We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid This Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence La Contessina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence La Contessina to your Saves list
Residence La Contessina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Faenza 71 | From Via Cennini to Via Nazionale, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
central city
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid This Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We booked and paid for this hotel 9 months in advance. When we arived they had given our rooms to someone elso and had no room. They then booked us in another hotel which was lower rated. When we asked for some adjustment on the cost they flatly refused. Do not trust them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    111
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
205
128
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

In November, 2009, we booked and paid in full for 5 rooms, 2 nights, 9 guests. Upon arrival at 7 PM, we were told the rooms were not available, and they split us up into 3 separate hotels, one of which was clearly an inferior hotel, mold on the shower, no hot water, etc. They booked us for 3 of our 5 rooms in that cheap hotel. The next morning, we asked to be moved back to La Contessina, but they said they were unable to do that. The day we left, we asked the manager, Mario for compensation of 1/2 our room rate, and he refused. "It is impossible to give refunds!" Our initial agreement states that no refunds are given if cancellation occurs later than 10 days before arrival. You can bet they would have pocketed our money had we not shown up. Don't let La Contessina cheat you!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Nice location, spacious family room. The breakfast largely consists of cake. The staff was friendly enough, but we got the feeling that they prefer the kind of guest that doesn't smile on a daily basi and only wants to visit the cathedral.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
I'm very sorry you don't feel welcomed here with us. Usually we have guests coming to visit museum, and famous arts sites of Florence (including cathedral) but we are ready to help you in your turistic needings as concert tickets, restaurants, wine tasting, congress and meeting and what so ever. Probably you are right, art is our daily bread, but really we are very happy to help our guest in their exigences.
I really invite you to visit us again to let you change idea.

Chiara Pelagotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

It was spacious and two stories, however the bathroom was not the cleaniest.

Its basically like staying in an apartment, it is close to the train station which is nice if your backpacking through Europe.

The train station is father from the central part of Florence (area around Duomo and Uffizi) however Florence is a small city you can walk from one end to the other in 20 mins. The Duomo is about 10 min walk away from the hotel.

Also the hotel will let you use they're bicycles for free if you are concerned about the walk.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

we stayed here for 4 nights in an apartment for 3 people. The hotel is mini-apartment style, so one bed was in a loft area on the second floor and the kitchen, bathroom, and sofa bed were downstairs. The kitchen does cost extra to use. Our room had a tv/computer with internet for extra. It was very nice to have so much space after being in small hotels during the rest of our stay in Europe. The room, beds, and bathroom were very clean. The only problem was the shower didn't drain well, so you had to turn it off and wait before rinsing off. My sister who had studied abroad in Florence before, said it was a common problem since the city is so old, the pipes don't work well.

The hotel is very close to the train station, and kinda farther than a lot of hotels to the central part of Florence. However, Florence is a fairly small city, so we could still walk to the Duomo, Accademia, and riverside in around 15-20 minutes from the hotel. Also, the area has plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Since it is close to the train station, walking that direction didn't seem as safe at night, however if you walked towards were the sights are it seemed fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The rooms are so valuable in this hotel, really cool apartment-rooms, the staff are so friendly and helpful. We only stayed for one night but it was walking distance to everything worth visiting in Florence and I would definitely go there again.
The breakfast was not so good but the rooms and location of the hotel are excellent! Just behind the Train Station SMN

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal,Québec
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

This is a 5 minutes walk from the Train station and about 10 minutes from the old city center. The rooms are two levels so there's a lot of space (I have rarely see that in Europe) for a very decent price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence La Contessina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Contessina

Address: Via Faenza 71 | From Via Cennini to Via Nazionale, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Florence
#11 Family Hotel in Florence
#37 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence La Contessina 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aristocratic and Bohemian, classic and comfortable, residence La Contessina is a fresh and dynamic alternative to a hotel for a stay in the old town center of Florence. With an elegant and comfortable assortment of studios and full apartments, residence la Contessina is ideal for a lovely vacation but is also equipped for events and meetings. A multi-purpose hall, services and closeness to the Santa Maria novella train station, the conference center and Fortezza da Basso make residence La Contessina very attractive for family and business stays, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Residence La Contessina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Contessina Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence La Contessina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.