as a one hour session from 630 to 730 pm to enjoy the owners vineyard wine and aperitif's. The room was of a good size, high ceilings and aircon. It was clean and comfortable. Wifi is included and the only down side we found is that is is rather noisy outside. If you're a light sleeper (as my wife is) you will struggle with this.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed in this lovely boutique hotel for a couple of nights last June. The location is great, very central, in the heart of the Centro Storico, close to the main sights in Florence. The room was very cosy, the service extremely friendly and helpful. A good breakfast is served in the salon, with fresh fruit salad, pastries, etc. Every evening a glass of wine is proposed as an aperitif, free of charge, which I found very nice and quite unusual... Will definitely book there next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I can't say enough about this beautiful boutique hotel. The management is extremely accommodating and friendly. The rooms are super clean and immaculately taken care of. The location could not be more central and perfect. The decor is stunning and a work of art. From the first day until the last, I was gleaming with joy because I could not have dreamt of a better experience. I am in love with Porcellino Gallery! Superb!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed here for two dates in Florence. It was close to everything....shopping, restaurants, site seeing, museums. There are only five rooms so it us very intimate. There's no elevator but staff will schlep your bags for you. Be advised that it may be difficult to find as it is a small place and the busy market is right in front. Look for the bronze statute of the Porcellino pig that is just steps away. Staff was friendly and spoke English. Eclectic decor. No fitness area or pool so I wouldn't choose this place for a long stay but it was perfect for two nights on a budget!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE. I have no idea how this place gets positive reviews. Nice as the rooms and location may be you will find it IMPOSSIBLE to get any sleep here. The windows overlook a street filled with restaurants rowdy til late at night and somewhere else nearby playing music with a thumping bass. I always travel with bionic earplugs but the level of noise is like trying to fall asleep inside a disco so the earplugs did not nearly suffice. I am incredibly disappointed that I booked this hotel. Do not repeat my mistake.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a beautiful place right in de centre of town. Within only a few minutes you're everywhere!! We stayed in one of the rooms looking at the market. Great view!! Nice gallery room. They serve a real nice breakfast en have a Happy Hour with wine and snacks. The staff is great. They are willing to do everything for you. Thank you Gary!! You're our hero!!
A small comment: overlooking the market means also a lot of noice very early in de morning and at late at night. If you do not mind: you really should take a room with a view. Otherwise have a room at the back (they are also less expensive) and have a goodnight sleep.
Whatever you decide: you'll have a magnificent stay there!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with a view are realy noisy. if you want a good sleep, take a room at the back. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a lovely time in Florence and enjoyed our stay at this quirky place in a central location. The room and view were great. There were some very special touches like the offer of a glass of local wine. Breakfast was served in the lounge. LJ was so helpful and appeared to work very hard to help guests. I counted 10 mirrors in our room! The two closest restaurants: mammamia and osteria del porcellino are both very good traditional italian restaurants.

The only slightly negative thing was the noise at night from the piazza.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porcellino Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcellino Gallery

Address: Piazza del Mercato Nuovo, 4, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handily placed in the heart of Florence amidst world famous attractions, the Hotel Il Porcellino is the perfect base from which to explore the city and its rich artistic heritage. Set in Piazza del Porcellino, an attractive square featuring a wild boar fountain, this small yet welcoming property is within easy reach of the Uffizi Gallery, the Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Pitti and Santa Maria del Fiore cathedral. The hotel offers finely appointed bedrooms, a superb location and above all a homely atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Porcellino Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Porcellino Florence
Il Porcellino Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porcellino Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.