We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff in Hilton chain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Florence Metropole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Florence Metropole to your Saves list
Hilton Florence Metropole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Cavallaccio 36, 50142 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 30%
Ranked #180 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Best Staff in Hilton chain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

It was great stay we were in Hilton Metropole for two nights with group of friends. Our rooms were on the same floor with city view. Definitely we will return there. Breakfast was great - full choice of everything ;) Hotel is not in the downtown but free shuttle bus is perfect solution. Hotel has a great spa and fitness center. Rooms are modern and the beds are great. The biggest plus of this hotel is great staff - nothing was a problem for them. Special thanks to two girls from front desk - Serena Canzano and trainee girl they helped us to arrange whole stay and many thanks to Leo from restaurant :) - I can fully recommend Hilton Florence Metropole.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with city view - about 25 minutes by shuttle bys to the City Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are really happy and we thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are extremely proud of guarantee a great service as per guest's expectations!
See you soon in Florence in the future!

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    522
    228
    78
    34
See reviews for
190
504
48
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The staff of Hilton Metropole are extremely friendly and helpful. Friendly smiles at check-in and check-out. Rooms are bright and clean. Hotel is close to airport and provides a shuttle bus to downtown. I stay here whenever I visit Florence.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are really happy and we thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
We are extremely proud of guarantee a great service as per guest's expectations!
See you soon in Florence in the future!

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was my 3rd time that I've stayed at this hotel but the first time arriving late at night from the airport. For some reason, the hotel does not have airport shuttle bus service even though it is relatively close. The only option for me was the taxi which was a easy 10 minutes ride that cost about 18 euros with 3 luggages.

The hotel offers regular shuttle bus to the Santa Maria Novella train station which is a ideal if you are traveling by train. Aside from the bowling ally / movie theatre next door and the pizza restaurant across the street there isn't much to do around the area as it is mostly residential.

My room was on the 14th floor with access to executive lounge on the 15th floor. The room was clean and comfortable, however, small details hinted that the hotel is starting to show its age. For example, the outdated, small and barely functional tv. However, the room was comfortable.

My room window was not sound proof. The window faced the highway and the sound of speeding cars was very apparently especially in the morning. I was also awaken by local rooster very early in the morning. I would definitely ask to be put on the other side facing away from the highway.

Wifi worked well and reliable throughout the hotel. Breakfast buffet was good...pretty standard for a Hilton. Executive lounge breakfast was very limited in selection but it does offer an excellent view of Tuscany. Overall service was good.

If you're planning to vacation in Florence I recommend booking a hotel closer to the city center. The shuttle option to and from the train station is nice but limited. One way ride can take as long as 30 minutes during rush hour. This hotel is more suitable for business and airport overnight stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to review our Hotel.
We are waiting for your return and we really hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Having read a range of reviews on this hotel, we were slightly worried but there was no need to! The staff at this hotel are all outstanding - we felt like we were part of a family and as we were celebrating an anniversary, we were upgraded to a suite and given a bottle of sparkling wine and strawberries. Perhaps best though were the lovely words on the card that accompanied the wine. Yes, this hotel does have oddities - the funny sliding panel in the bathroom, but you are in Italy - go with the style! Yes, you do have to take the shuttle bus but we organised ourselves, the bus was always on time and we were delighted to leave Florence at the end of the day and escape to the Executive lounge which was beautiful and very proficiently run. Nothing was ever too much bother for any of the staff - we had lots of questions when planning our visit which were always promptly and fully answered by the concierge before and during our stay. A big thank you to everyone at the hotel for making our stay so memorable in all the right ways.

Room Tip: Recommend executive rooms for access to the executive lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

your review made us really happy and satisfied! Thank you for taking the time to share all this important information with the Tripadvisor users!

Kinds Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed at Hilton Florence Metropole for four nights and were upgraded to a corner view room thanks to being loyal Hilton guests. Hotel was a typical Italian Hilton, rather chaotic at times.

We asked for a room with a double bed, but were instead given one with two single beds put together, something every couple would hate. OK, we accepted and did not complain.

