We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay for Firenze!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence La Contessina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence La Contessina to your Saves list
Residence La Contessina
Via Faenza 71, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 461 Hotels in Florence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stay for Firenze!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed there with a friend for a 2 week italian course and the hotel was amazing. Perfect location: 10 min away from the Duomo on foot, 5 min away from Mercato Centrale and the train station, and from there 15 min away from most museums and highlights of Florence. In a street with resturants, a laundry place and supermarkets. Super comfortable, always clean, spacious and with anything you need, good wi-fi, and the breakfast was always varied and delicious!! The service was perfect. The family who runs it was always nice, hospitable, experienced and helpful. They made the reservations we needed for restaurants, museums and day trips. They even made sandwiches and had a snack for us to eat on the plane the day we left. I would stay there again without a doubt! Thank you so much for everything!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We remember you, a very good customer. We are happy that you did find comfortable with our central location. Via Faenza is very provided with everything: restaurants, supermarket, hairdresser, laundromat, ice-cream shop... Thanks for all the compliments about breakfast, wi-fi and the family. We hope to see you again in the Residence La Contessina.
A special greeting from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    99
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
188
110
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bethpage, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had an overall excellent experience here. The apartment was clean and spacious. The staff was extremely helpful with all our requests, especially making dinner reservations for us. Breakfast was wonderful...all you could think of to eat. In addition, the staff was very accommodating of the gluten free diet that some of us follow. They came out the first morning with a tray of gluten free cookies, crackers, etc. It is within walking distance from the train station and other main attractions of the city. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are very keen with the daily cleaning of the apartments, we are glad that you have enjoyed it. Our reception' Staff is always ready to help you for all kind of reservations, for dinner, museums... Thank you for the word about the breakfast. We want to meet all the needs, for this we have a wide range of gluten-free food. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit in Florence.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Loved this family run inn. It is in a great location. Walking distance to the Duomo, Uffizi, pedestrian market and other points of interest. The staff was hospitable and helpful. I would definitely recommend this inn to others.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us. We are glad to know that you appreciated our structure, location, the Staff and the family. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Residence La Contessina on a future visit in Florence.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location, near the railway/bus terminal and city centre and a lovely family run place, really nice people. i like the split level bedroom/general area. TVs are quite small, tough to follow anything like sport unless you are quite close up. There was no washing machine, we hoped to be able to wash some clothes at this stage of our trip. I was surprised that there was a 25 Euro fee if you were going to cook anything, it's an apartment!! The walls are quite thin, if you are a medium to light sleeper you will find it tough, could hear people either side going up and down the stairs in the adjoining apartments where the bedroom is upstairs but the toilet is downstairs. Breakfast was nice, good quality and a fair bit of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are glad that you have appreciated our breakfast, location and the kindness of the Staff. We are sorry that you felt not satisfied in full.
In the apartment there are two TVs , one is tv 32 inches and the other is 22 inches. In your reservation there wasn’t a specific request about the size of television. Our apartments are furnished with a kitchen, you can use free of charge the refrigerator, freezer, microwave and the boiler for the or coffee with the cups. With the extra-cost of Euro 25,00 for the kitchen we want give the possibility at all the people that no use it to spend less. The Euro 25,00 is to do the final sanitation. We have a laundry service which comes in the morning, takes your clots and comes back in the evening to give you back them. Our apartments are not furnished with a laundry machine, but in Via Faenza ( 1 minutes walking) there is an automatic washing machine. Our Reception is open 24 hours, to ensure that the stay of our guests is confortable. For that reason night Porter ( if advised) can ask to your neighbor ( in case that are noisy) to be quiet.
We hope that you come back, because our goal is guest' satisfaction and we would like succeed even with you.
Our Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel. The staff was very accommodating to my friend who just recently was released from the hospital and they made sure her accommodations met her needs. The staff was extremely helpful on directions and local places to eat. I would prefer to stay in the apartment room again although the standard rooms were neat, clean and serviced. This hotel has no bar or restaurant but is in close proximity to many, many trattorias. This hotel is in close walking distance to all the major attractions that Florence gas to offer. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are glad to know that you feel good at the Residence La Contessina. We always try to make our guests feel the best possible comfort and we are happy that we succeeded with you. We serve just the breakfast, we don't have the restaurant, but Via Faenza is full of restaurant ( all kind of prices and all kind of foods). We are very central to reach all the major attractions of Florence. We care a lot about the cleaning of rooms and we are happy that you see it. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of taking care of you on a future visit.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I have been privileged to call La Contessina my home away from home in Florence for many years. One of the most positive points is the opportunity to visit with the Pelagotti family all of whom are experienced hosts to travelers from around the world. Then there is the superb location........right in the heart of Florence and within easy walking to the Central Market, Student Market, Santa Maria del Fiore, Riccardi Chapel, Medici Chapel and Library, Palazzo Strozzi, Palazzo Davanzati and the list goes on and on. The train station is just around the corner and the shops, restaurants and even a language school are so convenient. But the best memory for me is the manner in which the Pelagotti family graciously serves 'la colazione' or breakfast so that the travelers can enjoy their beautiful city. DO NOT MISS THE CHANCE TO ENJOY BREAKFAST! The rooms are clean, spacious, well equipped and comfortable and the property is secure. Having just returned, I am already looking forward to my next visit. Mille Grazie!

Room Tip: I have stayed in several of the units through the years and have not been disappointed with any one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. Read your words is beautiful for us. We always try to do the best and we are happy that you have a pleasant memory of us. Sure to see you again in Florence, the Residence La Contessina wait you!
A special greeting from all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

we had a wonderful time at this family owned family run hotel.
the owners go out of the way to help and make your stay comfortable.
the breakfast served was very good.
we were a family of 4 and the apartment provided was really nice.
i would certainly visit this property again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site for us. We are glad to know that you appreciated our structure and breakfast. We always try to do the best for our guests and we are happy that we succeeded with you. It will be a pleasure to have you at the Residence La Contessina one more time.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence La Contessina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Contessina

Address: Via Faenza 71, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#27 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aristocratic and Bohemian, classic and comfortable, residence La Contessina is a fresh and dynamic alternative to a hotel for a stay in the old town center of Florence. With an elegant and comfortable assortment of studios and full apartments, residence la Contessina is ideal for a lovely vacation but is also equipped for events and meetings. A multi-purpose hall, services and closeness to the Santa Maria novella train station, the conference center and Fortezza da Basso make residence La Contessina very attractive for family and business stays, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence La Contessina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Contessina Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence La Contessina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.