We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tourist House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tourist House to your Saves list
Hotel Tourist House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Scala 1, 50123 , Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #229 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Hotel is very well situated: 5 min from the train station and 5 min from the Duomo. It's just on the corner of the Piazza Santa Maria Novella. Clean with spacious AC rooms. Staff has been very friendly and professional. We've stayed just for one day, so we havwen't had any special requests. The basic things were just fine. Breakfast was ok: coffee or tea, croissant, juice, nutella, and jams, just the breakfast room is quite tiny, but we didn't mind. As the weather was nice, we sat at the garden.
And, they have great free wi-fi connection (in the rooms as well). And you can leave your luggage for the whole day, for free.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panterix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The customer service at this location is great! The staff has been very accommodating and very patient with me even though I don't speak Italian. They have done everything that they could to make me feel welcome. Hotel is in great location downtown and is very affordable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PfMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

this is our second visit to The tourist house- Florence mainly because of its location. Situated near the train station and within walking distance to all the major attractions . It is very basic but clean the rooms are large which is more than can be said for the breakfast room, if more than four people want breakfast at the same time - it is a tight fit! but not a meal to linger over with so much to see. The breakfast consists of a roll and coffee.
The only problem is there is nowhere to sit other than your room and if the weather is bad ( as it was for us ) there is only so much walking in the rain you can cope with in a day!
There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms
Overall you get what you pay for a reasonably priced central room at an affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was on a solo four week trip over northern Italy and Florence was my second stop. The hotel was 5 minutes walk from the train station and at least 5 minutes to the closest tourist spot (Duomo and Arno River are just 5 minutes walk). Lots of restaurants, coffee shops, pizzerias, convenience stores in the area. Location is great. Small room with a big comfortable bed. TV and fridge worked. Usual small toilet and bath. Room with free wifi and it was cleaned everyday. What was annoying was the unfriendly lady receptionist (she looked politically healthy) - I shower 2 times a day even in winter and the bathroom only had one big towel - the classic thin Italian style towel. So I asked for a second towel which I said I need everyday. I used the word "if possible" and she said for the price I paid, which was 37 euros per day and I stayed 6 nights, I got a bargain and should not ask for a second towel and that they are not a hotel and do not have 24 hour service. I said to her "if possible" and she repeated that my room was already cheap why should I ask for a second towel as it will cost them extra to wash the towel. This woman had the audacity to say that to me and I said that it is not my fault that I got the room for a cheap price. This was my 4th visit to Florence and the first time that such bad customer service was displayed to me here in this city. In my experience travelling the world and having visited Italy for at least 10 times in the past since 1985, I classify Italians with a low sense of customer service. My experience with Tourist House is ranked among the lowest Italian customer service I have experienced. I did get a second towel everyday for 6 days. The hotel location is great but I will not stay here because this hotel does not understand customer service. I know the Italian attitude is I do not care as there are millions of tourists who will replace you - my response is, well I have the money and I will not do business with you. I recommend this hotel if you do not need a second towel.

Room Tip: Do not ask for a second towel as the lady receptionist is rude and does not have customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juanmanuelrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on the second leg of our trip. Located close to the train station. Within walking distance to main attractions. The room was very large and clean, although there was a bit of a stuffy smell. Continental breakfast was not that great. Overall, decent hotel for budget price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is located in an old Toscan building, with double colorful shutters, like you will see many in Florence. It is 5 min. away from the train station and 10 minutes walk from most sites (Accademia, Uffizi, Duomo) which is very convenient for visiting all day long. It has free Wi-Fi. The room was clean and staff nice, when leaving we could leave our luggages all day. Towels provided are so thin that they are more like sheets (they are replaced everyday, though). There is no breakfast but they recommend you go to the café nearby, where the waiter was obnoxious and food so-o, I advise you eat a paninoand a cappuccino somewhere else. Definetely not a romantic place but a honest option for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is not a "Bells and Whistles" hotel. Rather it provides neat, basic accommodation in a very central location. The rooms are of a reasonable side and quite comfortable. Although a jug/kettle would have been appreciated.
Staff are very helpful and run through the basics of the room.
Continental breakfast is included from 7am at the downstairs eatery.
Easy walk to station and town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeriatricJypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Crocini
Hotel Crocini
#109 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#95 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#162 of 418 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Universo
Universo
#258 of 418 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#179 of 418 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#123 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tourist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tourist House

Address: Via della Scala 1, 50123 , Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tourist House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tourist House*** Florence Set right in Santa Maria Novella square, overlooking one of Florence's most important churches, the HOTEL TOURIST HOUSE*** offers spacious rooms housed in a historic building. All rooms are equipped with: Private Bathroom, WC, Toilet,Shower, Free toiletries, Hairdryer, Air Conditioning, Desk, Fan, Heating, Flat-screen TV, Refrigerator. Florence's churches, galleries, markets and shops are all just a short stroll from Tourist House. Santa Maria Novella train station is just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tourist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist House Hotel Florence
Tourist Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing