We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relais Grand Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Grand Tour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Relais Grand Tour to your Saves list
Relais Grand Tour
Via S. Reparata, 21, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #69 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relais Grand Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Great location and helpful hosts. They contacted a week or so before to see if we needed any help with museum reservations. The internet was available which was very helpful. Florence is a very walkable city. Loved it.

  • Liked — location and our hosts
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    37
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
155
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SW New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

This was a perfect place for us to stay in Florence as we celebrated our 30th anniversary! Cristina and Guiseppe were very gracious hosts, making all of our museum and restaurant reservations for us, giving us excellent tips for dining, as well as directions for everywhere we wanted to go in Florence. The B/B is wonderfully situated in the historic district, though there was never any noise, traffic or problems. We would visit the sites in the morning, eat lunch, run back to the hotel for a quick afternoon nap and be ready to go again for the evening. These were among the nicest people we met, as well as the most comfortable hotel we stayed in on our trip. Computer and Internet came as part of the room. We visited in June, 2006 and stayed in the Mirror Suite. A return visit is a definite!

  • Liked — Very comfortable with wonderful hosts
  • Disliked — nothing! IT WAS GREAT!
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for reservations at Pepe's!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2006

I stayed in the Diva suite, which is off a semi-private courtyard with beautiful flowers and a nice little bistro table. The room was great- lots of antiques, ceramic tile, and comfortable beds. The room was very quiet and private, despite the entrance off the shared courtyard. Breakfasts were provided via a coupon for the little bistro/cafe on the corner, which at first struck me as being somewhat inconvenient, but once I tried it, I felt like a local! And the food was good, which helps! After breakfast, all the major sites are a short walk away.

Ok, the one and only negative- it's a bit hard to find. The street sign for Via Reparata is about 20 or 30 feet off the ground, mounted on the side of a building, which you can't see if you're coming from the train station. Once you finally find the street, finding the hotel is also a bit of a problem, since there is no big sign saying, "Relais Grand Tour". Instead, the only indication of its existence is a small brass nameplate by the buzzer. So to help you make your stay here completely perfect, here's the secret: if you're coming from the train station (Novella) you'll turn left onto Via Reparata and the Relais is about halfway down the block on the lefthand side of the street. Just read the nameplates on the buzzers and you should have no problems!

  • Liked — ambience, location
  • Disliked — difficulty in inititally finding the place!
  • Tips/Secrets — Look UP for street signs!
  • Stayed June 2004, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2006

We knew we wanted Florence for our 25th anniversary and friends suggested many lavish hotels in the area, but we like to feel we're part of the city when visiting. The Grand Tour was in a convenient area for walking, had a coffee/wine bar and laundry at the end of the street. The room (Golden Suite) was quiet and comfortable, especially for 2. We can't speak to the other rooms, but ours and the gracious service we received makes it easy to recommend a stay here.

Ever look at pictures of the narrow streets and see all those doors and wonder what's behind them? What's it like to live here? That's why we picked the Grand Tour. Disagreeing with another reviewer, this was our first visit to Florence and it was a perfect spot for us. Cris and Guiseppe helped whenever we asked them - they really did want you to pick up the room phone and call them!

A month or two before our visit, my husband worked with Cris via email to set up a series of suprises for our anniversary from roses (hard to find that time of year), champagne, wine, and dinner reservations at their favorite restaurant. She had everything set up for us when we arrived. Separately, I had been contacting Cris about tickets for some of the museums. She had great recommendations about those needed, or not, and purchased for us those I couldn't get on line. They went above and beyond, even 'fronting' the money by paying for these extras themselves until we arrived 2 months later.

We will always remember our 25th anniversary in Florence, and the steps Cris took to help make it so.

Mike and Sandy, Florida/USA

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

This is in an apartment building that Christina has, with loving care, turned in to a Bed and Breakfast. The décor included a great collection of antiques. We had a view of the back yard flower gardens of several surrounding apartments. Our room wasn’t spacious but very comfortable. The bathroom was the same. We had two choices for breakfast. We could receive a basket of croissants from our hosts and make coffee in our room or use a coupon for a coffee and sweets at a nearby restaurant. We were allowed to use the owners PC to check our e-mails at most anytime of day and there are reading books and a sofa in the space if you want to sit somewhere other than you room, but it’s not very large. If you are here during good weather you might consider booking a suite since they have lovely patios and gardens to sit in and enjoy the day or evening. The location is near L’Academia and within a ten-minute walk to the train station and the Duomo and other nearby sights. The immediate area is rather non-descript. There is a wonderful restaurant, Taverna del Bronzino, a couple of blocks away where we had our most enjoyable meal during our two weeks in Italy. The hosts Christina and Giuseppe are quite friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

This is a lovely little hotel just five minutes away from the Duomo and the Galleria dell'Accademia.

We stayed at the Actor Suite, a big and quiet double room. Check the photos at their web site: the rooms are all nicely and differently decorated. You'll feel somewhat henryjamesian with all those nice chairs and big beds.

If you stay in a suite, you can have breakfast in a café round the corner or, as we did ourselves, some nice croissants in your own room.

You can also access to the internet in the room, as there is a computer that you can use freely. Not that anybody has much time left in Florence to send e-mails, but it's handy.

Cristina, the owner, was really helpful: she recommended some more than nice restaurants and gave us some helpful tips to enjoy our stay in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

The Relais Grand Tour is a cute B&B, and a nice choice for someone visiting Florence who is already very familiar with the city. The owners are pretty hands off, so if you are hoping for help with restaurant recommendations, etc, this is not the place. We were on our honeymoon and visiting for the first time, and didn't feel all that welcome. Not that they were unfriendly, but the only contact with management was if you called them on your cell phone (and paid for it) or rang a bell out in the foyer. Each time we called, we felt like we were bothering them and they always seemed in a hurry to leave. It made us feel as though we were bothering them whenever we asked for help. Maybe they wanted to just give us some space, but it didn't come across that way. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean, so it is a great option if you are on your own and already familiar with Florence. Word of warning about temperature - there aren't really any windows and the a/c was abominable. We had a horrible time sleeping. The bathroom in our room was very nice, but the shower was incredibly small. If you are above average in height or girth, you will have trouble fitting. The sign posted in the room asking us to post a review on this website was a put-off.

  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Grand Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Grand Tour

Address: Via S. Reparata, 21, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet flowered patio, 3 romantic suites and 2 double rooms, this is Relais Grand Tour, located in a quiet street into the historic center close to the Academy Gallery and the Duomo sq. Owners on site. All rooms have free wi-fi, in-room basic breakfast facilities, air con./heating. Uffizi Gallery is within 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Relais Grand Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Grand Tour Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Grand Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.