Breakfast was a limited choice for a Hilton hotel, and the breakfast room was chaotic and dirty at times.

We wanted to use the swimming pool, as it was advertised as the biggest whirlpool in town, but to our disappointment - it was "under maintenance" for the whole duration of our stay, something that was not mentioned on the hilton.com website. The gym we found quite dark and depressive.

Location is probably the worst one in the whole city of Florence. They do offer a limited transfer service to downtown, but they do not run frequently enough and are on a first-come - first-served basis, where many people are left without a seat on the minibus.

Executive lounge was nice though, with a nice view over the city.

As much as we, as HHonors Diamond members, like Hilton, and as much as we hate giving bad reviews - this one we found ourselves obliged to give.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay, and we really thank you for you review because your comment is helpful to understand what customers want and what is important to improve.

Hoping to welcome you again in Florence,
Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandywine, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Hilton Florence Metropole with a friend for 5 days in September. For the positives, it was a comfortable quiet hotel with lots of amenities. Comfortable beds with adequate space for 2 people. For the negatives, the hotel is not in an ideal location for someone here on vacation and looking to explore. It is miles from city center meaning you need a car or can use the hotel shuttle. Thankfully we didn't have any of the drama that others mentioned where they ran out of seats. But I felt that we had to schedule EVERYTHING around the shuttle schedule which I found highly annoying. So no late dinners or staying late in the city (unless you take a cab). Honestly this hotel wasn't selected by me and I only agreed to stay there because of the shuttle service. But if you are looking for a hotel where you are close to the action (city center) with easy walking access to many of the city's famous sites, this hotel is not for you. I feel that it is probably more geared toward business travelers. Another annoyance was wifi was only free in the lobby and in order to access it you have to obtain password slips from the front desk EVERY 8 hours (as once it is activated it expires 8 hours later). So if I am back in Florence for business and won't be checking out the city, I would consider staying here again. But for a vacation trip, not at all.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay, and we really thank you for you review because your comment is helpful to understand what customers want and what is important to improve.

Hoping to welcome you again in Florence,
Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in Hilton Metropole in beginning of November.
To be fair the Hotel is great in its services, breakfast,cleanliness and others.

The only problem is that it is far from the city. The hotel have a shuttle bus which has a fixed schedule to go in & out of the city. We had a small baby so it was a bit difficult for us to stick to shuttle bus limited timings so we ended up taking taxis up & down to the city.I believe they should have the shuttle bus trips more frequent.

Due our limited schedule,we had to relocate to a hotel inside the city. Probably our specific case required us to reside closer to the city. But if I have the choice again, even if I'm single I will not stay away from the city knowing that you are paying the same amount in good quality hotels inside Florence.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay in Florence.
We are extremely sorry for the unsatisfactory experience you had during your stay.

In the meantime we really apologize for any inconvenience and, please, rest assured of our best care.
Best and kindest regards.

Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Cosmopolitan Concept Hotel
#118 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
The Style Florence
The Style Florence
#429 of 457 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
AC Hotel Firenze by Marriott
#198 of 457 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Hotel Touring Florence
#117 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Florence Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Florence Metropole

Address: Via del Cavallaccio 36, 50142 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#81 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#91 Business Hotel in Florence
#117 Family Hotel in Florence
#160 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Florence Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Florence Metropole is a contemporary hotel with a strategic location adjacent to all important traffic hubs. It is only 3 km (10 minutes) away from the Florence International Airport and the city business district. The historic city centre and the Duomo Cathedral are easily reachable with the complimentary shuttle bus service (29 seats) available every day on an hourly basis (timetables available at the Front Desk).The 15-floors building offers, from the Executive Lounge’s terrace, a breathtaking view of Florence. It has 212 guestrooms - including 32 Executive rooms, 22 deluxe and 4 suites. Each guest room is furnished with a warm, contemporary style; wooden floor and spacious marble bathrooms can ensure maximum comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is provided of external free parking (50 boxes) and undergroud garege (80 boxes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hilton Florence Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Florence Metropole Hotel Florence
Florence Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Florence Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.