We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met my expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alinari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alinari to your Saves list
Hotel Alinari
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Fratelli Alinari, 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #339 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Met my expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

This hotel is located on the fourth floor in a large old building that houses a few other hotels. The location is really ideal - 200 yards from the train station, and close to the center of the city. Florence is the opposite of Rome as far as dirt is concerned - it is an absolute gem! I am giving Alinari 5 stars not because it is 5 star hotel, but because it meets all the criteria for a great 3 star (if that makes any sense). This hotel is very old and it doesn't pretend to be modern, and that is part of its charm. You ride up upstairs in an old time elevator which was fun. My room was small (as expected) but clean. The bathroom is small, clean and has modern fixtures. Hotel has a good size breakfast room and lounge area near the receptionist area. Free wi-fi (get the password at the front desk). Its major asset is its the perfect location to explore Florence from ... and it is reasonably priced. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    55
    47
    31
    22
See reviews for
21
66
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Location location location ! We stayed there for only one night. Had breakfast at their cute cozy balcony with a beautiful view ! Food was average, room was average on the eyes, but clean. We were too exhausted from at the end of the day that all we needed was a place to shower and sleep, and this hotel did it for us. They accepted to keep our suitcases with them after check out, which was nice.

Back to location, it was very close to the train station (We took the train from Rome) and all touristic attractions we were interested in. That was basically the most important point as we only spent 2 days/1 night in Florence and didn't want to waste time with transportation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Good location, very close to central train station and near the center of Florence.
Would have welcomed a renovation of the rooms, especially the change of furniture that looks old.
Also an improvement of breakfast, especially in terms of foods' freshness.
Overall a good accommodation with a great plus for locating.
In addition, where the price of accommodation is good, then it's worth to be chosen.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

It was tricky to find the hotel and the lift was so small. The guy at reception was helpful and friendly but the room was very small. Even thoughh it was neat and clean the towels were made linnen and felt like paper - weird. Tje breakfast was average and one morning we were a little bit after the rush and the buffet was empty. Location was very good, close to cathedrals, train termini and shops.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We found this hotel a great stay. For a 3 star hotel the breakfast was surprisingly good. It is also a 1 min walk to the main train station and is about a ten min walk from the main part of town, so it was quite easy to find. Despite other reviews we did not find any bed bugs and the reception was manned the whole time we were there. I'd recommend people to stay here. It also had really good Air conditioning and good wifi in our room.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Location may be ideal as it's only a stone's throw away from Firenzi train station BUT that should not be a consideration when looking at this hotel. We stayed for two nights. A makeup smudge I accidentally left on my bed sheet was present for the two nights we stayed. The sheets weren't changed at all! I unfortunately discovered it on the day we checked out. The guy (thin and pasty) was very unwelcoming - gave us the key and nothing else was said. He spoke good English but couldn't be bothered to speak anything remotely useful about the hotel and it's services. We had to ask for things like breakfast time and wifi. The wifi is shared by other hotels so it was excruciatingly slow. We ended up paying €13 for 2G data for ipad from a nearby Three mobile shop. Breakfast was insufferable. We had to wait for someone to have coffee! They never really go the extra mile to make your stay a pleasant one. It was like they didn't care at all that their hotel and services were just appalling and consequently ruining other peoples' holidays. The shower was so small even I, at 5'2" 11 stones kept jabbing my elbows against the foldable shower doors. Overall, stay away from this hotel. Other hotels are walking distances to the train station.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Upon check-in we were not greeted, the desk was empty. When the manager did appear he was rude and arrogant.

Breakfast was very ordinary.

Not a bad location, close to train station, but is hardly a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alinari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alinari

Address: Largo Fratelli Alinari, 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #339 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alinari 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the hotel Alinari you have the pleasure of waking up in a charming room with a high standard of confort, enjoying a good buffet-breakfast , whilst admiring the panoramic view of Florence. Hotel Alinari is located in a historical Florentine Palace, convenientely situated in the heart of Florence at 300 mt. from the train station , from the Congress Centre and a few minutes from the Duomo and from museums. All the rooms have private bathroom, air-conditioning, colour tv (cable and satellite stations), mini bar, hair dryer, and direct dial phone. The best location for your business trip and your personal holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alinari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alinari Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alinari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.