We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais del Duomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Relais del Duomo to your Saves list
Relais del Duomo
Piazza dell'Olio, 2, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arkansas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May. The location is excellent, an easy walk to everywhere we wanted to go. We walked over from the train station with our luggage no problem. The hostess was helpful and friendly. She recommended a couple excellent restaurants including La Strada for steak Florintine.

Our room overlooked a noisy street but the double windows blocked the noise. However the bells on the Duomo ring every 15 minutes starting at 7am and will wake you up. Breakfast was OK, toast, croissant, yogurt and drinks. We were not offered a second cup of coffee and there were very limited choices of snacks and drinks the rest of the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    53
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
120
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place is a gem. The hosts are amazing. It's a small operation - book early if you're considering it. Location is sensational - easy walk to anywhere. Breakfast was lovely. I wish we had more time to make use of the staff and their great ideas for travel. We felt at home here. The value for the location and amenities was brilliant. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Our host at this wonderful B&B could not have been more helpful. She provided freshly baked pastries for breakfast each morning as well as took the time to talk to us about our trip to Florence and offered maps and advice about the city whenever possible. The room was cozy and adequate (we stayed in the beige room), with a nice bathroom, comfortable bed and working (in room) A/C and fast wireless internet. A real taste of Italy, but with all the comforts of home. It's location is great. It is just around the corner from the Duomo, but far enough removed from the crowds to still be quiet.

One word of caution, if you have heavy bags or have trouble with stairs, then you may want to consider that this B&B is on the second floor, and the elevator doesn't stop on that floor. However, the host will help accomodate you in everyway possible, so this wasn't a bad thing for us at all.

We stayed here June 9th thru the 14th of 2012.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Great place to stay. It was literally right around the corner of the Duomo. It made it really easy to stop by to freshen up or to relax. The room was clean and bathrooms were also. The breakfast was simple but coffee was great! If you can not decide on hotel or B&B...B&B is the way to go in italy. I feel that the hotels we stayed in were not comparable to the B&B's experience and pricing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days there this fall. The location was fantastic - so close to everything. Our hostess, Elisabetta was charming and very helpful. We felt she treated us like family which made our stay even more pleasant. She took care to understand what our interests were and made great suggestions of places to visit that suited our tastes. When reservations would ensure we got in without long line-ups, Elisabetta asked if she could make them for us which she did in a flash. She really made our stay so much better. Our room was lovely, clean, comfortable, and well taken care of. Even though we were in the heart of everything, our room was quiet and we were able to sleep easily. The breakfast room is small and cosy and Elisabetta made sure to bring us our favourites each day. Coffee, tea and fruit were available throughout the day. We would highly recommend Relais Del Duomo to everyone and would stay there again should we be lucky enough to return to Florence some day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Relais del Duomo was highly recommended by friends who had stayed a few years back - and their recommendation was spot on!. My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights early October 2012. It is located in the heart of Florence, right next to the Duomo. Easy to get to from the train station. Room was good sized, with wardrobe, desk, and tv. Air conditioning was available, but not needed during our stay. Bathroom was cozy, but with strong water pressure. Elisabetta was the perfect hostess, very warm and inviting. Elisabetta was very responsive to our emails and answered all our questions. Prior to us arriving, she arranged our excursion day trip, and made the reservations to the Academia, and Uffizi Gallery - a must to avoid lines. At breakfast time, she made it a point to remember what we liked. I highly recommend Relais del Duomo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Not only is the location great, in the middle of the centre of Florence, but the B&B itself is also super clean and very comfortable. Breakfast is good for Italian standards, with enough choice and good coffee! In addition, even though the B&B is next to the Duomo, we had no problems with (street) noise.
The highlight of our stay there was actually Elizabetta, who is already ready to answer any questions you may have, give directions and recommendations. A very warm and welcoming person, who made a great difference to our fantastic stay in Florence!

We'll be coming back here for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais del Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais del Duomo

Address: Piazza dell'Olio, 2, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais del Duomo is located at the first floor of a historic Florentine palace of 1700, carefully restored. You will find a quit atmosphere in the four rooms, three doubles and one single, furnished in Florentine style. Each room has its own private bathroom with shower; air-conditioned; television; safe. The rich breakfast is always included in the price. Free Wi-fi. The bed and breakfast Relais del Duomo has a prime location in the center of Florence, it's at two steps from Piazza Duomo; 5 minutes by foot form the train station Santa Maria Novella, Galleria degli Uffizi, Piazza della Signoria, Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Relais del Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Del Duomo Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais del Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.