We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo Residence Apart-Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Piccolo Residence Apart-Hotel to your Saves list
Piccolo Residence Apart-Hotel
Via Ricasoli 23, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Our room was fairly cramped and there was no elevator but that can be expected from a building so old. The corridors smelt a bit musty but the rooms were lovely and ours had a view onto the courtyard. The staff were very helpful and efficient but we had to go up and down the stairs whenever we needed them because the phone in our room did not work at all. Even though it was a self contained room we had to ask for a toaster and when it was brought up we could not use it because an adaptor was required. But we eventually got it sorted. There was room service which we were pleasantly surprised by. Lots of little cages and restaurants close by that were very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We loved the Piccolo! The location of this place is second to none - the Duomo at one end of the street, and the statue of David at the other. Close to the markets and restaurants - we walked everywhere in Florence from here.

The apartment was spotlessly clean, crisp bedding and pillows, fresh mattresses and fluffy towels. Our room was serviced everyday. The building is so utterly charming along with the very lovely hosts. Nothing was too much trouble.

A real bonus for us (on a 7 week journey around Europe with the kids) was the free use of the laundry downstairs - new washing machine and dryer available whenever you wanted. Plus free Wi-Fi in the rooms made it so easy to check emails and do online check-in for flights.

We have been telling anyone who will listen to stay here on their next visit to Florence. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Piccolo is undeniably close to most attractions in Florence and the owner is pretty friendly and warm. However, that's where the good stuff ends. The rooms are old, shabby and dark. It doesn't have that cozy feeling. The bathroom looks tattered and cheap. Definitely not worth staying a second time. You can probably find better accomodation in Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Via Ricasoli has the Duomo at one end and the Galleria dell'Accedemia at the other - Piccolo Residence Apartment Hotel is about in the middle. I stayed in a studio apartment that was clean and large with a useful kitchenette. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom had numerous towels that were changed regularly.
The downside to my stay was the limited hours of service. The place is only staffed for a few hours a day and not at the weekend. As I was expecting to return to my apartment later than 6.00pm. on a Friday and was leaving on the Sunday morning, I had to make sure that I paid any outstanding fees on Thursday afternoon. The manager is very pleasant and helpful, it is just pity she is not there more often.
Also I found that with the windows open (needed for fresh air) there was quite a lot of noise coming from the street and nearby apartments.
For my 5 night stay in Florence, this place was fine - for a longer stay I might try to find somewhere quieter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Location is Easy to accsess to DUOMO and other Italian Museum also "Firenze market" where displaied various italian food stuffs.You can buy interest them and able to cook at the residdence. It's economical style to long stay at Italy.The room feel comortable and clean due Japanese ownder always decicated.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

It is good location to stay, center of the Florence but that's it.
The room was dark and no clean. Floor is dirty and dusty. Hairdryer was bronken, The refrigerator door has been bronken, never come to fixed. They never bring toilet paper on room servise.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Going to Piccolo Residence Apart Hotel is like entering a theatrical scenography. It is an artistic jewel in the most Renaissance city, it is a dream during the day thanks to its wonderful furniture and a peace oasis during the night.
I would definitively come back there if in Florence again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piccolo Residence Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Residence Apart-Hotel

Address: Via Ricasoli 23, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apart-hotel Piccolo is located in the centre of Florence, in a middle 17th Century historical building, perfectly restored respecting the true Florentine Baroque style. The residence is situated in a perfect position in the historical centre of Florence, between the Cathedral and the Accademia Museum, where the David of Michelangelo original statue is preserved. While located in the centre of the city, Piccolo Apart-hotel is immersed in an oasis of peace, therefore silent and with a Tuscan typical courtyard that houses a small garden. It has eight comfortable and roomy apartments for relaxing vacations in Florence. It is our wish to offer you a quiet and pleasant stay in Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Piccolo Residence Apart-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Residence Apart Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo Residence Apart-Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.