We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair accomodation, EXTREMELY LOUD!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Soggiorno La Cupola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Soggiorno La Cupola to your Saves list
Soggiorno La Cupola
Via Panzani 1, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #360 of 461 Hotels in Florence
West Palm Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fair accomodation, EXTREMELY LOUD!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The hotel was older, but did the job. Beautiful rooftop terrace to have a picnic/drinks and enjoy the view of the Duomo and the rest of Florence. One downside...... traffic noise, but the ambulance driving by with sirens wailing every 15 mins. for 3 days straight got to me eventually. The Ambulance must be stationed very close, because it was non-stop. Non english speaking staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    16
    7
    13
See reviews for
5
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We have stayed there for 2 nights. The location is perfect just in the middle of train station and Duomo. Bed is clean and good.

Bathroom is a little bit small, if you are below average in terms of height and weight, I do recommend you as a budget option in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Soggiorno La Cupola is on a great spot in Florence, more or less next to the Duomo. Its big roof terrace is amazing, with a great view of the church and bell tower and over the city. You can sit there day and night.

The room itself is small (especially the bathroom) but clean and has a nice italian atmosphere. Nice staff as well. Not around 24h/day but available when needed. Speaking italian is an advantage.

I would recommend this to anyone going to Florence!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

I should start by saying that our expectations were not really high (for ~$60 American what could we expect?) so what we got from Soggiorno La Cupola met, and in some cases exceeded, those expectations. Many other reviewers have mentioned that the staff (namely a woman who is perhaps the sole proprietor) is not very present and speaks only Italian. For us this worked well as we were not looking for any help or advice and preferred to come and go with little interaction. If we did need her, she provided her phone number to call. She was, too, upon check-in very friendly and animated in trying to communicate everything we needed to know, and this was after staying up late to meet us for our late arrival on a Saturday night.

The floor on which the B&B resides is fairly small, a cluster of five or six rooms off of a main sitting room/lobby. Our room was cozy and nicely appointed with a bottle of wine waiting for us at check in. We also found that the shutters/windows made the room nearly completely quiet at night, allowing both my husband and I to get solid and comfortable nights of sleep. The bathroom was tiny as others have said and the shower was slow to drain. Again, with lowered expectations (and knowing that we're staying in a building that is centuries old), it was great with us and was totally functional and reasonable for our entire three-night stay. If we had preferred, there was a larger communal bathroom and shower across the hall that we could have used.

Down the street and around the corner, we enjoyed our breakfast of juice, coffee and croissants each morning. We liked this arrangement of eating at a local cafe instead of a more traditional breakfast room with other travelers. The cafe's staff was friendly and hospitable, serving us at our table in typical restaurant fashion.

Our overall lodging and dining experience (not to mention the amazing rooftop terrace that other reviewers have written about) was a great kick-off to our stay in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, ca
1 review
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

Our experience at Soggiorno La Cupola was abysmal. A rude staff that made no effort to communicate with us (even though we were truly trying to speak Italian with them) and left us waiting outside the hotel for a total of three hours before we could even get in, horribly uncomfortable beds, dirty cramped bathroom, joke of a B&B "breakfast" at a neighboring restaurant where the staff seemed massively annoyed that we'd waste their time with the B&B's ticket, tons of street noise through poorly insulated windows... but a great view.

The long version:

When we first arrived, around 6:30 or 7pm, there was no one at the office. We stood outside the building buzzing the office for over an hour before giving up and walking to neighboring hotels (luggage in tow) to try to find a room. Finally we decided to give it one last try (around 9:30pm), and as we were walking up to the building once again, one of the staff members ran up asking if we were there for Soggiorno La Cupola. We told her we'd been waiting for over an hour, and she simply said "no inglese." When we tried to communicate in Italian (we know a little), she just ignored us.

As we were getting situated so that we could FINALLY grab a late dinner, she walked up to the room and barked at us in Italian then stomped away. We stood there kind of shocked, then my husband went off to the front desk to try to communicate. All she could get across was "you pay now." Payment upon check-in, after all we'd been through that night? We were seriously irked, but didn't feel like trying to communicate re: the necessity of pre-payment because at that point all we could think about was dinner.

We stayed a total of three nights. Slept (if you could call it sleeping through the noise from the street) on terribly uncomfortable beds, squeezed ourselves into the tiny cramped and dirty bathroom to shower, and never saw another staff member the entire time. We'd hoped to get some help navigating the city, restaurant recommendations, etc. but no dice. I left hating Florence, which is a real shame.

It was just awful and totally soured our vacation. I am very used to budget hotels and cringe at spending more than ~$100 US/night, but this was beyond ridiculous. NOT a good value. I'd rather have spent twice as much for a normal budget hotel than suffer at this hole.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Apart from the location and rooftop, I didn't think this hotel was anything special. It was really hard to communicate with the staff. Rooms were ok, bathroom was tiny for a petite person like myself. Place was ok for an overnight stay, don't think I'd stay here any longer than that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annakrohn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

The staff here speaks little English so communication can be a bit difficult. But they are full of smiles and try their best to help. Breakfast is not at the b&b but at a cafe which actually worked out better for us. The best reason to stay here is the amazing terrace - perfect place to relax after a long of sightseeing. But be warned that there is no elevator so you will need to climb the stairs to take advantage of the view.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soggiorno La Cupola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno La Cupola

Address: Via Panzani 1, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Soggiorno La Cupola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno La Cupola Florence
Soggiorno La Cupola Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soggiorno La Cupola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.