We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais del Duomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Relais del Duomo to your Saves list
Relais del Duomo
Piazza dell'Olio, 2, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 521 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Excellent position.
Very clean
Rooms aren't big but sufficient considering we only slept there
Way too much to do to stay in your hotel room
Il duomo rings the church bell pretty early so yes can be annoying but anywhere you stay in that part of town it will happen

But definitely the best part of the city
At night it's fantastic

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    53
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
118
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

It is THE PLACE to stay in Florence. Elizabetta is awesome and the provided service is excellent. The building is a restored old palace, just one block from the Duomo, so the location is unbeatable. Since the first moment we arrived, Elizabetta helped us to organize our stay in the city, providing a lot of information about the city, facilities and main attractions. Undoubtedly, it is like being at home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed there for the first time in May and were really happy with the location. Elizabetta was wonderful, couldn't do enough for us. The location is perfect being only a few steps away from the Duomo. Nothing flashy but nice and clean. The street is quite noisy but with the window closed you can't hear anything. We had a few problems getting into the front door, a bit difficult but we got used to it. Only a few minutes walk from the train station and easy to find. Would recommend this B & B to anyone. Hope to visit Florence again and would stay in the same place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This is a small 4 bedroomed B&B run by a very pleasant lady named Elisabetta who really made us feel very comfortable. The actual place was a bit difficult to locate initially as we could'nt find the tiny nameplate of the hotel and passed by it twice before actually going up close to the building as our map kept telling us we were right there. Breakfast is uneventfull but the Lavazza coffee machine is free to use 24 hr so very good if you need a cuppa after your long day and still want to stay in your room. Rooms are tiny but sufficient and the shower had good pressure.
Overall, just make sure you call Elisabetta and confirm your time of arrival. There are plenty of restaurants and shops downstairs also. The only downside was there's no lift to the first floor so in terms of suitcases you will have to carry them up and down each time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Loved this bed and breakfast. Couldn't ask for a better location. Adorable, recently renovated rooms. Sweet staff, CLEAN!! Served a nice breakfast. Make sure the staff knows your arrival time. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!

Room Tip: the front room faces the street and is a bit noisy, but I'm from New York City, so it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I’ll start by saying this (and elaborate below): when you reserve a room here MAKE SURE TO TELL THEM (via e-mail or phone) WHAT TIME TO EXPECT YOU. And make sure they write it down EXACTLY – my American friends – using military time in this case might help. Get their phone number where they can be reached when you get there.

Location:

I don’t think there is more central location on a budget that you can find in this town. Granted there are swanky hotels with all the finest stuff but this place was literally in front of the El Duomo! It’s located in one of the tiny streets that run parallel to the Piazza Del Duomo and are surrounded by shops, restaurants, bars, cafes…. It’s about 10 minute walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station and pretty much within 5 minute walk from everything else – Basilica Di San Lorenzo (2 minutes), El Doumo – 30 seconds, Ponte Vecchio – 8 minutes, Gallery of the Academy (this is where David is) 8 minutes and Piazelle Michelangelo (across the river) is a nice 25 minute stroll. You can use public transport if you get the Firenze Card - it’s about $100 per person (72 Euro) works for 72 consecutive hours (starting at the first use) it includes museums, churches, hike up the El Duomo and the Campanile, you get “priority” treatment (no long lines), wi-fi although not great is included and it does work from time to time. Also the card included buses and trams – we did not use it for the transportation. More information can be found on www.FirenzeCard.it or in the Tripadvisor reviews for the Firenze Card. I highly recommend using this card.

Check in:

The check in is slightly unorthodox – when you reserve the room you specify when you will get there, and they will do their best to be there when you arrive – the owners do not stay on premises. If they are not there, there is a phone number on the main door where you can call them and let them know that you have indeed arrived and in 5 Italian minutes (15-20 normal minutes which you can spend drinking a glass of wine or coffee at the next door restaurant) the owner will be there to check you in. We had a bit of a situation – we got there at noon and we were not scheduled to be there until 6pm according to their records (as it turned out it was no fault of theirs or ours) when the owner finally flew in on his little Vespa he was so nice and apologetic and made us “cappuccos” (cappuccinos) we immediately forgot that we spent 4 precious hours waiting. (The restaurant next door let us park on their outdoor seating even though they were closed for a siseta and the owner of the leather goods shop, also next door, was extremely nice and called the owner of the hotel when we could not reach him).

Accommodations:

The building is ancient by American standards, it was built in 1700's and the “hotel” occupies the first floor (not the ground floor - so beware of a couple flights of stairs) of this place with only 4 rooms with private baths, a little seating area with bookshelves stacked with informational pamphlets, a tiny kitchen where the “staff” kept fresh croissants, coffee, etc. The seating area also had snacks, coffee maker (coffee available all day), variety of juices and water! The “staff” included the owners: an older gentleman, a woman Elizabeta (spelling?) and a young girl. Unless there were other people we did not see them. The room that we had (The Green Room) was tiny, with a HUGE window opening up into a wall of a building next door – we did not mind, it gave the room a certain level of character. The bed was fine –adequate. The bathroom (each room had its own bathroom) had everything you needed. Again it was tiny if you are a big person (i.e. 6’ tall 250+ lb dude) but it did the trick. We peeked into the “Pink Room” - so if you want MORE space that room is NICE!

Breakfast:

Breakfast here was set up in the little seating room, the tables were made up with place settings and you were waited on by the owner who made delicious “cappuccos” with fresh croissants, toast, yogurt, etc. We also had a little fridge in our room where we kept water and prosciutto to make breakfast sandwiches.

Despite a little hick-up we LOVED this place, it made us feel at home, comfortable, nothing pretentious, nothing extravagant just enough of charm and character to be perfect!

Room Tip: Any room is good here, the "pink" room seemed to be the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Relais del Duomo is centrally situated. It is within walking distance to most of the art sites like Uffizi Gallery, The Palazio Vecchio etc. It is also situated around the corner of the Duomo, the Cathedral of Santa Maria. It is also close to the shopping area of luxurious goods, like Gucci, LV, Burberry, Miu Miu etc.The B&B is on the 1st floor of a building. The owner and staff doesn't live there. They only come in the morning to serve breakfast & clean up the rooms. When I arrived in the afternoon around 1500, there was nobody there. There is a sign on the front door of the building with a phone number to be called in emergency. I had no phone with me but fortunately the restaurant downstairs called for me. After 10 mins a lady came and let me in. I have advised them of my train number & arrival time. The train was cancelled & I was put to a later train. I told the lady the reason for the delay & she said that was usual with Italian trains. The room was OK, clean & the bed was comfortable. The breakfast room was available to guests 24/7. Coffee & tea & biscuits were available too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais del Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais del Duomo

Address: Piazza dell'Olio, 2, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais del Duomo is located at the first floor of a historic Florentine palace of 1700, carefully restored. You will find a quit atmosphere in the four rooms, three doubles and one single, furnished in Florentine style. Each room has its own private bathroom with shower; air-conditioned; television; safe. The rich breakfast is always included in the price. Free Wi-fi. The bed and breakfast Relais del Duomo has a prime location in the center of Florence, it's at two steps from Piazza Duomo; 5 minutes by foot form the train station Santa Maria Novella, Galleria degli Uffizi, Piazza della Signoria, Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais del Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Del Duomo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais del Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.