We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY, VERY , VERY NICE!! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First of Florence Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added First of Florence Residence to your Saves list
First of Florence Residence
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Via dei Servi 38 | angolo via Alfani, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“VERY, VERY , VERY NICE!! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were 7 ladies who stayed at this marvellous Bed & Breakfast for 3 nights, - and we were so pleased with the choice of hotel in Florence. The B & B itself is wonderful with very spacious and comfortable rooms and Laura has to be one of the most service minded persons in the whole of Italy. She took such great care of us and easily arranged all things we asked for. The nice breakfast is served in a small and cozy restaurant just across the street and the staff was so nice there as well. The hotel is in the middle of EVERYTHING in Florence. All the museums, churches and shopping streets are within short walking distances, which is very convenient as Florence has so many things to see. We highly recomend this place for ALL visitors for florence!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    39
    6
    0
    5
See reviews for
112
34
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Family of five. Beautiful spacious and luxurious. A fantastic value if traveling with more than to. Location is perfect and central. Laura took such great care of us and we loved the breakfast place... The OK bar. The guys working there were so wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

First of Florence is a nice bed and breakfast in the heart of Florence. Located between the Statue of David and the Duomo Cathedral, it is an excellent place to start your days in Florence. The room we had had a first floor living area that included a full kitchen, complementary bottle of wine and fruit basket. The sleeping area was on the loft above the living area. Breakfast was located at a nice little cafe across the street. Everything was perfect except for the mosquito situation. The windows for the room were open when we checked in and we promptly closed them, but it was too late because several mosquitoes must of found good hiding places in the room. While waiting for my wife to shower, I was bitten several times and we had to sleep with the sheets over our heads in order to not be bitten. I think Florence must have been having a mosquito situation as a whole because as we walked from the train station to the hotel I saw several tourists that had their legs ravished by bugs. Overall a great hotel, but watch out for the mosquitos in the summer...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We are a family of Grandparents, 3 adult children, their spouses and 9 grandchildren under the age of 12 yrs. We had stayed in Rome for a week and Naples for 3 nights. Now in Florence for 4 nights. We booked 4 Apartamento's We all enjoyed staying here. A really good location. We could see the Duomo as we stepped out of the door. The apartamento's were clean and spacious with washer and dryer in the kitchen. The welcome was great with a bowl of fruit on the table and food in the fridge plus a bottle of red wine. I would recommend this to all families with children. We left Florence for Venice. See my review under Residenzia Cannareggio

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our family of 4 walked from the main train terminal to the First of Florence with some difficulty because we didn't bring a proper map (our fault) but once we figured out where to go, we realized it wasn't difficult to get there on foot. We walked through the huge doors to a old fashion cage elevator, but had to take the stairs since the elevator was under repair. It was back in service that evening and we used it regularly during our stay.

Laura greeted us with a smile and was courteous and helpful to show us the apartment we were renting (surprisingly, the entrance door was right behind her counter). Laura explained where everything could be found in the apartment from kitchen items to the air conditioners in each area.

The rooms had everything we needed, including a complimentary bottle of wine. The main window was huge that extended up to the second floor and the room was tastefully decorated with pictures and paintings; Florence style. The loft bedroom area was a treat for our teens with ample closet space. The main bedroom was clean and also had a large closet. The bathroom was complete and large with mirrors, a bidet, toilet, dryer and glass shower. Taking a shower caused some water on the floor to accumulate but was dried by a quick wipe with a towel and turning on the tile heater. I'm sure they will have this fixed soon if not already.

A free daily breakfast was arranged with the restaurant across the street from the main door and we were greeted every morning by Fabio. The food and coffee was delicious.

The location of these apartments is a 5 minute walk to the main piazza area and provided a perfect base to explore the rest of Florence on foot. Everything was close or a 5 - 10 minute walk away (the mercato, Tullio's gelatoria, Uffizi museum etc.).

It was quite hot in Italy during our stay and by the time we arrived in Florence, our clothes needed a washing. It was nice that there was a washer/dryer in the apartment (conspicuously located behind a cabinet door like the dishwasher) that we used. We never used this type of portable clothes washer before but found the manual in a drawer, along with the manual to the dishwasher). If you are staying there, make sure you ask Laura how to use these appliances.

We enjoyed staying at the First of Florence and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Ask Laura how to use the dishwasher and washer if you don't know how. Otherwise read the manual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We arrived at the First of Florence not really knowing what to expect. We were amazed. Laura, the owner took care of every one of our needs. Our 'apartamento" was equipped with a lovely bathroom, well stocked kitchen, beautiful, immaculately clean bedrooms and the linens smelled wonderful. Every attention to detail had been looked after. It was located only a block from the hustle and the bustle..and yet it was worlds apart. Thank you Laura!
The Duciaume Family

Room Tip: I would most certainly stay here again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We loved this place. First, we are a family of 5 so it was nice to have a kitchen. Our kids were getting tired of pizza and pasta. The rooms are nicely done, we two fold out sofas, two queen beds in two levels so it worked out great. It is an open floor plan, but we did have one complete room to put the noisy boys in which allowed them to get to sleep easily. Breakfast is included across the street at a cafe, In your room with the kitchen they provide on arrival fresh fruit, pasta to cook, sauce, some bread, wine, and other items to make things a bit easier for you. There is a market down the street for food, the attractions are all very close. You really get the feel of living in the city by staying here. We have been in Italy for over a week now so it was also nice to have the combo washer/dryer. The dryer part does not work great, but if you take clothes out hot and hand them on the rack they give you, they dry fast.

Room Tip: Each room is different, so you may want pictures. Most are on the street, which can be a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First of Florence Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First of Florence Residence

Address: Via dei Servi 38 | angolo via Alfani, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First of Florence Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Of Florence offers a series of elegant and refined apartments providing comfortable, independent accommodation, to enjoy the city at your own pace. The First Of Florence suites are conveniently close to the Duomo Cathedral, which you can reach through a short pleasant walk amongst the beauties of the historic centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your First of Florence Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Of Florence Residence
First Of Florence Residence Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First of Florence Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.