We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great except for location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Florence Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Florence Metropole to your Saves list
Hilton Florence Metropole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Cavallaccio 36, 50142 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #165 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great except for location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is about as far out as you can get in Florence, although the advantage this offers is quite a good view of the city.

Stayed as a HHonors Gold, got a nice upgrade and a tasty gift. Rooms and lobby seemed quite new/refurbished.

The only disappointment was the exec lounge, which was tragic. It was like the ugly second cousin of a standard Hilton exec lounge (in terms of both ambiance and food/drinks available), although to be fair this is a Metropole class property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

we really thank you for your kind comment and we are sorry for any inconvenience you had during your recent stay in Florence.
Hoping to welcome you soon!
Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    415
    182
    65
    24
See reviews for
152
404
47
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Modern decor and very comfortable beds. But add extra 20 minutes each way for shuttle time to city center. Staff not very friendly, at least on the day we checked in. Internet is complimentary, but only in lobby. My kids were really looking forward to swimming in the pool, but it was closed for maintenance/improvements.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay, and we really thank you for you review because your comment is helpful to understand what customers want and what is important to improve.

Hoping to welcome you again in Florence,
Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Florence Metrropole for one night in early June. This is an excellent hotel! I had read reviews on Tripadvisor before we stayed there and frankly, I was worried about the location and quality. We are Hilton Gold members and were staying on points, so we booked. What an incredibly pleasant surprise! I only have great things to say about this hotel!!! The parking is free and it is a very easily accessible hotel from the highway. We arrived at the hotel in late morning and the front staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. They checked us in quickly and notified the shuttle driver to wait for us til we completed check in. The shuttle was extremely convenient and dropped us right downtown. After a lovely day in Florence, we returned to our room, which was upgraded to a city view on a top floor. There was a gift waiting for us, since my husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary. So nice!!! The room was modern, very clean and comfortable. We were given access to the Executive Lounge which was excellent. I can't say enough about the wonderful, friendly staff that supervise the lounge. They keep the food, which changes and is available all day, and the drinks well stocked. We were hungry when we got to the lounge and just ended up eating the meats, cheeses and other foods as our dinner. We enjoyed the beautiful rooftop view of the sunset and the company of other guests from around the world. We stayed there for hours. The next morning, I realized I had left my purse accidentally in the lounge overnight. It had 300 Euros and all of my identification in it. You can imagine how panicked and stupid i felt. When we asked the attendant if anyone had turned it in, she went overto a drawer at the attendant stand and retrieved it for us. You can imagine my gratitude and relief when I checked and found everything intact. Can't say enough about that and how grateful we were. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of options. Checkout was a breeze and the staff at the front desk gave us a beautiful book of pictures of Tuscany as a remembrance of our stay. Again, over the top! This is a very excellent hotel and I can't wait to go back and stay again. After this stay we went to the Waldorf in Rome, another beautiful property. But, I will tell you, the attention from the staff at the Florence Metropole was superior to the Waldorf. We loved our stay! 5 Stars in my book!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very very much for your special review.
I am pleased to read that you had a good stay; guest's positive feedback is the aim of our job!
Grazie

Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very nice hotel, with large rooms. brand new facility. Even it is located far way from Florence downtown, they have a transport service that helps a lot. Nice restaurant, but with few option only for dinner. Located in a quiet place with a nice view for the region

Room Tip: Better view in Higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comment... we try to improve our service and performances and this kind of considerations are very useful for us.
Hoping to welcome you again and guarantee a comfortable stay in the future, we send our

Best regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

However it is a bit of a trek from florence itself - they do have a complimentory shuttle bus but it doesn't run past 2240 so it's an early night every night of 20 Euros for a taxi back. Hotel was clean and the staff friendly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s a pleasure to read your comment you shared with all Tripadvisor users.
Please be sure we always try to do our best paying attention to every detail.
Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good points
Shuttle bus service
Convenient for motorway network
Executive lounge outside terraces

Disappointments
Relaxation spa bath out of service and no pool at the hotel
Nothing else to do near to the hotel.

We stayed for four nights as part of a longer visit to Tuscany and had a great time. As other reviewers have said, the hotel has a very good shuttle bus service into the town centre. We used it on two mornings but it does not return between 1pm and 4pm so each afternoon we just got a taxi back rather than wait in the town. Taxi price varied between 13 Euros and 17 Euros depending on where we got the cab and the day (Sunday rates are higher). The hotel is well situated for access to the motorway network so is ideal for visiting other towns in the area. However, there is nothing else to do in the area of the hotel apart from a rather down market bowling/cinema/bar complex next door from which we did hear some noise late at night.

We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food and service was good and there are three menus so plenty of choice. Breakfast was what you would expect from the Hilton chain but surely they can afford a new toaster as the old one is ancient and does not work well!

We had an Executive king room which was quite small but fine for a couple. As others have noted, the bathroom does have a glass panel between the bedroom and the bathroom but there is a sliding wooden shutter so complete privacy is possible. The Executive lounge is one of the better ones we have been to although the same savouries are served each evening which gets a bit boring and shows a lack of imagination on behalf of the hotel. The best bit of the Executive lounge is the outside terraces which are covered but open on three sides and these are a great, cool places to sit with a drink and talk with other travellers.

There is plenty of parking at the hotel but we parked in their underground car park which was almost deserted. This way, our car stayed cool and, although the price was shown as 10 Euros s day, we were not charged. We were given free wifi whilst at the hotel and this worked well but I think this should be only for Gold HHonors members so we did not really qualify!

The location has its good and bad points but the Executive lounge terraces are wonderful and we would certainly stay here again if we are in Florence.

Room Tip: Go for an Executive room to get lounge access. You can see the Cathedral from the city view rooms bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

your words perfectly describe the wonders of our Hotel and we would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor users. We paid attention to every detail in the structure and we are happy when our customers are surprised and fascinated.

We really hope to welcome you soon!

Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was a very clean hotel with friendly staff and a really nice rooftop sitting area.

The only negative is that it's not very close to the city so you have to depend on hourly shuttles to get you into town. Also, the schedule of the shuttles is not the same every day and on some days, they aren't hourly. I would recommend this hotel as long as you are ok with being so dependent upon the shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment concerning your stay at our Hilton Florence Metropole.
We always try to improve our service and performances in order to guarantee a comfortable stay for our guests.
Hoping to welcome you again in Florence, we send our

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Florence Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Florence Metropole

Address: Via del Cavallaccio 36, 50142 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#71 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#78 Business Hotel in Florence
#101 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Florence Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Florence Metropole is a contemporary hotel with a strategic location adjacent to all important traffic hubs. It is only 3 km (10 minutes) away from the Florence International Airport and the city business district. The historic city centre and the Duomo Cathedral are easily reachable with the complimentary shuttle bus service (29 seats) available every day on an hourly basis (timetables available at the Front Desk).The 15-floors building offers, from the Executive Lounge’s terrace, a breathtaking view of Florence. It has 212 guestrooms - including 32 Executive rooms, 22 deluxe and 4 suites. Each guest room is furnished with a warm, contemporary style; wooden floor and spacious marble bathrooms can ensure maximum comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is provided of external free parking (50 boxes) and undergroud garege (80 boxes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Florence Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Florence Metropole Hotel Florence
Florence Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Florence Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.