We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Giotto

Save Saved
You added Residenza Giotto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Giotto
Via Roma, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 508 Florence B&B and Inns
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Residenza Giotto for 6 nights at the end of a 1 month visit in Italy. It was a perfect end to the trip. Our windows opened to a view of the Baptistry and Il Duomo. What a site! The B&B is located steps around the corner from the square of Santa Maria dei Fiori. It is minutes away from most anything in central Florence and a 10 minute walk from the train and bus stations.

Barbara and Silvia were absolutely wonderful. They were warm, welcoming and very helpful. They had recommendations for food, sites and other things, and made reservations when needed. The breakfast was not extensive but very adequate. Of course, fresh cappuccino every morning. The room was very clean and quite large. Air conditioning was available, and necessary. The bathroom was small but totally fine.

We highly recommend Residenza Giotto and would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose on of the rooms with a view of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    69
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
197
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neenah, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I would say that the location, the terrace and the host Sylvia make this place fabulous! We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip. We arrived late afternoon on a Sunday and Sylvia met us at the b & b. Our luggage did not make the flight and Sylvia was instrumental over our 2 day stay making phone calls and even giving her personal phone number to the airlines to try to track down the luggage. I shudder to think how long it would have taken without her help. Thank you Sylvia(and yes I still have more questions....but now I can directly address them to the airlines!). The location was great--close to the train station and with a fabulous view of the Duomo. We were in a Duomo view room based on tripadvisor recommendations---it was fine...I wouldn't pay extra for that again. The terrace is open if you want to have a view. The breakfast was nothing really to write about....cheese, yogurt, bread, coffee, juice...it was fine. Everything was within walking distance and Sylvia made museum reservations for us in advance so we didn't have to stand in lines. I would definitely stay again and recommend to family/friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

As soon as we stepped in the door i realized I had left my passport at the airport...without hesitation Sylvia said she was headed that way and would pick it up for me. She and the rest of the staff were absolutely perfect. If you want a nice place, centrally located, with staff that make your feel like you are staying in their house, and a great breakfast, then this is the place. I had made my reservations well in advance so I got the best room with double doors that open to views of the Duomo and bell tower from our bed. It was perfect. Everything was within easy walking distance. Breakfast on the outside patio was unforgettable. If we go back, we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Room with double doors to the Duomo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Advantages:
- service by the host, Sylvia, is excellent. If you go and need to make dinner reservations, ask her for her recommendations. We did on both nights of our stay and her choices were outstanding - the sorts of restaurants that local Italians go to with exceptional food, service and value. The sorts of places that aren't even well known on trip advisor! She made the reservations for us happily.
- terrace is great, nice for a drink and breakfast.
- breakfast is great - I had muesli and yogurt and toast, and my husband had a croissant. We both had a cappuccino made by Sylvia.
- location right next to the Duomo and shipping precinct, short walk to the famous bridge.
- rooms are spacious and clean, and bed is comfortable.

Disadvantages:
- slightly noisy with street noise, but didn't keep us from sleeping.
- rooms and bathroom are not modern, but still good value and clean. Has all you need.

In short, I would recommend to a friend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This b&b is so close to where you need to be, that it is just perfect. The rooms are nice size, firm, comfortable mattress, and decorated beautifully. The breakfast room is small but adequate. The reception people are friendly and helpful. The view from the breakfast room terrance is fabulous.
But bottom line the best thing is the location!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Sylvia was a lovely and accommodating hostess at this B&B in the heart of Florence. We were less than 20 steps from our front door to the piazza with the Duomo, the Baptistry, the Campanile, and the Duomo Museum (all of which are must-see attractions in Florence.) We walked all over Florence and Residenza Giotto was near to all. The room was small but accommodating, the breakfast was delicious, the cappacinos were great, and the highlight was the balcony where we ate each morning, overlooking the Duomo.

Room Tip: Location and the breakfast on the balcony with a view of the Duomo make this a perfect choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Residenza Dei Pucci
Residenza Dei Pucci
#208 of 508 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
B&Bs, Independe...
Show More
0.1 mi away
La Residenza del Proconsolo
La Residenza del Proconsolo
#124 of 508 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Boutique, B&Bs...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Soggiorno Battistero
Soggiorno Battistero
#157 of 508 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique, Free...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Il Bargello B&B
Il Bargello B&B
#90 of 508 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
Hotel Morandi Alla Crocetta
#79 of 508 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 165 reviews
B&Bs, Romantic...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Panella's Residence
Panella's Residence
#41 of 508 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Giotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Giotto

Address: Via Roma, 6, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 508 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
n the very heart of Florence... six bedrooms elegantly furnished with genuine and antiques, provided with all comforts and a terrace with a breathless view of the Duomo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Residenza Giotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Giotto Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Giotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.