We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arco Antico B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Arco Antico B&B to your Saves list
Arco Antico B&B
Via Faenza 107, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 522 Florence B&B and Inns
Krakow
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Very good place, friendly, clean, located just next to the congress centre. The only issue one may found problematic is that a breakfast is given not earlier then 8.30.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    66
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
69
21
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

We may count ourselves unfortunate not to witness or experience first hand the legendary services of Matteo when we are there in July.

Another guy (can't recall his name) who was there instead SHOULD do much much better. Yeah we have the usual recommendations to places of interest like all other hosts would.. That's fair enough.

However services leave much to be desired. In the morning when we are supposed to check out, we told him at 9am that we may check out slightly late as we would like to go for other sightseeing, but be back 1pm the latest. However, he told us that he needed the room to be cleaned up for another guest by then. So we were told to pack our things and check out immediately before we go for our sightseeing. That's fine. HOWEVER when we came back around 130pm (only to collect luggage in hallway), we found that the room we stayed in was untouched at all.. No clean up or no guest at all.. Whats all the fuss about making us rush and check out.. Negative points for that. Second, expected breakfast to be good given how the reviewers here raved about it. Well, we also didn't have enough food for breakfast, he told us that bread ran out. Negative again.

In short, really thumbs down for all the expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Don't get the wrong impression at the entrance in the building, at the time of our visit (July 2011) they were reconstructing it. Upstairs (there is a small elevator) the B&B looks like an oasis. The room (No 1) was cozy, new, with lots of light, and facing to the green area of Palazzo dei Congressi, so the traffic noise was not direct. The rooms have a free wifi access (very stable and strong), AC and electric mosquito repellent, a must in Firenze. Hairdryers are available at the desk. Rooms are daily cleaned and linings daily changed. Continental breakfast with different types of coffee made on request, freshly baked croissants and even freshly baked cake! If needed the breakfast can be served earlier than usually. Great position. The center and the main attractions are only 5-10 minutes away walking. Train station and bus station only a couple of minutes away.
The owner Matteo is really friendly and helpful, ask him for directions or advices or anything.
Overall the experience at Arco Antico was excellent and I would strongly advice it for a short or a long staying. I stayed there for business for 6 nights and I appreciated the vicinity of the Congress center (Palazzo dei Congressi).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

What a great place! Located conveniently close to just about everything you'd want to visit in Florence, Arco Antico is a wonderful place to stay- and right around the corner from the train station so you don't have to drag your bags all over the place. It's within a 5 minute walk of everywhere and is a great place to lay your head at the end of the day. Clean and bright- but the real star here is the owner, Matteo, who goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and help you out with whatever you need in Florence. Matteo made ourmuseum reservations, gave us some great local recommendations, and put out a great breakfast every morning. Affordable too, a great choice!!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

It was my first time in Florence and travelling alone, the location of this place helped a lot. (Just pardon the sketch stairway up from the building..it's VERY CLEAN and bright inside) Stayed here for 2 nights..it's literally less than 5 minutes away from the firenze SMN train station. It's good to drop off all your stuff before starting your day into the city centre. It's 5 minutes away from the florence market (so u can go early in the morning)..and 10 minutes away from the Accademia gallery. It's also about 10 minutes to the Duomo..I walked to all the sights from here..and it was not a problem! There were a lot of restaurants to choose from down along via faenza too.

The single room itself was very spacious and comfy! Very clean, loved how the room came with its own washroom. Free wi-fi was a plus and everything you need is there! Matteo even had adapters for those who forgot to bring their own.

Matteo was very nice and helpful, and breakfast was served every morning with slightly different choices. The first morning was croissants and the second was apple pie! He gave me suggestions on where to go, and was very helpful all along even prior to my arrival through emails. If you need any information, just ask him!

Would definitely come back to stay here if I ever visit Florence again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Don't be expecting doormen and 24 hour reception, but this bed and breakfast is in a central location to the station and the old city, has an owner who provides wonderful and friendly service and is an excellent place to stay if you're looking for relatively cheap accommodation that doesn't also equate to uncomfortable and noisy.

The b&b is on the 3rd floor of an apartment building and the entrance is through a fairly smelly foyer. The elevator is tiny (and had us in stitches trying to fit ourselves in with our luggage). Any fears we had developed by the time we got to the door were quickly assuaged by the clean and spacious room. We spent the first night in the room by the stairwell which was too noisy for my very light sleeping partner (but I didn't notice the noise). When we approached Matteo the next day he immediately and with very good spirits arranged a room change for us. The second room was just as clean and comfortable as the first and lacked the sound of the elevator.

The breakfasts were fresh and tasty (although not hugely notable, consisting of the standard italian pastry breakfast plus cereal and toast) and Matteo knows how to make coffee (we were surprised at the number of hotels that burn coffee in Italy) which was a pleasant bonus.

Given our overall experiences with mid-range accommodation in Italy this place rates very highly to us. The beds were more comfortable than most places we stayed (my caveat is that Italian hotel beds seem to all be on the hard side, and these were just _less_ hard than others), but what really stands out was the friendly, helpful and gratious service provided by Matteo.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and had a lovely experience with Matteo. He is such a lovely gentleman. We arrived in the afternoon and we'd called ahead to let him know what time we'd be arriving - he wasn't at the Hotel when we got there but he'd left the key where he'd said. The first room we were in was beside the elevator and when I asked if we could swap rooms, Matteo was very accommodating and put us into the room furtherest from the elevator! His breakfasts were fresh and the coffee he made was tasty. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable but apparently there's no comfy beds anywhere in Italy. Again, Matteo was ever so kind and put extra padding under the sheet when asked.

I'd stay here again if we returned, it was excellent value for the price and we enjoyed being close to the sights and being looked after so well.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arco Antico B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arco Antico B&B

Address: Via Faenza 107, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arco Antico bed & Breakfast is located in a quiet side street, a few steps from Fortezza da Basso. Arco Antico is very close (5 minutes walking) to all the principal city's museums, churches and monuments, located in S. Lorenzo one of the most important shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Arco Antico B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arco Antico B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.