We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence La Contessina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence La Contessina to your Saves list
Residence La Contessina
Via Faenza 71, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We travelled as a family of 3. The Hotel is most conveniently located ( just a 3 min walk from the station) and another 5 min walk to the city centre. Yet an oasis, quiet and well appointed, large spacious rooms and a very helpful front office. Would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a nice quiet stay in Florence, convenient and great value

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We always try to make live to our guests an oasis of peace and tranquility and we are happy that we have succeeded with you. We hope that you will return at Residence La Contessina in the not too distant future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    99
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
188
110
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The location is convenient, 5-minute walk to the tourist site.
The staff are always helpful and the room is very clean and comfortable. More importantly, their breakfast, especially the home-made bread comfort us a lot.

In short, it is a nice hotel with fair price, worth to stay and leave us quite a lot of pleasure.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend their apartment, the price is just a little higher than rooms, but with much bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review on the site following your stay with us. It is always gratifying to know that our guests spend a pleasant stay at Residence La Contessina. We wait you in Florence one more.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Staff are very nice and informative. Useful information were provided without any asks. Early breakfast could be arranged for my group as per request. It is not a budget hotel but worth to stay if you are looking for good service and value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,
we really appreciate your comment . As you well explained we are a little family management hotel and we like you get a "taylor made" accomodation. Our staff is happy to attend your request. Waiting to see you soon here with us.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

What an absolute pleasure it was to drive in to Residence La Contessina from the chaotic streets of Florence! It was a haven in the centre of the city. The staff who work here are all from the same family and greet you with warmth and sincerity. It was a delight to see our spacious room and to have a divine breakfast every morning, provided by the hotel.

We cannot rate Residence La Contessina highly enough. We also loved the resident cat, Rudy. Thank you for your hospitality. The Unite family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review, it is a pleasure give you a good experience of Florence! Hoping to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The owners of La Contessina were, in short, angels for us. My son and I left a horrendous place two doors down (a "guesthouse" which was a prison-like hostel). had a 10 a.m. appointment at the Academia, and had nothing else booked. We walked into the hotel and asked if we could pay the hotel to simply hold our luggage. Instead, the owners personally saw to it that we received a good rate and gave us a top-of-the-line apartment for four nights. They even rearranged furniture to accommodate us while a large group came in two days later. Their personal touch, genuine care, and hope that we leave with a good impression of Florence warmed our hearts and had us hugging and laughing as we left. These folks are marvelous. Toni and John-Michael (son)

Room Tip: Just ask. This family-run business would like nothing more than to make your stay fabulous. Front, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,
it has been a pleasure have you here! We are here to let you feel the real florentine family atmosphere. Thank you for your wonderfull words, we really appreciate. We hope to see you soon to let you try our news, as new cake at breakfast table and beauty and spa services available on request.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I booked this hotel well in advance of our travel. When we arrived we were told there was a problem; someone neglected to add our reservation in the book, and they were sold out. They did however set us up down the street at another hotel, which was one room with 3 twin beds. Not what we reserved or paid for! Very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,
we really apologize for the inconvenient occurred to you. Unfortunatly we are human and we wrong. We really hope to have you here again to change mind on us. Thank you to help us improving our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Indiana, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Convenient location. Had to descend two flights from master bedroom to bath. Pull-out sofa in living area uncomfortable. Up charge for use of kitchen. Breakfast was good. Parking difficult (off alley).



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
contessinaFirenze, Proprietario at Residence La Contessina, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your review, we really appreciate when guests help us to improve our service. We are sorry your sleeping don't be good, we are changing all the sofa beds (really you get one of the latest to change) with new and more confortable sofa beds. About the kitchen, we ask to pay a final cleaning toll to sanify all the pots, this service is included for longer stay. As you can understand we need a lot of time to do that and the rates of the apartments for few days are very cheap. About parking place, we are in the historical centre and the street are very ancient, but our staff are all at your disposal to help you in car managing to entry and go at any time. Hooping to see you soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence La Contessina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Contessina

Address: Via Faenza 71, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Florence
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#27 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aristocratic and Bohemian, classic and comfortable, residence La Contessina is a fresh and dynamic alternative to a hotel for a stay in the old town center of Florence. With an elegant and comfortable assortment of studios and full apartments, residence la Contessina is ideal for a lovely vacation but is also equipped for events and meetings. A multi-purpose hall, services and closeness to the Santa Maria novella train station, the conference center and Fortezza da Basso make residence La Contessina very attractive for family and business stays, as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence La Contessina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Contessina Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence La Contessina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.