We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely revisiting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda de' Ciompi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda de' Ciompi to your Saves list
Locanda de' Ciompi
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   via Pietrapiana, 28 | Via Pietrapiana, 28, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely revisiting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed here for almost two weeks and couldn't have asked for any more! The staff were fantastic and Philippe was extremely helpful with directions, bookings for attractions and museums, etc.

The location is great. No more than a 10 minute walk to most of the main attractions such as the Duomo, Michelangelo's David, the Uffizi, shops and restaurants.

Also a very easy walk to the station for any trips outside of Florence.

Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    43
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
106
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and felt as if we were in a local area with locals! The rooms are simple but, clean and comfortable. Reception was easy and friendly and we were given details of some fantastic places to eat. We walked everywhere easily.

Breakfast is included but, we had to go to a local cafe. We were a little peeved about this at first until we took our token to La Loggia. A fantastic cafe a very short walk with a great atmosphere and full of locals. Choosing from a fantastic array of filled rolls, pastries and cakes. Oh and really good coffee.

Almost over the road is a wondrful little square full of antique stalls. Further down the road was one of the best italian restuarants I've ever eaten in called La Ghiotta.

We were chuffed to not be in the "hotel district" and loved every minute. Great place, people and food. Our airport taxi was arranged too. The hotel is on a street with no cars. Thanks Richardo

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My sister and I had a great experience at this hotel, the staff was extremely nice (prepared our breakfast a day early due to our early morning departure)! The room and bathroom is very clean and had minimal street noises. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The location is excellent as you can walk to the centre of town in a few minutes.
Most rooms have a mezzanine which makes the sleeping experience even cozier.
Breakfast is abundant and is served by a very hospitable and friendly owner.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I stayed in this place 2 nights with my wife. We arrived in the place quite late (9:30 PM) but they were waiting for us. Ricardo (the owner) was in the hospital with is mother but he took care that someone would be there waiting for us. The staff was really helpful and nice. The room was quite big and confortable (wooden floor which keeps it warm). Breakfast (light but enough) was served in the room. We had a little table with chairs so no problem at all. Free wifi inside the room. Location was perfect, walking distance to everywhere, even to the train station. I'd definitely go back. I highly recommend this place for a weekend in Florence.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed at Locanda dei Ciompi for 4 days while on a trip through Greece and Italy. Upon arrival, my friends and I were a bit wary of the place. We got there and no one answered the ring so we had to call the phone number on the door. That's when we were greeted by Filippo a few minutes later. He accompanied us (and helped with luggages) to our room. Then sat us down in his office to discuss what we wanted for breakfast and he gave us a map and a little tour of the area. The rooms were very clean and surprisingly big. The shower was awesome! Breakfast in the morning was light but satisfactory. Free wifi was available in the rooms which was great. We had taken a bus from the train station to the B&B but then to leave, we actually walked to the train station (a bit of a hassle with luggages but only about 20-30 mins walk). We were walking distance from literally everything. Filippo was very accomodating and helpful.
Overall, this place is a really great deal for the price. The pictures on expedia don't really do it justice! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The hotel is located next to a quiet road where cars are not allowed so rooms were quiet. Location is perfect; not too far from the Duomo but away from big tourist groups. The area seemed to us very safe. Rooms were absolutely adorable and clean. Breakfast was small (but adequate) and tasty, and served directly to rooms. Very friendly staff, they would help you with anything. If ever in Florence again, we would for sure choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda de' Ciompi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda de' Ciompi

Address: via Pietrapiana, 28 | Via Pietrapiana, 28, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Locanda de' Ciompi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda de' Ciompi is the ideal choice for people who want to taste all Tuscan hospitality and live a pleasant, relaxing stay.This cosy B&B offers 5 romantic and comfortable rooms in the historical center of Florence, a few steps away from Santa Croce Cathedral. Its location is very convenient to reach in a few minutes all the main attractions: Uffizi Museum, Bargello, Duomo are less than 10 minutes walk, and the same for the Michelangelo's David at the Accademia Gallery. The main train station is 15 min. Walking.Locanda de Ciompi is situated in the most vibrant area of the city, with a lot of trattorias, genuine Florentine small restaurants and coffee shops. The famous antiques market (Mercatino delle pulci-Fleas Market) is just in front of the B&B, and you can taste the best typical Tuscan products at the Sant'Ambrogio Market, which is just fifty metres from the Locanda.The rooms are all soundproofed and decorated with natural materials, creating a warm and cosy atmosphere. The antique fornitures give a touch of elegance to the spaces.The young owner Lisa and father Alessio will be more than happy to offer a free reservation service for museums, theatres, and his suggestions about the best and more convenient restaurants in the city. The Italian breakfast is served at the Caffetteria just in front of the B&B. Free wi-fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda de' Ciompi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda De` Ciompi Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda de' Ciompi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.